Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice place

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: Staff, breakfast.
Location: Not much to do nearby.
I liked this place. The staff were super friendly, the free breakfast was good, and I even got along with other guests. Location kinda blows, but Elkins is a very small town. What can I say? It fulfilled my needs. I would go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by JR from Maryland

good Super 8

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Clean room, clean linens, clean bathroom with soap and shampoo. Quiet. A/C works. WIFI mostly works.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jeff from Chicago

easy on the budget

Posted Jul 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Location was easy to get too. Not too many cheap hotels to choose from in Elkins. Staff was good. Wi-Fi worked well.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Virginia

Hotel not recommended

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Hotel is in serious need of updating
We arrived at 3:10 p.m. check-in is at 3, Our room was not ready. It had not even been started on so after driving for 3 hours we had to wait another 30 min for a room that was already supposed to be ready. We were supposed to have a double room with double beds since we had 5 people. We ended up with a single room with double beds. My daughter had to sleep on the floor. The electrical outlets were all bad. Our refrigerator stopped working and defrosted everything in it. They deactivated our key cards at 10 a.m. (checkout is not till 11) we had to get the maids to let us back in. It was supposed to have free Wi-Fi which also did not work. We had a very old T.V. that worked with a remote however the power button was busted out. All in all it was a terrible experience and I would not reccomend this hotel to anyone and I will never stay at a Super 8 again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Needs some Improving

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: Distance to locations we wanted to see
Cons: Staff could spend more time managing the breakfast area and front desk instead of standing outside of the building smoking.
Location: There are 4 caverns a beautiful and scenic area with beautiful mountains.
To begin with the so called continental breakfast did not offer a lot of options, and on the items that were offered either the machine was not working or empty.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim

Posted May 14, 2014
Okay. Seemed a little bit overpriced. The tub drained very slowly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Hodson

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bill from Evans, GA

Elkins, WV

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: The airconditioner/heater knobs are kind of loose and could use a tune up. But it worked.
Location: Gandy Dancer theatre is right across the street.
I travel to Elkins area about six times a year. Usually I camp out, however about once a year need to stay in a hotel. Like for example when it will be well below freezing or snowing outside. I go there for the meeting and the friends who attend, not the hotel. Even for a two night stay for an administrative meeting, there are certain things I now need. Coffee, WiFi, breakfast, a reasonable level of civility so I don't have to listen to parties all night home. I usually stay at Super 8 on this hotel needed occasions. The rooms are compact, but have WIFI, coffee, microwave, frig, TV, and are satisfactorily clean. Good fortune determines whether you are next to a party crowd.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mary from Lexington, KY

Mountain Breakdown

Posted Feb 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Had to stay there about a week. Great staff, clean rooms. Fridge and Microwave and safe in my room. Ben the night clerk is the best very good at his job. Steak house across the street and walking distance to town. Wish I was here on better circumstances but glad this hotel was here for me to stay.