Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Vali & Marco from Caribbean

Pleasant and memorable experience

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Pros: Friendly and polite staff...lovely classic decoration around the lobby and dinning room...beautiful view of the lake
Cons: Nothing major we can think of...
Location: Is not located in the center of El Calafate so it is a very quiet location around 10 minutes drive from restaurants and shopping areas...
We went to El Calafate back in 2012 for 3 few days and loved the place so much that we ended up extended our stay for almost a week...the staff in Hosteria Meulen was polite, friendly and very helpful. Roberto, the hotel manager was very knowledgeable and attentive, he gave us very good advice and help us booking tours and restaurants. Perito Moreno tour, and the full day boat trip around the glaciers are just amazing experiences Very pleasant experience overall
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by L.M. from New York, NY

Great staff and charming hotel

Posted Jan 24, 2014
Pros: Great staff, charming decor, beautiful location (though a bit out of the way)
Cons: Wi-Fi access
Location: Very close to Laguna Nimez with spectacular views of the area around Lago Argentino
I can't say enough about how helpful the staff was, especially the manager, who assisted us with pretty much everything from arranging our excursions to recommending restaurants in town in the most gracious way possible. The hotel itself is charmingly decorated and comfortable though it's a bit further from the main street than we expected. Since cabs are readily available and fairly inexpensive, this did not translate into a concern for us though, if proximity to town is a priority, it might be for others. We actually ended up really liking the location though. The views from the front deck are beautiful and it is very close to the Laguna Nimez reserve. The free breakfast has limited options though the hot croissant rolls they bring out are delicious. They also offer fairly good packed lunches for those leaving early on excursions. Since we were primarily in El Calafate to go on all-day tours of the surrounding areas, we did not spend a great deal of time around the hotel but the lounge is inviting and cozy and the entire lobby is fully of really cool antique pieces and decorations. Wi-Fi was not the best (though this might be true of a lot of places in El Calafate, not exclusive here).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great views and helpful, friendly hosts. A+

Posted Jan 16, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 9, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by OD from Sunnyvale CA

Nice building out of the center

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good rooms and nice building. Remote location too far to walk from town. No toilet paper in lobby bathroom seem endemic. Poorman's breakfast.
2 out of 5
by wood from puerto natales

Near town dump

Posted Dec 6, 2013
Location: Near lake road and town dump
It took one hour to find it, you never would after dark. We stopped and asked 3 hotels for directions and no one had heard of it. Located on dirt road out of town where they are building 2 other hotels, I'm not sure why, our room overlooked the town dump and was 2 Kilometers from town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by maria from Melbourne, Australia

Very quaint hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2013
This hotel was a very intimate hotel where the staff provided the best service ever experienced. Anything that they could do to make your stay easier they did. It was a little bit out of town but there was a shuttle if you didn't want to walk which came on time. I would stay there again simply for the service. The rooms were very cute with some beautiful pieces of furniture. Overall an excellent hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Silvia from Houston, TX, USA

Great for everybody.

Posted Mar 22, 2013
Pros: Decoration of the rooms and lobby, hospitality of the staff and owner
Cons: None
Location: Outside the city but not far; could walk to downtown Calafate (2 miles) or by taxi
The hospitality was excellent; the hotel is clean and has beautiful views. The staff was cordial and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Clara from Boston, MA, USA

A fine place, nothing too fancy

Posted Jan 22, 2013
I'd give the hotel a 3.5 if I could. It is located outside the city center which has perks and drawbacks. The scenery is beautiful, but the shuttle they advertise only runs from the hotel 2x a day and returns to the hotel 2x a day, so without a car, it's not an ideal situation. The hotel staff was very helpful in making reservations and helping to plan excursions. The had a lake room view which lived up to its name, but could also have been advertised as a "parking lot view" room. If you have a chance, ask for a second floor lake view room, I think they'd be better. The rooms were fine, nothing special. The bathrooms were pretty small a bit dark, but clean. Breakfast was good, croissants, ham, cheese, canned fruit, one kind of cereal, bread, assorted drinks, both hot and cold.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice but far

Posted Jan 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very nice hotel with good breakfast but location was quite far from town. THey provided an infrequent shuttle which was fine but the short cut to town was through burr infested fields.