Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in Mattoon

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Updated, clean and quiet
Cons: Better AC system, nicer mattresses
Location: Close to the interstate. Within 15 minutes of Eastern Illinois University and 30 minutes of Tanger Outlets
This is a typical Hampton Inn. Convenient location close to the interstate. We were on the opposite side of the hotel from the interstate and could hear no road noise. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We had a lot of trouble regulating the temperature in the room. There is a thermostat, but it is in the unit under the window. After fiddling with it numerous times, including putting it on Auto Heat at 66 degrees, it was still too hot in the room. I finally got up at 1:30 am and turned on the A/C at 70 degrees and we were finally comfortable. The mattress was way too soft and wobbly and just felt cheap, which is why I usually prefer Hilton Garden Inn, but choices are limited in Mattoon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Excellent hotel!!!! The room was super clean and comfy. I would come back again. Breakfast was great too! Great selection and everything was warm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Royalton, IL

Very clean and hospitable!

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: It was all good.
Location: Close enough to food and shopping.
Everything was clean, updated and comfortable. The hotel is located within easy access of everything. The free breakfast has enough to satisfy. We did not use the pool although there were plenty of others enjoying. Would definitely stay again. Staff was very friendly!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom tahlequah,ok

Clean hotel near highway .

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: How close it was to downtown Mattoon,il
Location: Walmart and various restaurants near by
Comfortable place to stay. Friendly and helpful staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by jodifrom Holland,MI

Nice place to stay

Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels.com
Just stopped in while traveling back to michigan. Great stay, great room, excellent conditions, great breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Michaelfrom Chicago

UH OH

Posted Dec 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Make-up on the pillowcase on one bed....funky musty smell under the deodorizer scent...slammed packed continental breakfast area with not nearly enough seating available....other than that it was great....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Susan L.from Minocqua

Heading home

Posted Dec 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
The only issue was the loud humming sound coming from the mechanical room as we were trying to get to sleep ! In the morning it wasn't as noticeable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kenfrom Shelbyville

Mattoon

Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Peaceful. Simply excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Patriciafrom Grant Park Illinois

Awesome stay!

Posted Nov 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
My 2 boys and I had a weekend away. I loved the room. It was so clean. Our housekeeper Cathy was spectacular. The pool was warm and nice. The breakfast was just enough! We will definitely return. If you are shopping at Ranger, this is the place to stay.