Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney, Australia

Great relaxing spot.

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Pros: Best thing about the hotel was its position & the staff.
Cons: Its a little run down but is undergoing an upgrade currently which will include more activities for the traveller. Bit more storage in some rooms.
Location: Its location on the harbour was beautiful with nearby restaurants & shops, 5-10 minutes away.
We stayed for 5 nights & found it thoroughly relaxing & enjoyable. Its close to town for shopping & restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

ビーチフロントの快適なホテル

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: 水際まであるダイニングスペース
Cons: 部屋が少し暗かった。 インターネットによる情報では施設として「ランドリー設備」と書かれていたので、ランドリー施設を自由に使えるのかと思っていましたが、実際にはランドリーサービスでした。
リゾート気分に浸れるこじんまりとしたホテルです。 オープンバーから見る夕日はきれいです。 水際近くまであるウッドデッキのオープンスタイルのダイニングスペースで食事できます。
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Nov 21, 2014
The hotel was in a great location and the pool was the best feature. The room was quite small and right next to a construction site which was a little annoying however other than that it was good. The staff were lovely and the restaurant was great too. The club was closed down too which was disappointing as that was the main appeal for us and the website did not say that.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne

Disappointing.

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: The close proximety to port Villa town which is a 10min walk. The waterfront room with its decking overlooking the water.
Cons: Where do you start ?? Has potential but needs a major revamp of all facilities.Very friendly staff, on observation bad ownership/management
Location: The location is walking distance from Port Villa town with a good selection of restaurants and shops Hotel right on the water.
Noting the reviews of others we upgraded to a waterfront ground level room with confirmation to the hotel by phone . On arrival we were taken to a second floor room and on questioning the front desk we were advised that there were no ground floor waterfront rooms as booked and paid for. On objecting to the reservations person we were advised that the room we booked was being refurbished and wont be available till the next day. We opted for a pool side room which was the best alternative but very inadequate. After much pressure we were finally given the room which we originally requested the next day. The Continental breakfast can be improved significantly with daily changes to what is a boring selection. On request for a Ala' Carte breakfast menu we were advised that they did not have one but bacon and eggs could be provided for approx V1200. When upgrading I asked the specific question if these were renovations at hotel and was advised that this was not planed till Feb 2014 , but on getting up the first morning to the sound of a chain saw I discovered that there was renovations going on around the pool area When I requested a remote for the TV in the room several were brought non of which worked and a promise of matiainence looking at it the next day which never eventuated. no Beach umbrellas or deck chairs on the small beach area , no phones in the room as indicated in the Expedia add. This is one level above a back packers hotel Give a miss
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Coolangatta Qld

Nice hotel right on Port Vila harbour.

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: The postion and staff.
Cons: Quite a few things but refurbishment is underway.
Location: Location was fantastic and is only 10 mins walk into town, there is eating establishments and bars nearby. The food and bar was good at Moorings.
If you are expecting the Hilton the Moorings is not for you. It is a nice hotel that is showing it's age but is undergoing refurbishment. The staff are fantastic, very friendly and helpful. The Harbourside rooms give you a fantastic view of Port Vila harbour. The pool is in need of repair but is very clean. The rooms could do with a table and chairs but this might be attended to with the refurbishment that is underway. The outside furniture is very old and outdated but once again new furniture has been ordered. I would definately stay at this hotel again as the price was very reasonable and I would recommend to my friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Richmond, New Zealand

Lovely location under New Management 1st Sept 2014

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: Location was tops!. Small hotel with friendly staff. Happy 2 hours was excellent value.
Cons: Definitely require more clothes storage in rooms. Mattress worn out & hard for us 65 year olds. Breakfast selection could be improved.
Location: Location was excellent. So close to town centre and a pleasant 5 minute walk along the waterfront. Lots of action on the water close by.
The new manager of 2 weeks met us on arrival and apologised & explained there was a lot of upgrading & refurbishing taking place as new owners had just taken over on 1st Sept 2014. This was evident during the 3 days we stayed there with servicemen going about their business which didn't hinder us at all. We booked a Harbour View room which was well worth the extra money although they could do with more outdoor furniture. This will probably arrive under new owners. We enjoyed the friendly atmosphere of this small hotel and to be able to enjoy a drink or a meal out over the water and watch cruise ships going in & out the harbour was a real bonus... Very pretty at night. The restaurant service was slow but I'm sure that will improve in time. We used the swimming pool a lot rather than the sea but that was choice. Possibly a bit cramped for families but OK for couples. We enjoyed being so close to town.... 5 minutes walk along the waterfront took us to the centre of Port Vila. Thoroughly enjoyed and would highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value and close to everything

Posted Sep 19, 2014
The staff seemed to be on "Island time". Our flight arrived in the morning so we wanted to check in as soon as we could but we had to wait an extra hour or so for our room. Not very good communication also with the paying for the breakfast. It has a good location, the habour side rooms have an amazing view. The bed had a hard ridge in the middle but other than that the room was nice. No safe in the rooms as said on the website. Good location, walkable into port villa and easy to get to a range of restaurants. If you go to vanuatu make sure you pay a day visit to Iririki Island! Overall good value for what we paid.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom auckland nz

Close to the town but quite run down.

Posted Sep 16, 2014
In need of TLC. New owners have just taken over and some small improvements already made. Easy walk into port Vila. Breakfast average so we chose to go to the town. Beautiful view across the bay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom woy woy sydney australia

Nice and close to town

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: The view was the best view from any hotel I have stayed in a round the the world the room was small but I must say had every thing you need
Cons: billing as we had booked &payed for breakfast buffet and hotel wanted to charge again until I called
Location: Location is the best close to town
Port villa is very nice town the view was the best I have seen in a hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Gold Coast, Australia

Nice hotel by the sea

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: good location close to town
not much better than a youth hostel - rooms booked were wrong, supposed to be 3 x queen harbour side views only one was other two were cheaper alternatives their excuse - lack of availability. Hotel had recently gone into receivership so no effort made to maintain facilities. Towels were poor quality