Ratings based on 109 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob from Wellsville, NY

Helpful staff

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Location: This was a very short distance from Elmira College; not walking distance, but a quick, easy trip with the car.
The staff heard that we were visiting because our daughter was going to be attending the nearby college. Once they heard this, they made sure to tell us that there was a discount offered to families of college students. While this could be viewed as them trying to increase future business, I felt that how they delivered the information showed that they genuinely cared for their clients.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Close to where we needed to be.

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Nice hotel. Friendly staff. We liked that it was pet friendly.
Comment from
Jan 4, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to your next visit to Elmira.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable room, not much else

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: Clean, comfortable room; close to interstate and downtown.
Cons: Pool deck was slippery; pool opens too late in the morning; no breakfast included at all; costs as much as hotels that offer much more in metro areas.
Location: Catch a hockey game at First Arena; eat Pudgie's Pizza!
Stayed overnight on a weekend road trip with the wife. Upsides: Easy to find, close to the interstate and downtown Elmira. Neighborhood looked a bit sketchy, so I'm not sure if I'd recommend walking into town or not, but it was too cold for us to do that anyway. Room was clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly, and the girl at the desk had ready recommendations for places to eat and things to do. Downsides: The heater was very noisy, and woke each of us up, more than once, during the night. Ultimately I had to turn it off. By morning we were quite chilly. The indoor pool itself was nice, but don't walk around it barefoot. The painted concrete around it was full of very coarse grit. If this was supposed to improve traction, it failed miserably. I was slipping and sliding a lot, and a piece of grit cut my toe in the process. Also, the pool doesn't open until 9am, so the best hours for a morning swim before families/kids come in were unavailable. They have breakfast, just not complimentary. Not so much as coffee or juice in the lobby. They'll bring an English muffin and coffee to your room, for five bucks a head. We didn't have time to have a sit down breakfast at the hotel restaurant, so I can't speak as to its quality. I'm sorry, but I expect more than this for the money we paid. Motels costing half as much usually at least offer coffee and bagels. Good for an overnight stay, but I wouldn't stay for an extended period.
Comment from
Jan 20, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you chose to stay with us during your recent visit to Elmira and we value your comments. We appreciated you bringing these matters to our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Nice hotel, great location to college . Staff were very nice
Comment from
Jan 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Guest satisfaction is our number one priority and we strive to make every guest stay the best it can be. We look forward to seeing you again when you visit the college.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by kristine from Baltimore

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dave from Reading Pa

Posted Dec 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was Ok ,very pricy for the location and NO breakfast included..I am a Carlton Card member and could have stayed at a Country INN and Suites for less and that included a nice HOT breakfast. My brother had already booked the room so we stayed for 3-nights over the Thanksgiving holiday. The location was convenient, however it looked like it was across from Govt housing..Pool was small didn't even have free coffee at the desk Overall the amentities had much to be desired.
Comment from
Jan 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize that your stay did not meet your standards. We strive to provide excellent customer service and amenities and apologize that we were unable to offer what you were looking for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by MaryAnn from Dallas, TX

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Perfectly nice hotel - very friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Johnny from Elmira, NY

Nice

Posted Dec 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Staff was pleasant and helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by W. Frederick from Boyertown, Pa

The place to stay in Elmira!

Posted Nov 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall, a perfect 10! Staff was friendly ans accommodating, grounds well-kept. The room looked as if it had been just refurbished. Very clean, extra pillows - marked for comfort! Wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy the pool and the restaurant which I'm sure were on par with the rest of this establishment. You won't make a mistake by booking the Holiday Inn!