Ratings based on 6 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Arturofrom Mexico City

Old rooms, unfriendly manager

Posted Mar 20, 2014
The hotel is clean and it is located a 15-20 minute uphill walk from the main street. Cold breakfast is basic. Staff is friendly but the hotel manager is not. Very strict and arbitrary rules about the use of common areas and food. Table sitting area opens at 7 am, but if you have an early tour (some start as early as 5.30 am) you are not allowed to use it, and you are also technically not allowed to eat in your room. Ridiculous in my honest opinion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by wufrom Suriname

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 26, 2013
2 out of 5
by Lillianafrom Australia

Nice hotel too far from town

Posted Nov 21, 2013
Pretty hotel. Too far from town and up steep streets. Requires paying taxis to get back after a tiresome day. Does not have restaurant and only one nearby is full often. Unkind female owner made our stay unpleasant. Confiscated our food prohibiting us from preparing our lunch box in the room. Only hotel in the world I know that forbids food in the rooms... Do not recommend this hotel too expensive and not worth it. Many better and cheaper hotels in town or closer to town. No such thing as "mountain view": awful view. The lake view is very nice. Male owner is kind unlike his partner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2014 by Cristina, Hotel Management
Dear Lilliana: As you had already written a comment one week ago about the same issues I can only repeat my answer. " I'm sorry you don't enjoy your stay in our hotel, For hygiene reasons we do not allow store food or eat in the rooms. The guests may have all the drinks they want in room . In return we offer the dining room to prepare their lunches and refrigerator for storage. We also let our guest to order delivery and use the dining room until 10:00 PM. The mount view is the Calafate Mount view, and the building that you saw under construction is the new Hospital which is 1 km behind us . We are 700 mts far from the main avenue (Libertador Gral San Martin) The cost of a taxi from downtown is less than 3 dollars. The distance of the restaurants in our commercial area are: Don Pichon Restaurant two blocks, Esquina Varela : 3 blocks , Aromas del Sur : 4 blocks ; La Tablita : 6 blocks. There is also a grocery store 3 blocks far from our hotel You could see our cancelation policies and our location before you reserve. As Calafate is 3000 km far from Buenos Aires we can´t resell the rooms from one day to the following". Best regards. Cristina
2 out of 5
by Lillianafrom Cabarita Beach, Australia

No food in rooms

Posted Nov 15, 2013
Hotel itself is nIce. however, female owner was unkind and made our stay unpleasant. Her partner was kind when there. Only hotel on earth that "prohibits" food in the rooms! The lady owner insisted in confiscating the food we had bought to make our packed lunches the next day! rooms too hot but nice. There is no "mountain view" is more a "desolate paddock and construction of buildings and road " view. The rooms on lake side do have a great view. Hotel is far from town and up a steep road: exhausting after a day touring or trekking and cost of taxis ends up increasing substantially the price of a room. Can't forget to do something in town. Don't recommend it! Cheaper and better hotels in town. Tried to cancel a 4-day stay but lady owner would not allow it without charging full cost.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2014 by Cristina, Hotel Management
Dear Lilliana: I'm sorry you don't enjoy your stay in our hotel, For hygiene reasons we do not allow store food or eat in the rooms. The guests may have all the drinks they want in room . In return we offer the dining room to prepare their lunches and refrigerator for storage. We also let our guest to order delivery and use the dining room until 10:00 PM. The mount view is the Calafate Mount view, and the building that you saw under construction is the new Hospital which is 1 km behind us . We are 700 mts far from the main avenue (Libertador Gral San Martin) The cost of a taxi from downtown is less than 3 dollars. The distance of the restaurants in our commercial area are: Don Pichon Restaurant two blocks, Esquina Varela : 3 blocks , Aromas del Sur : 4 blocks ; La Tablita : 6 blocks. There is also a grocery store 3 blocks far from our hotel You could see our cancelation policies and our location before you reserve. As Calafate is 3000 km far from Buenos Aires we can´t resell the rooms from one day to the following. Best regards, Cristina
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, Canada

Would definately go back again !

Posted Dec 27, 2011
Would definately go back again. Clean fresh air....good view of the mountains and the lake. Very clean and comfortable hotel and helpful owners.10 minute walk to downtown El Calafate. Good restaurants close by. Enjoyed our stay there !
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

El Calafate

Posted Nov 14, 2011
Location: You must do the Big Ice Adventure and the 1 day trip to Chile.
This hotel offers a good mix of a view of the lake and a brief walk to town. If you aren't up for the 15-20 minute walk into town, you should choose a place on the main street.