Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by D from Melbourne Australia

A quirky gem

Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our stay had all the comfort of a great hotel without the impersonal sheen of glamour. The design was funky and sometimes surprising, and our room was very comfortable (though it could have been slightly better lit). The hotel service was informal, but friendly, helpful and good at their jobs. The food, including lunchboxes, was great (though somewhat at the whims of delivery problems in a distant corner of the world - no pears while we were there!) and the location was great for both the view over the lake, and an easy and short walk down to the town centre. We enjoyed staying here a lot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Could be a 5 star, but...

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: Gabriel the lead bartender made our experience at the hotel memorable. I don't think we would have had such a great stay without him.
Cons: The reception staff needs to be retrained. Instead of taking responsibility for issues and trying to make things right they tried to blame them on us
Location: Quiet area of town with not many dining/shopping options but it's only 10 min walk to town. Beautiful views of mountains and lakes.
We stayed at Esplendor for 6 nights in April 2014. We had multiple communication issues with the reception staff (which they made us feel guilty for), but the other staff more than made up for it and overall we had a great stay. Pro: Bar and Restaurant Staff are Amazing, Beautiful Views, Great Food and Drinks, Good Wifi Strength Cons: Reception Staff, Spa has limited hours and sauna doesn't get hot enough, 10 min walk to town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Unique and comfortable

Posted Mar 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was definitely the most trendy in the neighborhood. The lobby and common areas were beautiful, unique, and comfortable. The rooms continued the same themes. We even had very nice lunches and dinners at its restaurant. The only thing I think could really be improved is the breakfast buffet. All in all it was a great stay with a helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Yvonne from Germantown, NY

walk into town easily, back up is a challenge

Posted Feb 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
They have a wonderful hotel staff. English is spoken, of course, if needed. Our room was a little dark. More lighting is needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by michael from sydney

Great lake view

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Pros: View & pool
Location: On the hill but close to town and bus station
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Michele from NYC

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel only acknowledged my reservation after I called up many times to reconfirm my stay. When I attempted to re-confirm by e-mailing, I received no answer. Our friends' reservation was denied, although they too had booked with hotels.com. Finally they admitted a problem with their central booking. I was made to change rooms after one night because they were giving my initial room (they said the only room they had to give me was a suite) to someone else. I had to move rooms- which I did. I had made this reservation in April or May for December. The staff at the front desk did NOT always speak English. The breakfast was skimpy. This hotel left me with a very bad impression- an impression of, "We do not care!"
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by patty from houston

Nice hotel but location not convinient

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: Clean hotel,friendly staff and they do provide a option of buying lunch to go for excursions such as glacier trek .
Cons: Vegetarian friendly menu options
Location: Couple of blocks to town center,close to resturants,close to shuttle transport to glacier museum
Hotel staff good,menu options not vegetarian friendly,the room was hot even when temperature was cool outside,no air conditioners or fans.However keeping windows open would bring a lot of outside noise such as car,bikes or even fireworks,since we were there during Christmas Eve .Also climbing uphill to the hotel,every time you get back from a long day of activities ,coupled with the wind chill was a tiring experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good hotel choice

Posted Dec 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
It's a nice hotel, with cool decor and a nice view of the lake and mountains. It's only a ten minute stroll to town
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marti from Miami, Florida

Pretty view far from center of town.

Posted Dec 2, 2013
Pros: The design was very interesting
Cons: Hotel staff was not too engaging or helpful.
Location: 10-15 minutes walk from town. If you don't book a glacier tour the day before you don't go on the boat because it leave at 7:30 from your hotel.
It was adequate for a two day stay. The view from the lobby was quite nice. There was nothing else but houses around the hotel. You had to walk to get into town to eat, make reservations, shop, etc.