Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brisbane

Nice hotel, close to town and on lagoon

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Not a luxury hotel, but clean and simple. Lagoon not as pristine and beautiful blue as pictures of Vanuatu may indicate. Poppy's is small and quaint. Opportunity to meet other guests. Quiet and close to most things in Port Vila. Vanuatu surprisingly expensive for food and tours. Even to hire a car every beach entry has a charge. Prices go up when cruise ships are in port. Easy to catch taxis and buses
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Wellington

There are nicer places to stay

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: The unit was spacious, and Leo the cat was nice. I also liked the gardens
Cons: Don't describe your steak as "char-grilled" when it's cooked in a frying pan at too low a heat. Train your staff in service. Clean the place properly.
Location: If you're into just relaxing by the pool and actually getting service, head to Iririki Island for the day.
Poppy's on the Lagoon has a nice location, and the two bedroom apartment we stayed in was huge, but that's where the goodness stops. The pools were tiny, the room was gritty and service was atrocious. Waiting 30 minutes for butter for our toast at breakfast, getting the wrong mains at dinner, and being served our entrees and mains at the same time? Not cool. Then there were the repeated attempts to get us to come to an orientation when all we wanted was to take a nap after an overnight flight, and the taxi driver friend of the manager who tried to rip us off - 1500vt for a ride? No way buddy...
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2014 by Carla, Hotel Management
Dear Joanna, Thank you for taking the time to review Poppys. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your time with us and hope that you will still consider us in the future :-) I will definitely be following up on the bad service you received from our restaurant. That is not acceptable and we apologise for any inconveniences that it caused it. Poppys and its management do not take any part in taxi fares and or commission rates. We are more than happy to help negotiate a fare price, but we are in no way affiliated with any taxi services. It is good to note that taxis are generally much more expensive that the local bus service. Thank you once again, and we hope the overall you enjoyed your time in Vanuatu and Poppys. Kind Regards, Carla
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nelson NZ

Pleasant hotel on the waters edge

Posted Aug 25, 2014
The best thing about this place was the staff, very friendly and always helpful. For the price I thought the general standard was a bit under par and the restaurant served the worst meal I had in Vanuatu. On the positive it was only short walk away from downtown and the three pools were clean and although I didn't use the kayaks they were readily available and looked good fun. Room space excellent, and I enjoyed the free DVDs
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2014 by Carla, Hotel Management
Dear Judy, Thank you for taking the time to review Poppys! I apologise for the late response. We endeavour to take on all feedback so that we can continue to improve :-) I will be sure to pass on your praise for our staff. They pride themselves on being helpful and friendly! You would be pleased to know that our chefs have since undergone some fabulous training and have just won silver and bronze at the international chef competition hosted in Port Vila! I hope that we can welcome you back again in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canberra, Australia

Wonderful Two Weeks Relaxing by the Second Lagoon

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Poppys on the Lagoon is a very friendly and comfortable place to stay, with a relaxing and very "Vanuatu style" atmosphere.
Cons: The access road to Poppys could be better maintained, but it is, despite appearances, actually a public road, so Poppys can't do much about that.
Location: Poppys is a comfortable ten minute walk, or a few minutes by their wonderfully idiosyncratic bus system, from everything available in Port Vila.
We really enjoyed our stay at Poppys on the Lagoon. The rooms and the grounds were comfortable and well maintained, the restaurant served a good variety of well cooked food, from 7:30am though to 7:30pm, but best of all, the staff were amazing friendly and cheerful and nothing was too much trouble for them. The tour desk was very helpful in organising local tours and also a trip to Tanna to see Mount Yasur. When our bag was stolen while out on a day tour around Efate, everyone at Poppys was just amazingly helpful to make sure it didn't ruin our holiday. I would gladly stay at Poppys again next time I visit Vanuatu.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2014 by Carla, Hotel Management
Dear Garry, Thank you for taking the time to review Poppys! I apologise for the delay in a response. We are so happy to hear that once again our staff have been super in helping to make your holiday a success! They really do love meeting and helping all of our guests and take great pride in their work! We will be sure to welcome you back with a big south pacific smile! Be sure to let us know that you are a returning guest! Kind Regards, Carla
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ruth

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard and Pamfrom Picton NZ

On the Lagoon Fun

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: It's location and the compactness of the facilities, the free use of kayaks, reef shoes etc, the lovely staff
Cons: Change the menu through the week
We thoroughly enjoyed our 7 day visit, the friendliness of the staff was amazing and nothing was too difficult. We had an apartment up high and our room was presented beautifully with flowers and chilled wine waiting. We had been warned about the noisy dogs and roosters, so came well prepared with good ear plugs (and we needed them!) The location is great, being right on the Lagoon and a short walk to town and the supermarket. The uphill climb from the resort was steep and uneven, but the inexpensive buses are very willing to collect you. Tours were organised promptly and efficiently, but island time meant a bit of waiting sometimes (all part of the fun experience). All in all, a great resort, good meals and lots of smiles. We love Vanuatu
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2014 by Carla, Hotel Management
Hi Richard and Pam, We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in Vanuatu and especially Poppys. Island time is definitely part of experience (as are the natural alarm clocks)!! The hardest part is then going back to "real time" in NZ :-) We take great pride in ensuring that our rooms are kept to a high standard and appreciate the positive feedback! I will be sure to pass it onto our staff. We hope that we see you again soon in the future and you can enjoy some more time in the country that is full of smiles. Regards, Carla
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney Australia

Nice rooms. Up high ,cheaper and quieter, and cool

Posted Dec 28, 2013
Rooms were spacious. Had nice balconies looking over lagoon with cooking facilities and fridge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mandafrom Canberra

Relaxing and comfortable

Posted Oct 12, 2013
Pros: We liked the casual and friendly atmosphere and that it was within walking distance to the town.
We stayed for five nights and had a lovely relaxing time. The room was self contained so if we had wanted ,we could have prepared our own meals. The cafe/dining was quite adequate, reasonable and convenient too. It was just a 20 min walk over the hill into Port Vila for other dining options. Poppy's had everything needed if you didn't feel like going out anywhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

vanuatu dreamin

Posted Jun 2, 2013
The stay was all that we asked for and more! A "relaxed" atmosphere, absolutely...you couldn't rush or hurry if you wanted too!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poppys Jan 2013

Posted Jan 25, 2013
Pros: Staff & cool breeze
Cons: Children & the hill that has to be climbed to access the road
Location: Poppys is situated on the Lagoon and has quite a lot of weed from the "beach" access so diving or swimming in the water was not very pleasant.
Great place for families, not so pleasant for couples or singles, due to the fact that some parents do not have the courtesy to keep their children quiet BEFORE 7am. The lagoon was a bit swampy, would have preferred to stay on the ocean side and have access to a reasonable diving experience.