Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Glacier tourists

Posted May 7, 2014
Location: Lovely views but the price is a short walk up the road from town - the hotel will rpovide a shuttle but its hardly worth it.
We had a long weekend in El Calafate to see the glaciers. The hotel is a short 15 min walk up from the middle of town. The final bit up a short untarmaced track should not put you off as the view is great from reception and the lake view rooms. Staff were friendly and helped make tour arrangements which we needed. The restaurant was good and we enjoyed the food. The only downside was the timber construction which meant you could hear everything in the next room. We were woken up by a very noisy football commentary on the tv. The staff followed up when alerted them to the problem and we managed to then get a good nights sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jeanrobbo from London

Great staff

Posted Apr 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Upgraded free of charge to a lake view room. Wonderful, helpful staff. Free shuttle to and from town all evening. Only complaint is the over abundance of cakes and sweet dishes for breakfast - I know this is the Argentine taste but it is a tourist hotel so expected better choice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Rooms not clean. Needs renovation and repairs. Food was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ej from toronto

Comfortable, pseudorustic

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Very friendly and helpful staff. Arranged hielo y aventura excursion for us. Room was spacious yet cozy, and clean. Walls a little thin. Breakfast decent for the area. A bit further from the centre of town than most other hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gautam from Muncie, IN

Hotel in El Calafate

Posted Mar 8, 2014
Pros: The view was priceless. Room was very comfortable. Food was excellent.
Location: A bit out of the way on a hill, but only a 7 min walk to the main commercial street. You won't get this amazing view from a downtown hotel.
Hotel was up on a hillock. Good exercise walking up the hill. Only a short walk to the main downtown street. If you don't want to walk, a free shuttle is provided at moments notice. The view from the hotel is magnificent, looking on to Lake Argentina and the Andes mountains. The room was very comfortable and food --- breakfast and dinner was excellent. Staff was very friendly. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by David from Toronto

Meets expecations

Posted Feb 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
The shuttle sercice to town is nice, but internet access is patchy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Barry from Ireland

Excellent food

Posted Jan 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Don't eat in town, make a reservation to eat in the lodge, food is best we had in 3 weeks in Argentina
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kusha y Nili from NYC

Great hotel in el calafate

Posted Jan 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
La Cantera is a boutique hotel perched on a small hill over looking Calafate. The service is really good (the desk clerks all spoke English which was not expected but was a bonus), the rooms were nice and clean, and a good breakfast was included as well. A couple of things to note - this hotel had WiFi in the lobby and computers you could use free-of-charge, but the rooms did not have WiFi (they did have TVs and other standard amenities). Second, the hotel is also about five blocks from the center of the town, but it is located uphill and the last two blocks are gravel. This is important if you're just getting off a long bus or plane trip and have luggage with wheels - the hill was perfectly manageable but it was unexpected!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California, USA

Poor location

Posted Jan 25, 2014
Pros: clean and spacious rooms. Very helpful english speaking staff and excellent full complimentary breakfast
Cons: shuttle service to/from bus station
Location: We were there only for the Perito Moreno glacier mini trektour. The town itself is very commercialized. If you like to shop it is fine but not for u
The hotel itself is great, spacious clean rooms and full complimentary breakfast, however the location is not. The bus station and main street are about 5 good blocks away and are both downhill from the hotel. There are not sidewalks the whole way so those with wheeled suitcases would struggle dragging your bags on the gravel, bumpy shoulder of the road. We had backpacks on and it was a good hike up to the hotel, especially in the dark after coming in on a late bus.
2 out of 5
by joe from ny

familiar hotel far of daily facilities

Posted Jan 25, 2014
Pros: the view
Cons: restaurant
Location: see upper coments
as per title, the location of the hotel is far from main and unique street at this small town. Hotel located at a hill with sand roads, which need to walk hill down to come to the main street. Main street I mean rstaurants, bank, travel agencies or shoppings. the hotel facility is from 8pm to 12midnight all taxis are privet, no public taxi, no bus or other public transportation