Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A from boca raton florida

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Pool area, beach, attitude of staff, breakfast, room
Cons: remove the infused fragrance...continue training the staff on the little things that make a hotel 5 stars
Location: masada and the dead sea
Overall it was a very nice experience. When I first entered the hotel I was overwhelmed by the infused fragrance throughout the common area. I wasn't the only one. I mentioned this to the manager and the fragrance was not so strong the next day...fresh air is definitely the way to go. There is a bar in the lobby but I was told to go to the restaurant for a glass of wine. The manager overheard the bar waitress and told her that she should go get my wine and bring it to me which ended up being the case. We loved the pool area, beach, and, of course, the breakfast which was amazing!! I plan on staying there again and believe you would not be disappointed.\ boca raton, florida
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bad experience

Posted May 2, 2014
Very bad experience at the check un counter very unfriendly reception people
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Agnes from San Francisco

Nice hotel, needs improvements

Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is nice but being used to American standard I think it's way overpriced. I paid $285 for a double room so I expected a real 5 star experience. Well, it's not... The room is pretty nice but the front door was installed improperly and it rattled anytime someone was entering/ leaving nearby rooms or walking in the hallway. The location is gorgeous and it has a beautiful private beach with tons of lounge chairs, beach beds and such. The pool area is great too. I was expected a great breakfast buffet (I was traveling from Eilat's Hilton which had fantastic food). The buffet at Herods was rather mediocre, there's was plenty of food but I wish there was more choices and the food just didn't taste all that great, it was really mediocre quality. Finally the staff... I guess the customer service in Israel is still decades behind the U.S. - the hotel staff couldn't find my reservation and they had me sit in the lobby for over 30 minutes waiting. Not much smiling, no apology... The internet was painfully slow, although they gave us a free code which was nice. Last thing: this hotel is mostly catered to old Russian tourists. The hotel was overrun by them - I didn't want to use the pool or the hot tub because it was crowded with them, it felt a bit surreal, like a retirement community... I'm not blaming the hotel for this, but I just didn't feel comfortable around that crowd.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dan from Center of country, Israel

Pleasant and relaxing

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: Food was good; room was fine; view of Dead Sea was lovely.
Cons: See above -- mainly a bit more money should be spent to extend the TV service; to revamp TOTALLY the heating/air conditioning unit, etc.
Location: Location lovely, but very little to do on-site. Nearby, there is Masada, Qumram and Ein Gedi (the latter is a bit disappointing in the winter),
Overall, our stay was pleasant and relaxing. The food was fine and varied and the spa and beach were fine, too. However, although we paid for a half-board package US$600 per night (including VAT), we had to pay an extra 60 shekels (around US$17) per visit to use the sulfur bath! (Rather absurd, no?) Moreover, there were few activities offered that made the visit unforgettable. At night, there were no evening events of any interest -- no dancing with live music or special movies being screened. The TV channel selection was absolutely poor -- 28 channels in all, many of which were foreign stations that created language barriers. The hotel had a "Yes" package that included only one of the four Yes movie stations. The sports channel selection was also poor. Management probably could have acquired a package with a few hundred stations but was too cheap to do so. Heating in the room was controlled NOT by us but by a central switch controlled by hotel management and, therefore, although it was 8 degrees centigrade at night outside, no heat was offered to the room! Instead, the cold airconditioning was being offered! We had to complain to the hotel's manager for a radiator to be wheeled into the room! Similarly, in the fitness room (which was Ok - nothing more) the cold air conditioning was on and, when I asked for the remote to turn it off, they sent someone to unplug the unit instead! Is this any way to run a hotel?!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2014
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 1, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Cons: Spa is surprisingly loud. Executive Family room for 2 adults / 2 children. The bathroom has half-transparent glass and no ability to lock the door.
Upscale, comfortable. Food is quite good. Spa - the Mud Pack - is an interesting experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Leigha

Exceeded Expectations

Posted Nov 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is sparkling clean and nicely decorated. Rooms are recently renovated and comfortable. The pool, beach, and spa areas are well-maintained. The buffet was delightful with a wide array of fresh and delicious foods. Staff was very friendly. There was ample free parking. We had a great time and would definitely return here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ted from New Jersey/ US

Nice 4 Star Hotel and Facilities

Posted Oct 30, 2013
Pros: Comfortable rooms and facilities and good food..
Cons: Parking is somewhat of a mess and a sign on the main road would be a large help in finding the hotel.
Location: Lots to do nearby and at the hotel.
Not a five-star US hotel, as claimed, but still a comfortable four-star (akin to a nice Hyatt or Marriott). Rooms are comfortable (we had an executive room) and have a nice view. Facilities are directly on the beach, which is unusual for this area, and well kept. The decor is very Miami Beach and quite new. Service, where requested, was prompt and efficient. The breakfast is very extensive and very good. The dinner buffet is also good.