Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by rachelVan

FREEZING pool

Posted Mar 23, 2014
The good: The breakfast was fantastic. The staff very friendly. The main areas of hotel are very nice. The beach, which is a shirt walk right across the street was lovely. Your normal resort beach with loungers and umbrellas. Beautiful tropical fish come right up to you and eat out of your hands if you bring some cornflakes. Gorgeous water. We had lunch at the beach restaurant/bar and it was surprisingly good Israeli food. The room was fine though quite small. Excellent shower. Great view (6th floor). The bad: the swimming pools were freezing. Neither of my kids could put more than a toe in! Absolutely ridiculous. We paid over $400 a night for a family room (a small suite). It's crazy to not be able to go in the pool. Especially since the pools and loungers were lovely. A few hardy folks did laps but got out immediately. No hanging out. The beach was packed because of it. And just so you know we are from Vancouver and regularly swim in the Pacific Ocean in the summer - not a warm body of water! I would hesitate to ever stay in an isrotel hotel again because of this. The staff were polite but basically said it was staying the way it was. Also, the air conditioning in the room did not work properly. We will be staying elsewhere on our next trip to Eilat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Needham, MA

Across from the beach, away from downtown

Posted Oct 31, 2010 on Hotels.com
This is an excellent hotel, located south of the industrial area and the crowds of "downtown" Eilat. It is across from the beach, has a great pool, excellent breakfast, great rooms and views. I've stayed there on my last several visits to Eilat, and will stay there again the next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Good choice for relax time in Eilat

Posted Aug 27, 2009
Given the overpriced, overcrowded, noisy tourist trap that Eilat has turned into, the Istrotel Yam suf is an excellent choice. It is a short way out of town to the south, so it is not surrounded with the unbelievable hustle, bustle, and noise of the "strip" but is readily accessible by cab or car. It is as overpriced as other Eilat hotels, but rooms are clean, comfortable, and well-appointed (and our upgraded choice had breathtaking views). The only real beef is that virtually all hotel services are ridiculously overpriced. (WiFi access through the hotel is 24 shekels PER HOUR!!! ABSURD!!) Happily, there are other options nearby. The hotel restaurant and bar are also seriously overpriced. On the positive side, the breakfast buffet (included in room fee) is excellent; diverse, ample, and well-presented.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Very good, all things considered

Posted Aug 23, 2009 on Hotels.com
It costs about 40 shekels ($10) by taxi from the airport, for 2 people and luggage. Several good restaurants are in the immediate vicinity (walking distance): The Last Refuge and Bar Beach restaurants are good. We also ate at Eddie's Hideaway in town, which was excellent, but hard to find and in a crummy neighborhood. The Yam Suf gave us a nice room (cheapest category) which was fine, except for the lack of elevator, which meant dragging luggage up to the 3rd floor. The hotel's beach is stony, but the gorgeous fish come right up within a few feet of shore, so you can sit in a plastic chair in the water and see them swim near your feet. A very short walk to the south is the Coral Beach nature refuge, which is a snorkeling area that costs 30 shekels plus cheap gear rental if you don't have your own. The absolutely best thing to do in the area is to take a day trip to Petra, Jordan. We did it through Desert Eco Tours for $158 per person, almost everything included, and it was great. If you don't know what Petra is (UNESCO World Heritage Site), go online and research it, as well as tour companies. No VISA for Jordan needed; just $45 for border taxes & tips.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay and Scuba in Eilat

Posted Aug 21, 2009
The hotel is located across from the beach where many SCUBA operations are located. They also have a dive shop on the ground of the hotel. The hotel is off the main north boardwalk area, but that is what we were looking for as we are avid scuba divers and love to snorkel abd this hotle is in the best area for scuba and snorkeling. The food both breakfast and dinner buffets served at the hotel are amazing, plentiful, fresh, and have wide variety of choices.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Berlin

Oase in Eilat

Posted Aug 19, 2008 on Hotels.com
Sehr angenehmes Hotel mit gutem Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis. Erholung pur. Sehr schön am Coral Beach gelegen, mit sehr guter Infrastruktur (Café Aroma im Haus, Restaurants und Supermarkt nebenan). Eine Oase abseits des Trubels am Nordstrand.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Israel

A nice hotel

Posted Aug 13, 2008
Great weather, nice room, large breakfast buffet, friendly staff, coral beach at 100 yards. A place to re-visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Great Value for the Area

Posted Aug 9, 2008 on Hotels.com
If you want a hotel that is a little bit away from the hustle and bustle of Eilot, Yam Suf is a great choice. More family oriented. You need to drive or take a cab to the center city for evening night life. If you like snorkeling, it is right across the street from the coral reef area of the Red Sea. An excellent breakfast was included in the price. And the buffet dinner was excellent and reasonably priced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Excellent

Posted May 28, 2008
Perfect location (have their own private beach), close to main water attractions (underwater observatory, dolphin reef), restaurants. Hotel has a huge swimming pool, nice clean rooms, very friendly and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 21, 2008 on Hotels.com