Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbia, MO

Relax and rest off I-70

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Nicest hotel at this exit off I-70.
Location: Midpoint rest over during travel. Firefly Grill is fab. Starbucks is close by. To the east @ St. Elmo exit, Driftstone Pueblo is a must stop & shop!
Friendly staff. Efficient check-in and out. Very nice room. Good onsite restuarant with live music on outdoor eating patio.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short but seeet

Posted Jun 26, 2014
stayed only one night but the staff and service was very professional . The room was well maintained
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2014 by Kenny, Hotel Management
We appreciate the 5 star review and are delighted that your stay although short was sweet. We take pride in providing the qualities that you've mentioned. We hope to see you again. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Charmayne from Atlanta

Posted May 29, 2014
Only two downsides... No vents in the bathroom, got very steamy, and no complimentary breakfast for the price you have to pay. Over all a very great stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2014 by Kenny, Hotel Management
Charmayne- Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are glad that you had a very positive overall stay. Our hotel features a full service restaurant available for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Although our brand does not have complimentary breakfast, we do offer the Best-4-Breakfast rate which will include breakfast for up to two adults per room if that is of interest to you,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Quick Trip

Posted Apr 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice hotel. My wife and I were on a quick getaway and we were impressed with this hotel. Everything was clean and the staff was extremely friendly. Only complaint was hearing the people next door chatting away very early in the morning. Would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2014 by Kenny, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review out hotel. We are pleased to hear that your overall stay was pleasant and you found our hotel clean and staff friendly. We try to make every experience a pleasurable one for our guests. On your next visit, please ask about about a corner room or area not as heavily occupied as we'll do our best to fix that one area of concern. Warm Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Scott G. from Effingham, IL

An exceptional experience

Posted Jan 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
As a former road warrior, I've stayed at countless business-travel class hotels. While Hampton Inn has consistently been my favorite, there have been notable exceptions. This is one of them. Everything was just right. The staff was attentive and friendly, the room was spacious, clean, and comfortable, the gym was excellently-equipped to facilitate any kind of workout, from weights to cardio, and although I didn't utilize them this time, they also have a very nice-looking pool, whirlpool, and I believe I even saw a sauna in the pool area! Breakfast was extraordinary. Overall, this was a 5-star hotel experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2014 by Kenny, Hotel Management
Dear Scott G- Thank you for the terrific 5 star review. We appreciate being a notable exception and added to your list of favorite hotels. We love hearing from our guests about how much they enjoyed their stay and our hotel. Our group has worked very hard to be put on our guests' list as one of their favorites. We certainly appreciate being on yours and hope to see you again soon. We do have the indoor pool and Jacuzzi but we don't have a sauna. Great idea though! Thanks again,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing staff

Posted Jan 13, 2014
We were stuck in a winter storm and the staff wax incredible! Made everyone comfortable and welcomed during a trying experience. Accommodations were comfortable, clean and pleasant!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by Kenny, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler- Thank you for taking the time to leave a 5 star review regarding your recent experience at our hotel. The winter storm was one to remember, we are certainly glad you found our hospitality comfortable and pleasant. Whether it's warm and sunny outside or cold and snowing, we will continue to accommodate our guests in the best possible way. Thank you for sharing your experience. Stay safe. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best service

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Cons: Nothing
In a terrible ice storm this hotel welcomed all weary travelers with a smile and exceptional service when many of their staff had not been able to get to work due to weather. I have never seen a staff take care of an emergency situation with such kindness and patience. Not are the hotel accommodations excellent but the service was amazing
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by Kenny, Hotel Management
Dear traveler- What a wonderful compliment about our staff and hotel. We appreciate the 5 star review. We do our best to prepare for anything and everything. If that means our staff needs to play multiple roles in order to accommodate our guests, that's what we will do. Our focus is always on making your stay safe and enjoyable. We're happy to hear that we met those expectations for you. Thank you again,
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Dan from Cleveland

Effingham

Posted Nov 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was very nice. However, the Holiday Inn did not get the hotels.com reservation. So when we went to check in that night it couldn't be found. I'm not sure how that happened, but we did end up getting the last room available. Daniel, one of the managers, contacted hotels.com and got the issue resolved. His service was exemplary. The dining area was not quite up to snuff. We had a group of 8 people waiting for 20 minutes until I had to ask a waiter for a menu! Even after asking for menus no one came to talk to us. No coffeee. No water... nothing. They were more concerned about counting tips than talking to us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2014 by Kenny, Hotel Management
Dear Dan- We appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback regarding you recent stay at our Effingham Holiday Inn. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced at our restaurant and with online booking and will make necessary corrections in that area to prevent future similarities. Thank you for your understanding. We value our guests' input and always look for ways to improve our service. We hope you give us the opportunity to provide service and hospitality to you again. Sincerely,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good stay, terrible service at the restaurant.

Posted Oct 9, 2013
Pros: Clean, nice rooms. Were able to check in a little bit early.
Cons: The restaurant area could be vastly improved.
Location: Near the interchange for I-57 and I-70. The Firefly Grill is a must eat at restaurant close to the hotel.
Our stay in the hotel was wonderful. Comfortable, clean rooms. Staff was friendly. Nice pool and exercise facilities. With that said, the service at the on-site restaurant for breakfast was awful. When we arrived, there was one person waiting on all tables. He was a nice young man (Trenton?), but clearly overwhelmed by all he was doing. We stood in line to be seated (only people in line) for at least 10 minutes while the cook staff helped bus tables. Only after this was done did two other waitstaff arrive to help. It took another 15 minutes to get our drinks and nearly 40 minutes until we were served our breakfast. It as clear that Trenton had many more tables to wait on than the other two waitstaff and was stressed and overwhelmed. It was frustrating as a customer to see the other two waitstaff not pitching in to help him and standing around while customers were waiting on drinks and food. A team-work approach would have gone a long way with the customers that particular morning. We felt sorry for our waiter and although he did make a few mistakes, we were very forgiving. He was clearly working his tail off while the other two waitstaff stood around. This entire experience will make me re-think staying in this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2014 by Kenny, Hotel Management
I appreciate the information that you have provided for us regarding your experience at our hotel. While I'm certainly glad the overall stay was pleasant, I want to personally apologize for the inconvenience at our restaurant. This was well below our normal standards and we continue to promote teamwork in all areas of our facility. Information like this allows for us to review and improve our procedures for our guests and continue to find the best system to put in place for services. Thank you for mentioning a staff member by name who you felt did the best he could under the circumstances. We will always seek to do better even when things go well, we want to be the best. I can assure you this was an isolated incident and we hope to have the opportunity to redeem ourselves with you and your family the next time your in our area. Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Felicia from South Korea

suprised!

Posted Oct 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel was wonderful and the staff was really accommodating. We stayed for two days and between the restraunt and bar downstairs we really enjoyed ourselves. The rooms were perfectly cleaned and the staff brought extra bedding for our son with no added cost. Od definitely bring family there again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2013 by Kenny, Hotel Management
Felicia- Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay with us. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your room as well as our restaurant and bar. We would love to provide hospitality for you and your family again the next time you visit Effingham. I have mentioned this review to both the restaurant manager and executive housekeeper to let them know of the job well done. Sincerely,