Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by J from charleston, sc

Close to all must see sights

Posted Aug 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
I loved the cabins. We were upgraded the first night to a suite with an outstanding view of the volcano. Breathtaking. It is close to all activities- rainforest, hiking trails, ziplining and more. Everything is right there. Staff was great and accommodating. Very rustic . NO TV but service was great.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Far from most activities.

Posted Jul 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were not impressed by this hotel. Other than a good view of the Arenal volcano, this hotel had nothing much to offer as far as comfort or proximity to activities. We lost power several times. Power outage was for over 3 hours. The room sheets were dirty and light fixtures were missing covers.
2 out of 5
by Erick

Just for sleeping. Not for anything else.

Posted Jul 8, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Hotel Condition
Location: Rafting, horseback riding, Zip Lines, swing in the lake
Sleep is the only thing can be done in the Hotel. The sheets were dirty. No shampoo and old fashioned style. Pool is close ( pretty close) from the restaurant, so it is unconfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob from Jacksonville, FL

EL Castillo del Arenal

Posted May 21, 2013
Pros: Treated us like family.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Perfectly located just far enough away from Arenal to be immersed in Costa Rican culture.
Hotel El Castillo del Arenal was fantastic! STaff (Eduardo, Carlos, Miguel, Jose, Fermine) were great and treated us like family! FOod--Chef Miguel's--was the best in Costa RIca. The grounds and property are unbelievably situated in a great slice of El Castillo. Every angle is a post card and birds and vistas are superb. I will stay here agin!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sebastien from Canada

Great view of Arenal Volcano

Posted Apr 29, 2013
Pros: View Restaurant
Cons: Bathroom Curtains let too much sun in No A/C
Location: A little lost from civilization but a lot of activities near.
We appreciated our stay at the hotel but investing a little money in a shower head and some real curtains would go a long way. Might be badluck but there was construction downhill and they began at 5 oclock in the morning. If you like to wake up with the sun this is the place for you, Great view!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jannie from Pittsburgh, PA, USA

Rich in Wildlife Short on Comfort

Posted Apr 29, 2013
Pros: Wildlife, guests and service personnel
Cons: Lack of lighting and no hot water
Location: Up a long gravel drive on top of a hill overlooking a valley on either side. Fabulous view of Mr. Arenal and flocks of birds.
We stayed in a unit that had one CFL bulb in the center of the room and no bedside lights. There were two beds - one a twin and the other a small double necessitating that this couple sleep in separate beds. There was no hot water for the shower or sink. The bathroom was so small that you had to really twist yourself around to close the door. If you are into roughing it, the price is right and all of these complaints were softened by the abundant wildlife. We were serenaded by howler monkeys in the morning, and witnessed red lored parrots and a keel billed toucan among other wonderful birds in the area directly outside of the reception/dining building. It is a location rich in wonder, but short on the American standard for hotel comfort. The breakfast was lovely and the service superlative. If you are the type who drinks their tea with pinkie extended, this place is not for you. However, if you are willing to be flexible I would highly recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by Sarah from Atlanta, GA, USA

Beautiful View...but 15 mins outside La Fortuna

Posted Apr 29, 2013
The view is amazing and the staff were so, so helpful!! Downside is that the hotel is about 15-20 mins away on an unpaved road from the center of La Fortuna so everytime you want to leave the hotel to go for an activity (hike, hot springs, shopping, ziplining, etc) you'll end up paying around $25-30 dollars one way in a taxi. Unless you have your own car or private bus or don't plan on leaving the hotel, then you end up paying a lot of money. The staff was able to help us out and drove us and picked us up for $15 each way but still...adds up pretty quickly. Also, for whatever reason there are about 2-3 dogs down in the residential area not too far from the hotel that barked literally all night. It was awful. No sleep at all :( Room was just fine - we don't need much although my husband was a little surprised there was no tv or radio. We had a great time with the activities that we planned but think we'll stay in town next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Vicky from Escazu, Costa Rica

Highly recommended.

Posted Apr 18, 2013
Pros: View of volcano and surroundings
Cons: Dim lighting, some bulbs out or missing.
Location: Close to everything we wanted to see and do.
Excellently located for volcano park, Sky Walk amd other tourist attractions. Accommodating staff."
3 out of 5
by Andreas from Canmore, AB, Canada

Off the beaten path

Posted Apr 15, 2013
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Room
Location: Off the beaten path...
Hotel is off the beaten path. Its great for those who want to go to the end of the dirt road. Its quiet and has great views of Arenal, when possible. Breakfast was okay. The room did not have a safe, a table - pretty basic with 4 separate beds and a bathroom.