Ratings based on 215 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upper Marlboro, MD

The resort was little disappointing...

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: It was clean and close to the city center.
Location: La Bufadora - the marine geyser is only 30 minutes drive from the resort. We enjoyed the drive.
I was expecting a classier hotel for the amount that I paid. I was a little disappointed. The room was okay. The internet didn't work apparently due to some repairs or upgrade. The beach was just an inlet or estuary. The real beach was outside the resort ground.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I had a nice time there...except

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: I liked the location.
Cons: Perhaps have more staff in the pool, including on Mondays!
Location: It was clean and very nice and quiet!
We stayed there Sun-Tue, we were told by friends that there was a bar in the pool. We arrived sunday, and yes, we got to order drinks from the bar but on Monday, we had to walk all the way to the restaurant everytime we needed a drink, which made it about 8 times for me and 12 times for my friends. We were told someone was going to make runs to the pool and ask for orders but we only saw that person once, and we were in the pool from 10a to 7pm. That was a little frustrating to keep going to the bar everytime we needed to have a drink.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sacramento, Ca

A nice 3 night trip!

Posted Aug 15, 2014
I stayed in the king suite, had a great ocean view! I thought the restaraunt was clean and very we'll priced. The pool and swim up bar was awesome, a bunch of kids running around, and music playing was a great way to spend the afternoons. Lots of good taco spots right outside of the resort. I also had a BLAST with fireworks on the beach. There were lots of firework stores outside of the resort, and a great place on the beach to light them at night. Make sure you have a little torch to light them, it can get windy. I can not wait to go back! We felt very safe inside the resort, never one problem. A great value for a nice getaway.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bergisch Gladbach, Germany

Great experience!

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: The view and the the whole resort are precious! Love to stay here!
Cons: please dont put the music in the pool are loud, lots of people are traying to relax or read a book, we asked to put the music turn down and do it.
Location: it was almost sad to live the installations, here is too relax, but dont forget to go to la bufadora, to Ensenada centre or Valle de Guadalupe.
We booked a normal room but got lucky and got a suite looking at the beach, it was so nice to stay in the Suite Maya, it was perfect for a family two adults and two teenagers. I will like to encourage familys to pay maybe more, but to be later happier in a big suite!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Who in the heck is giving this place four stars?

Posted Aug 5, 2014
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tijuana, Mexico

Great scenery, third rate hotel.

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: The great view of the lagoon, the well kept gardens, good food at the restaurant.
After several hours waiting for towels at the pool we decided to find the hotel laudry and finally got them. The WiFi was a great disapontment. We had to go out and buy our own soap and shampoo for the shower because the water is salty and we could not get any foam from the cheap soap and shampoo provided by the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Challenged arrival

Posted Jul 29, 2014
When we arrived they checked us into a room which had not been cleaned. We had to wait on the patio for at least an hour calling several times asking for it to be cleaned,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very fun for whole family

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Loved every second of the trip. Hotel was in a great location and there was plenty to do for adults and kids. I will return in the future for sure!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salinas, Ca

Great location & View

Posted Jul 15, 2014
The hotel grounds are very beautiful. Although an update is greatly needed in the rooms. The first night there our room AC unit was not working, not pleasant at all but we changed rooms the next day with no problem. The other thing that caught us by surprise was that the water used for baths was salty water!! Did not enjoy that at all!!! I think they filter water from the bay??
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

beautiful grounds, beautiful view

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: beautiful grounds - landscaping and cleanliness.
Cons: Bathrooms need more detailed cleaning and maintenance on the doors and light fixtures.
Location: Near a very run-down neighborhood. Everything you need is within the gates of this resort so don't bother venturing out.
The landscaping is beautiful, the pool area looks inviting, but the rooms need a little more attention to detail in cleaning and maintenance upkeep. Be advised: the "heated" pool was freezing cold, and the hot tubs were scalding hot. There was a sand volleyball pit but none of the staff seemed to know where the volleyball was. They also have tennis courts and they did have tennis equipment to borrow, but some of it is very old and worn out. The restaurant was excellent: we had good food and good service. Be aware that this hotel is a shore excursion on Carnival cruises and there was a busload of cruisers that were brought in to spend the afternoon there several days a week, but even so the pool area never felt crowded.