Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Well managed bungalows

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Management were excellent and view of the bay lovely. Opportunity to mix with local people Bungalows comfortable
Cons: Shuttle bus to get around and into port Vila and other places In site cafe/restaurant
Location: The Summit Botanical Gardens best in the Pacific with amazing views Waterfall and cascades Havannah bay for snorkelling and boating to other islands
If you want a nice quiet stay this is for you. Suggest you rent car as fairly isolated and difficult to get out at night with no car and have to rely and pay locals to get to restaurants/cafés for a night off cooking. However there is a barbecue to use. Access to water to swim and snorkel difficult and windy aff the bay which meant big sea. Was not able to snorkel here at all during our 8 day stay. Bungalows good and clean and management were very attentive and helpful. Intending to open a restaurant/bar which it really needs
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rosie from Auckland, NZ

Great location for Snorkeling

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Clean and tidy - gardens were well kept. Close to the sea and snorkelling.
Cons: Add a small bar or cafe in the bbq/pool area, so that it is very easy to stay on site for the day.
Location: Fantastic snorkelling, Buggy rides are awesome, great abseiling down the Casades Falls, lovely markets and shopping in Port Vila and much more!
Very close to the sea and a great coral reef - very easy to access for snorkeling. Nice swimming pool too, to cool off or just relax with plenty of seating. Accomodation very comfortable - we are 2 adults and 2 teenagers, and the bungalow was two ensuite bedrooms, one double and one twin which suited fantastically, and there was enough seating inside to comfortably seat us all both in the lounge area and the dining area, and also a really lovely covered porch area. 10 minutes drive to Port Vila - sometimes quite difficult to flag down a bus and it was quite pricey to request one, so would recommend hiring a car. The airport transfer company provided us with details of the cruise liner schedules which was vital to planning any tours, as they are all booked out by the passengers on those days, and there is no chance of a bus or taxi either. Only down side was that there was no bar/cafe area - closest was the Banjor resort, about 5 mins walk, however the reception did sell bbq packs, soft drinks, beer, wine etc during its opening hours.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from Sydney AU

Perfect family holiday spot

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: Grounds were perfect. Some of the best snorkelling is at the end of the wharf in the resort.
Cons: WIFI was slow. A restaurant would make it into a 'resort'. (Both very minor things.)
Location: Great snorkeling right out the front. Benjor and Hidaway are both close and have activities and tours. Mele cascades is good and close.
Really good spot on Mele Bay on the opposite side of the bay to Hidaway island. Snorkeling right out the front of the resort was some great with heaps of good coral and loads of fish up to about 50cm long. We went in within about an hour of the plane landing. At low tide it was a little bit tricky to get out of the water with the kids but well worth the effort and at high tide it was easy. We made use of the two rooms (one for the kids), washing machine and kitchen with full size fridge. It is about a 10 minute drive into the centre of town so we just hired a small 4wd for the week and it worked out well and we went to more places on the island thatn we would have otherwise. The road to the resort is a typical rough dirt road but not much different from the roads in town. The road around the island was great and is all tar and in good condition. First night we ate at Benjor which is a short walk up the road but once we had the car we ate at a different place each night and cooked on the BBQs in the resort too. The hosts were great and did the extra little things that made it nicer like bringing down some hot cross buns and chocolate eggs for the kids at Easter. The grounds were well looked after and it was a very private place with only 18 bungalows. We would definitely go back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Caz and Gab from Auckland, New Zealand

Fish galore

Posted Jun 9, 2013
Pros: Fish feeding off the jetty. Nice rooms and gardens. Lovely pool and BBQ area. Lovely snorkelling off the jetty (swell dependant). Working kitchen.
Cons: Not easy access to water. Noisy garden maintenance. Ensuite doors louvred. No restaurant so not really a resort.
Location: Lovely views of water. Nice walks to nearby beaches and other resort. Time consuming access via buses/taxis to the city for groceries.
This accommodation has great potential. It's more a holiday let rather than a resort as there is no restaurant on site, but it is away from the noise of the city centre, it is near a fabulous clean beach (3 min walk) and snorkelling and fish feeding is available off the jetty on site. Snorkelling is wonderful on a calm day as entering and exiting the ladder is reliant on timing the water swells right to avoid hitting sharp corals, but once in the fish are all there to see. The pool area is lovely with BBQ area for all to use. Allow about 2000 Vatu from the airport by Taxi per car, allow about 300 Vatu each way/each person into the city for groceries if you want to self cater in the fully fitted kitchen, otherwise there is a restaurant about 10 mins walk from the accommodation. The rooms are well presented, but be aware the ensuites have louvre doors! Allow 2000 Vatu for internet for your full stay and it's really slow! We walked to the Summit Garden which is a 200m high hill for a nice coffee and cake at the café and very close by. The gardens at the accommodation are very well maintained, the downside is that they are always working on it with noisy machinery. Should a hire car be made available to guests and the jetty extended for easy access into the water the place would be fantastic. An early morning trip back to the airport costs about 2800 Vatu door to door. Be aware you can't change your money back from Vatu at the airport at about 6am. We had a lovely relaxing stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Macquarie NSW 2444, Australia

Brilliant Service

Posted Apr 27, 2013
Pros: Outstanding service and snorkeling
Cons: Distance along a bad road.
The service from the relieving hotel managers (Anne & Brian) was outstanding. They went out of their way to make our Vanuatu holiday memorable. Thanks guys!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Claire

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ivan from Gold Coast QLD, Australia

Island magic resort

Posted Jan 1, 2013
Cons: The coral road to get to the resort was rough.
Location: The overall location was very picturesque on a beautiful bay.
A very comfortable cottage with great ventilation. The resort grounds were well maintained and bar -b- q facilities excellent. Good snorkelling from their jetty with coral and fish. A very relaxing and quiet location. The hosts Jane and David were helpful and welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gary from Blenheim NZ

Satisfied customer

Posted Aug 13, 2012
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: None
Location: Slightly out of town but who needs to go there.
Island Majic is a very nice quite place to stay,the units are clean well equiped. Grounds are kept in imaculate condition as well as the pool and deck areas down by the sea. There has been nothing spared when these were built and fitted out right down to a DVD libary.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Val and John from Australia

Island Magic

Posted May 11, 2012
Pros: The amazing coral reef on the doorstep for snorkeling with its torquise water and abundant fish.
Cons: Distance from Port Vila.
Location: Once there, the location is perfect with nothing but grass between bungalow and water.
We have no complaints at all about Island Magic. The bungalows are beautiful, the gardens are a pleasure to walk around, the staff are friendly and super helpful. We made good use of the swimming pool, coral reef and barbeques. We loved our stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Fabulous Island Magic Resort

Posted Apr 26, 2012
We have just come back from staying a week at Island Magic. The location is great. It's away from town, which we thought was good, and close to Mele Cascades, Hideaway island and Black sandy beach. There is no sandy beach in the resort but snorkeling from the jetty is fantastic. Sometimes though the sea was too choppy due to strong wind so getting in and out of water was close to dangerous. On such days we went to the nearby Black sandy beach for a swim. It's a 5-10 minute walk down the road. From our experience there are not many sandy beaches on Efate island, so having that beach nearby is very advantageous. Our bungalow was perfect for a family with a child, very spacious, clean and 'as new'. Relieve managers Brian and Anne were very helpful and friendly, as well as the staff and locals. There are 2 BBQ areas at the resort and BBQ facilities are in perfect state. There are a few restaurants around, the closest is about 5-10 minutes of walking, couple of them are a bit further, within a short bus ride. We liked War Horse saloon with it's beer brewery and Beach Bar that has fire show each Friday. We would strongly recommend Island Magic for your next holiday!