Ratings based on 230 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom S.F. Bay Area

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Ground floor Patio facing the water. Fridge, stove top microwave can make for convenient meal.
Cons: Ground floor noise - if near elevator, if close to center - noisy clanging when carts of plates and silverware and breakfast are set up before 7.
Location: Half Moon Bay Kayak Co. (kayak and SUP). Always go to 3-Zero Cafe at the airport for breakfast. Just a few minutes north.
Usually stay at The Oceano. Oceano has a more plush feeling inside and in rooms, view facing the water and boats in the marina. right next to Half Moon Bay Brewery. So chose to try a different place. The Beach House Hotel has a nicer view and right next Sam's Chowder House. Can watch surfers from patio or deck. Each hotel offers a little different something.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Cupertino, CA

A fantastic spot right on the ocean's edge.

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Pretty much everything!
Cons: A full interior remodel in the few years would be well timed.
Location: Surfing, hiking, bicycling, walks on the beach, many good restaurants nearby!
We had an ocean view room, and truly the view couldn't be better! The staff is excellent, the beds are comfortable, and welcome amenities abound! The spa and pool were wonderful. The room had everything we needed, but it seems that it's been a while since the room's had a remodel. A little chipped paint, and a wobbely fridge are no real inconvenience, and our two day stay was absolutely wonderful! I also think the room rates are very worth the pleasure of staying here, I will be back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pittsburgh PA

A Spring Break in Half Moon Bay

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: Nice room, living space, kitchen, comfortable bed, porch with full ocean view. Quiet and private. Staff was hospitable. Good continental breakfast.
Location: On the beach a few miles from downtown (shopping) in Half Moon Bay. Beach access. Ocean view. Walk to harbor, or drive to varied places to eat.
My husband and I took a few days break in March in Half Moon Bay. It was sunny and warm and the beaches were crowded with bathers and surfers when we arrived at the upscale Beach House on Sunday afternoon. But the weather turned more seasonal so we never got to sun by the heated pool and hot tub. A fellow guest insisted they were great even when it was 50 and cloudy. We were more interested in an evening fire in our cozy room. We enjoyed walking on the beaches, and sitting on our little porch with a full ocean view. We also enjoyed the continental breakfast of fruit and rolls, in the lobby ( but we could have taken the tray back to our room). The comfortable bed was separate from the kitchen & living space. The small scale "resort" was attractive, clean and comfortable. The staff offered recommendations for meals. We ate the catch of the day with locals at Joanne, enjoyed a happy hour at the Half Moon Bay Brewery, had great seafood at Sams, and a good lunch at Chez Che after shopping in the boutiques of Half Moon Bay. We also drove down the scenic coast from Mantara Lighthouse to Pigeon Point. We sighted more than 50 pelicans, some seals and possibly a whale. We may go back to see whales migrate in January, the fields of flowers in the late spring, or pumpkins in the fall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northern California

Fantastic room with an awesome view of the ocean.

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Pros: Location and professional courteous staff.
Cons: We were not sure what the noise was that sounded every 15 seconds or so. Would have been better if not so frequent.
Location: Walking distance to the Chowder House. They served a wonderful dinner.
Excellent stay for our Anniversary. Splendid sunrise and sunsets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Berkeley, California

Ultimate Relaxing Holiday

Posted Jan 28, 2015
We arrived early but were still given an excellent room. The room had everything we needed and more. The view was beautiful. We loved the private patio and sunken sitting room. The staff was always friendly and helpful. The hot tub was clean and large. A wonderful restaurant, Sam's Chowder House, was right next door. We loved the crab stuffed shrimp wrapped in bacon. We did not want to leave. One of the most relaxing trips ever.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by carole

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Bad Service, not going back

Posted Dec 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice little hotel and great location, but the service was terrible for the prices we pay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Elena and Tonyfrom San Francisco, CA

Its a good for us...

Posted Dec 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very relaxing, however, the furniture is kind of dated, like the couch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose, CA

Location is very nice, right by the ocean.

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Pros: The location is really good.
Cons: I would isolate the breakfast area.
Location: There are lots of hiking trails, you can do kayaking, surfing and several nice beaches within 10-15 miles.
The first night we were not happy with our room, because the breakfast table set up right outside our door, there were lots of foot traffic and plate clutters and they put music starting 7.00am. But when we mentioned this to the front office, they changed our room right away. They were very courteous.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nebrska

Somewhat Disappointed

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: Having coffee down on the main patio was a nice morning start. The treadmill was great for the days when the rain/wind prevented outdoor walking.
Cons: Replace sitting area furniture in room. More variety in breakfast items, maybe some package oatmeal or bread for toast.
Location: I did not have a car so took a taxi to historic HMB for a day. Walked the trail and enjoyed the numerous restaurants .
Paid for a partial ocean view room...got a view of an RV camp, a TV dish, and an AC unit or stove vent. Since I could see the water if I looked way to the right and stood up I guess that qualified! The balcony was totally enclosed so you could see NOTHING if you sat out there. While the bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom clean and bright the living space furniture was not at all comfortable and smelled old and musty. One of the robes provided was not fresh and the frig froze everything. Probably a better weekend get away than a longer term stay location. I was there a week and the same items for breakfast got a tad old.