Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Perfect base in El Chalten

Posted Feb 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Poincenot is very much at the upper end of accommodation in El Chalten, and it's certainly worth considering if you're spending a few days there. The hotel is modern, clean, and the staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. The location at the top of the main strip is also close to the start of the main trekking routes. I'd stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Travis from Dallas, TX

Close to the Main Trails

Posted Feb 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a good location for being right next to the main trails in El Chalten. Internet speeds here are the worst thing, but that is the case with every where in this town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Cambridge, MA

Very nice. Modern. ... But needs AC!

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Pros: Staff. Modern amenities.
Cons: Air conditioning.
Location: Beautiful area. Decent places to eat in the hotel and nearby.
Very nice hotel. Very modern. But could have used AC in January (during the summer). The outside temps were cool... but an open window wasn't enough for a comfortable night's rest. Woke up sweating. Other than that, the place was great. Good restaurant. Very helpful staff. Despite the AC issue, I highly recommend the place. In particular, if you're not a 'hot sleeper', it would be perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Get breakfast early

Posted Dec 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
The price of this hotel was a little high, but with a credit it made the stay worthwhile. The interior was elegant with comfortable and up-to-date rooms. The location was great to walk to the start of the hiking trails and to a plethora of restaurants. Our only complaint was that, we arrived at breakfast a half hour before it supposedly finished, and they were out of most things that they did not restock. (We even had to ask for even the basics like coffee and plates.) We were disappointed we couldn't enjoy all of the breakfast offerings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Peter S from Palm Beach. Florida

Nice newer hotel

Posted Mar 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is only 3 yrs old and it shows - very nice and clean, well maintained. The room has simple but modern funiture, everything you'd need for a comfortable stay. The breakfast was standard but nice. The hotel manager was very nice and helpful. It is at the end of the village but El Chalten is very small so it is easy and quick to get around. We had a very pleasant stay and would definitely recommend Poincenot!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by John

Great Hotel

Posted Mar 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Stay here - great hotel. Very warm greeting and got a full tour of the place and our room by a delightful gentleman (didn't know that was still done anywhere). Everything was very comfortable and clean and the location is great. We got up very early and went for a big trek and didn't return until just after checkout time. The same man said no problem at all and to take our time cleaning up and checking out. Wonderful stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Laura

Does the job

Posted Mar 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed at Poincenot for 2 nights while we hiked around the El Chalten area and having looked at lots of hotels online I decided that they were pretty much all the same so just picked this one. It was fine, the breakfast was good and they prepared absolutely huge lunches for us both days. Other than that, the bedroom was comfortable and the bathroom clean and well equipped and there's not much else you need if you're there to enjoy the great walks around El Chalten. One thing that we wished we'd known when we arrived is that you should stay on the Cal Tur bus after the bus station as it stops at one more place just across from the hotel and saves you lugging your bags to the opposite end of town, as we did!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Feb 24, 2013
Good, basic hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Perfect location from which you can start hikes into the park. The included breakfast is very simple
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Great stay for a few nights in El Chalten

Posted Jan 5, 2013
Pros: Inn style atmosphere
A great little inn style hotel in El Chalten. This place definitely has a feeling of an inn, although it is not. The location is very conveniently located next to the trails for Fitz Roy, and near the town center (5 mins walk which is nothing considering people go to El Chalten to hike for hours) Check in was instantaneous, after saying my name, I was given a key and shown to my room, no passports, no credit cards, nothing, felt right at home. The staff is very friendly and willing to help. The room itself is very clean and well kept, with relatively modern styling. There is Wi-Fi in the hotel which is actually very reliable considering that all communications with El Chalten are through Satellite and therefore unreliable. Breakfast is continental style and quite fresh.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robert

Probably best or second best option in the city

Posted Jan 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Can't fault the Poincenot. It's a small hotel with small rooms at reasonable rates, so you have to go into it with that expectation. However, no cover on the comforter and then no fitted sheet on the bed one night was frustrating. However, as soon as we called, they delivered one quickly. Mediocre breakfast buffet, but right next door the Wafeleria...seriously, a wafeleria, aweosome. The town is tiny, so just because this one might appear on the edge of town, doesn't make a difference.