Ratings based on 138 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom The Midlands

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Our first room we had to vacate due to the smell of drains but staff were apologetic and courteous. However next room was stuffy and hot, despite the fact it was only about 12-15 degrees outside (not as you'd expect when not the height of summer!) and we were told that there was nothing they could do about it. We had to sleep with the window open, which overlooked a busy road. The bath was fine but the shower ran only cold... The breakfast was nicely laid out and though very much reliant on pastries- they were freshly made and tasty. However other facilities were distinctly lacking. We went to look at the pool, which was a green soup and covered in sea gulls and nothing like the picture on the website. Equally the grounds were tatty and garden furniture, which may well be dusted off and cleaned like the pool for summer guests (?) were mil-dewed and mossy. We like to be able to come back and relax at our hotel (room, grounds etc.) after a busy day and we felt very disappointed that the images and impression of the website did not live up to expectation and that we made more of an effort to stay out for as long as possible to avoid having to spend longer there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom England

Family holiday

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: The hotel retains the historic features and the gardens are a great place to relax. The restaurant was a pleasant surprise. The food was excellent.
Location: Naples and the surrounding area are in need of improvement but if you like history there are a lot of amazing sights to see.
The hotel is an excellent base for a tour as it is next to Herculaneum and Vesuvius and a short trip by train or taxi to Pompeii and Naples. The staff were very helpful and we enjoyed our time at the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Nähe der Ausgrabungen von Ercolano

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: Die leichte Ahnung von dem früheren Leben der "Reichen und Schönen" von Ercolano, das hilfreiche Personal und das ausgezeichnete Frühstück.
Cons: WLAN gibt es leider, entgegen der Angaben im Internet, lediglich im Foyer und in einigen Zimmern in der Nähe. Tipp: vorab entsprechend reservieren.
Location: Ausgrabungen von Ercvolano 500 m, S-Bahn 10 Min. Fußweg, ein paar km nach Neapel und Pompeii. Vesuv und Töpferort Vietri sul Mare mit Pkw 1/2 h.
Das weitläufige Gebäude aus dem 16. Jahrhundert wurde vor ca. 10 Jahren komplett saniert und mit modernen Möbeln sehr geschmackvoll eingerichtet. Die Decken der Räume sind bis zu 8 m hoch, mit Fresken oder Stuck gearbeitet. Die großen Fenster machen die Räume hell und freundlich. Der zum Hotel gehörende Park ist schön mit Pampelmusenbäumen und einem kleine Wäldchen angelegt. Wichtig: beim Reservieren des Zimmers unbedingt auf die Parkseite bestehen, auf der Meerseite ist der Verkehr viel lauter. Ein kostenloser Parkplatz innerhalb der Anlage ist ebenso vorhanden wie ein Pool. An anderer Stelle wurde moniert, dass hier und da der Putz bröckelt. Das ist in Anbetracht des Alters des Gebäudes normal und gehört irgendwie zum Charme der Anlage. Man ist auf jeden Fall bemüht, auftretende Probleme umgehend zu lösen. Das Personal ist durchwegs sehr hilfreich und freundlich, wir haben viele Tipps bekommen, ob wir ein Restaurant suchten, Ausflüge in die Umgebung machen wollten, das jeweils beste Verkehrsmittel suchten oder was auch immer uns interessierte. Morgens gab es fast alles, was zu einem guten Frühstück gehört: Säfte, Müsli, diverse Croissants, meist noch warm. Immer frische Brötchen, Marmelade, Honig, Frischkäse, Obst. Schinken und Salami konnte man einfach bestellen. Die Sachen standen also nicht in der Wärme, sondern waren auch frisch. Das einzige, was wir vielleicht vermissten, wäre ein Ei oder Käse.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Norfolk

lovely hotel in beautiful grounds.

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Lovely old palace
Cons: Whole body shower replaced with standard one, easier to use.
Location: Ruins are incredible, far superior to Pompeii, not to be missed. Disappointed with the filth and graffiti everywhere though along coast.
Lovely hotel with very friendly, helpful staff. Had corner suite with views over sea and over gardens to Vesuvius. Our visit was out of season so restaurant was closed except for breakfast. Good breakfast. Excellent siting for ruins, virtual museum, Vesuvius trips and train to Naples, Pompeii and Sorrento. Surrounding area dirty and run-down so we didn't like to go out to eat in the evening but ate whilst out during day. The hotel is lovely, calm oasis in the midst of this urban sprawl.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cambridge

An oasis for visitors to the Vesuvian sites

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Pros: Location: not just convenience of access to the Herculaneum site, but the sense of escape from the chaos around. Second, excellent facilities.
Cons: Prompter service at the bar: remember to let reception know you need service! The restaurant is good--but nearby Viva Lo Re is exceptional.
Location: The amazing site of Herculaneum; Vesuvius itself; the Pugliano market; and the other c.18th villas, including the royal palace at Portici.
As someone who works regularly at the site of Herculaneum, the Miglio d'Oro is very much my preferred place to stay, and indeed I have frequently recommended it to friends and visitors, ranging from others working on the site to VIPs, and they share my positive views. One of the cluster of magnificent eighteenth-century villas in the area, built for high-ranking members of the royal court at Naples, it fell into serious neglect in the last century, and in the early years of this century was rescued by the Ferlaina family, restored at vast expense and with great elegance, and transformed into a luxury hotel. Miraculously, amid the hectic growth of the area in the postwar period, it preserved its lovely gardens, full of scented orange trees and shady holm-oaks. Though there are apartment blocks around, privacy is preserved. There is now an excellent pool. The high-ceiling rooms have been restored with great elegance: some bathrooms have Jacuzzis, and you can lie in the hot tub looking at Vesuvius. Not everybody is impressed by the area: the Bay of Naples makes no secret of its poverty. But it is a vibrant community--just try the Pugliano market, famous for second-hand clothes for real local colour. There are plenty of hotels on the Sorrento peninsula which offer a better getaway from the real life of the Bay of Naples. But none provide better access to the archaeological sites. Pompeii and Sorrento are tourist traps: Ercolano is the real article.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Old-fashioned hotel – nicely updated

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Easy access to archaeological sites and to Napoli with train with short walk from hotel. Beautiful garden, would be lovely to relax in during summer. Staff was very helpful. Had one of the best local dinners on our whole trip on their partner restaurant next door. Great breakfast buffet
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Franck

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sehr schönes Hotel mit tollem Garten.

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Die gesamte Anlage ist leider nicht sehr gepflegt und sollte zum Teil dringend renoviert werden.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

due giorni ad ercolano

Posted Nov 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
splendido parco, personale molto gentile, camere molto confortevoli, colazione non all'altezza dell'hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by SIMONE

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2014 on Hotels.com