Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Good value, comfortable

Posted Oct 11, 2014
It's the second time I've stayed at this hotel. It's cheap but comfortable and the staff are friendly and helpful. It's just outside El Medano, so you can walk into the town in five or 10 minutes but you're still outside the busiest area of the resort. There had been a couple of improvements since my last stay. There's now free WiFi in the rooms. And the evening entertainment (karaoke etc), which used to be in the bar, has been moved to a separate club downstairs. That means you can avoid it if you want to and you won't be able to hear it from your room. The staff were great. I had a problem on my last night: there was a noisy couple in the room next door to me who had brought some speakers with them and had their music on really loud when I was trying to sleep. When I complained to reception, they dealt with it straight away. Even though the couple seemed to think they could do what they wanted, the hotel staff were having none of it - and they didn't give up until the music was off altogether. I was really impressed with the way they handled it. My only slight criticism is that I thought the room could have done with a really thorough clean. It was largely clean - in fact I'd say that was one of the strengths of the whole hotel - but there were a few corners where dirt had started to build up. It looked like the room was getting a reasonable clean every day but still needed a really deep clean every once in a while.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by neelia from Edinburgh

Great hotel for the price

Posted Apr 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed at the Hotel Arenas del Mar for 5 nights with my mother over the Easter weekend. The hotel is only 10 mins from the airport in a taxi (approx €14) and whilst the outside may look a little bit like a concrete block its very nice inside. I had emailed the hotel ahead of travelling as my mother has limited mobility and can't take stairs or walk far unaided. I had requested either a low floor room or a room near a lift, I didn't receive a reply before flying but on arrival I was advised my request was received and we had been allocated a 1st floor room right next to the lifts which was great. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Unfortunately the room over looks the main lobby and cafeteria and our first night was very noisy! I had asked to be moved if possible but was advised there was nothing available, not an issue as the rest of the stay was much quieter! You could hear the music one night through the floor but it wasn't a problem as it didn't end too late. The room itself was very clean and well presented with plenty of space. The pool area is well maintained with plenty of sun loungers and no need to be up super early for a space. The only thing that we felt let the hotel down was the choice of food. The buffet was much smaller than we expected and the choice wasn't great. A couple of days the hot foods were cold and the meats under cooked. Overall a very pleasant stay and if you are looking for a quiet, well priced get away then this is a good option.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by franc from cardiff

Posted Mar 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
A lovely hotel, nicely decorated with a good size room even for the basic room. The staff were not the most attentive, and at times, if you didn't have the red arm band of all inclusive, you were made to feel like second rate citizens. The breakfast buffet was really good. Evening buffet was also pretty good for a hotel buffet, salads etc similar each day but different choices for staters and main meals each day (we were only there for 4 nights so not sure how long they keep changing) The pool area was clean and spacious, the usual early reserving of loungers happens but there were always plenty to go around. The heating wasn't on on our first day and the water was freezing, but it was back on the rest and it was very pleasant. The outside area can get VERY windy, the hotel is on a windy outlet of a windy resort so be aware-for me this made the temperature pleasant, and as long as the sun was out and you were in a slightly sheltered area, it was a comfy temperature to sit all day without getting too hot or cold. The village of el medano is a pleasant 15 minute along the beach and coast. The beach in el medano is more of a sunbathing one than the beach right next to the hotel which is more for surfers and windsurfers. Right next to the entrance of the hotel is a small but cheap and well stocked corner shop, so if you go b&b or half board you can keep stocked up with water and snacks without paying the extortionate hotel bar prices. A good hotel in a pretty but windy location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cathie from Edinburgh Scotland

Relaxing break

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Pros: The friendliness, accommodation and dining experience together with heated outdoor pool and Sunbathing area all made the perfect relaxing break.
Cons: Entertainment.
Location: Remote but ideal if you are looking for a quiet and relaxing short break. Don't miss a visit to the Nearby town, a short walk along the coast.
Quietly situated away from the noisy resorts Very relaxing with welcoming staff and pleasant Surroundings within short distance of airport. The small town of El Medano is a short distance Along the shore and we'll worth a visit. We enjoyed our stay very much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by JB60 from Watford

Great Hotel , Poor Location

Posted Feb 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Hotel was very good in every respect except it is in the middle of nowhere.This area is very windy and while ideal for windsurfers is not ideal for anything else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 1, 2014
Cons: Bar Service
Location: Great location for walking sea side walks hill walking and windsurfing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bob from Essex

Posted Jan 29, 2014
Pros: Liked the pool, the spa and the location of the hotel in a relatively quiet, uncommercialised area not far from the airport.
Cons: There were no facilities for making tea, coffee etc in the room.
Location: The hotel is on the south eastern side of the island which is basically fairly quiet. It is not an area for night-life. There are very nice beaches.
We found the KN Arenas Del Mar a modern well-appointed hotel right on the seashore at El Modena. Our south-facing room on the fifth floor was excellent, with superb views. Hotel facilities were good. Heated outdoor pool, small indoor pool incorporated in the spa centre. Food was generally a good standard. Staff friendly and professional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Keppi from London

Good

Posted Jan 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel was really good for what I wanted it for. Relaxing atmosphere. If I was to go back I'll try and get room 401, it was amazing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 1, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from scotland, uk

fine for 4 star

Posted Apr 6, 2010
not a great hotel but it was as described so ok. staff extremely helpful and friendly which made a huge difference as was travelling on my own. food not good though. beds fairly uncomfortable. if you don't upgrade to a sea view (and i didn't) then your balcony gets no sun all day - that is probably worth paying for!