Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bod choice

Posted May 21, 2014
The on line photos show a motel that has been remodeled and in fact, the lob berry and front desk have been remodeled. But not the rooms. The first room that was given was in the back of the property and there were large trucks parked back there that were running. Very noisy, and no possibility of sleeping. I asked to be moved and was given a room on the front of the property that was quite. The rooms and furnishings are run down and should be replaced. The plumbing fixtures need to be updated, and in general the rooms are dirty. Even though the web site says that there is wifi in the rooms. When I asked the desk clerk about it he said that there is only wifi in the lobby. I would nt recommend that place to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2014
Dear guest, first thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. as this helps us to find and fix problems or issues. On behalf of the staff and myself i apoligize for the problems you expierienced at our hotel. I hope you will give us another chance to give you a great expierience at our hotel in the future. Thank you, Vicky Mckerrow
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice staff, disgusting room

Posted Feb 4, 2014
Front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Room was disgusting.. Pubes in shower and somebody else's hair on the blankets. Not recommended.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Due to the nature of the stay (weather emergency / vehicle accident) the stay was fine. Booking through Hotels.com saved me the hassle and an arguement with owner who was over charging other individuals who needed a location to stay due to the weather and/or vehicle status (he was charging double when he could.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2014
Thank You for your comments on your review and we were glad we were here for you in the bad weather. Hope you will visit us again under better weather conditions.
1 out of 5
by Tom from NE Indiana

Never occupied.

Posted Oct 24, 2013
Pros: They accept dogs
Cons: Get a front desk attendent that knows what they are doing.
When trying to check in, their system refused my credit card. I called the credit card company right there and then. The credit card company accepted the charge but Econo Lodge's system refused the card. Several attempts were made all the while having the credit card representitive on the phone accepting each attempt. While trying to get the card accepted; the patron that checked in prior to me returned to the front desk to complain of the smell in the room. That was the final straw for me. I left and checked in to a nearby Best Western with the same credit card Econo Lodge refused.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Diana from From Toledo, OH

Needed to rest and get a nights sleep

Posted Oct 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
The employees were friendly, helpful, considerate. The room looked exceptable, we were tired. The air conditioner was very noisy and did not provide ANY cool air, uncomfortable trying to sleep in small stuffy room. Oh, before checking out, I discovered the bottoms of my feet, that were only on the floor for about 1 hour, were filthy. The complimentary breakfast and the morning employee were both delightful!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2013
Ms. Diana I am glad that the staff was very friendly and helpful. We are very sorry about the air conditioning unit being loud, we will get that and others a re-check. We did shampoo our room carpets here recently so we hope to have solved that as well. If again you are in this area we hope to see you again and soon! Have a wonderful day!!!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Filthy, run down and poor service

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Pros: Convenient to my event.
Cons: Full remodel. Retrain cleaning staff. Basic cleanliness completly missing. Front staff needs professionalism training
Flithy: body hair in shower. Toilet had bm on back of bowl as if not cleaned. Carpet was dirty. Walls had body fluids splatteted on bathroom walls. Decorative wall boarder was falling off/pealing throughout. Baseboards were cheap plastic with holes as if mice chewed. TV was old. Walls were paper thin, can hear everything happening with neighbor. Staff at check in was friendly enough, had her boyfriend visiting and I felt like an afterthought. But mustered a smile while giving me directions to my room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Susan from Michigan

Posted Aug 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Advertised free WIFI, but was not working in either room or lobby and no one was able to help with it. Light bulb out (removed) in one of reading lamps and no ice bucket in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2014
Thank You for your comments and rating for your stay with us. I am happy to report the WIFI issue has been corrected and all missing items are in place in all of our guest rooms. We hope you will visit us again in the future.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler from Effingham, Illinois

not so clean bathroom

Posted Aug 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
The bathroom was the worst. The shower was visibly dirty and I urged my family to use flip flops in the shower. There was a dead cockroach in the bathroom. The attendant was helpful while I did did the laundry. The machine was not starting automatically so the attendant had to fiddle with it so that it could start. We decided mot to have breakfast their because we did not trust it would be a safe meal, since we did find that cockroach in our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review for your stay with us. The hotel is under new management and all of the issues that you mentioned have been corrected and we have a new housekeeping staff that is doing the job as it should be. We are sorry that you had these issues and we hope you will visit us again in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2014
Thank you for your rating and staying with us when you have many choices for lodging. We hope you will stay with us again on your future trips to Effingham, Illinois.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lori from minnesota

don't stay here

Posted Jul 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
The bathroom was not clean and did not match pictures on website.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2014
Please accept our sincere apology for the problems you had when you stayed with us. We are now under new management and all the issues have been corrected. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.