Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nothing special

Posted Jul 3, 2014
wi fi was not working, staff people mostly impolite. Absolutely a not cheap rate even if breakfast was not included
3 out of 5
by Jill from Preston

Convenient hotel needing some improvements

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Pleasant staff resolved issues very professionally - leaving a much improved feeling about the hotel from all of us
Cons: Cleanliness, room checking & flooring
Location: Very pleasant area & convenient for househunting in the woodford area
Very pleasant staff made up for failure to clean room (cups etc.) or make beds after the first night. Following a long day househunting we were very disappointed to see the room had not been serviced (except the bathroom-which had!). Staff put it right once we complained & were very apologetic, but it should not have happened. Also did not like the laminate floor in the bedroom - it was not very clean beside the beds (spilt drinks?) & the beds slid across the floor if sitting up leaning on the pillows against the bedhead - very disconcerting!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sheila from kent

Value for money

Posted May 7, 2014
Pros: Only that it was close to where we needed to be.
Cons: General look of the place needs brightening up carpets in communal areas looked grubby and the grounds could do with sprucing up a bit.
Needed a place to stay in Epping as we were attending a wedding and this served the purpose. Beds were fairly comfortable and were clean tea, coffee & biscuits provided. For the price we paid it was good value.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel but in serious need of a refurb

Posted Apr 28, 2014
From the outside the hotel looks quite nice but as soon as you get through the main reception to the other block it becomes very shabby and out dated, with worn out looking carpets and paintwork. It doesn't make for a great impression after the welcoming reception area - definite work needed here. Room itself was comfy and mostly clean enough however there were some questionable marks in the toilet which obviously hadn't been cleaned properly and no toilet brush for us to try and deal with it! We only used the hotel as a base so for that it was fine and local to the activities we were doing, so access wasn't a problem Breakfast was included in our room price; it was alright but certainly not worth £8.95 if you are thinking or adding it on as an extra. Overall I was slightly disappointed I would have expected a Best Western to be slightly better and actually we would have a better deal and more up to date facilities at a Travelodge I think.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jack from chichester

Outside Hallways could be better

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: convienient to our wedding venue
Cons: Decoration
We stayed the night for a wedding, had breakfast which was good the restaurant was very clean and the waitress was very good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from Manchester

Good location for Gaynes Park

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Quiet, big rooms, Indian restaurant on site. No complaints.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Doreen from Norfolk

Handily placed to visit relatives who live in Esse

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Pleasant surroundings
Cons: As I have said better facilities for the disabled
Location: Handy for Epping Forest, shopping and not far from Harlow
Have stayed here many times before-but would like more facilities for the disabled ie: wet rooms or more accessible showers not showers over the bath where it is difficult.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by gmartin from Hampshire.

Inexpensive hotel near to wedding venue.

Posted Apr 13, 2014
This hotel is spread over several buildings, like a motel. Seemed like a long walk from Reception. However, the room was clean and comfortable, and the 'full English' breakfast was better than most (more expensive) "business" hotels! I was quite happy with the experience here, given its reasonable price, booked online via Expedia.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lily from London

decent hotel

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Clean and tidy. Nice staff.
Cons: The bed!!
The hotel receptionist was really helpful and pleasure to talk. But the bed mattress was too soft and uncomfortable to sleep.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK

Posted Mar 16, 2014
A very nice motel with good staff and restaurant, sadly let down by the tiredness of the decor and it really could do with a deep clean (extractor fans etc)