Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect for visiting Herculaneum and Vesuvius

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: The high ceilings, the big bathrooms, the balcony over the busy street, the huge private gardens, the location, the attentive and helpful staff.
Cons: I have mentioned the sterile dining room, so perhaps when they redecorate they could make it a bit more welcoming, but overall I recommend the place.
Location: It is a 15 min walk from the Ercolano stop on the Circumvesuviano railway, and 5 from the Herculaneum ruins. There is a shuttle bus to go up Vesuvius
Some reviews have said the hotel is a bit tired, but we thought it was ideal. Lovely spacious room with a very high ceiling, and a big bathroom with twin hand basins, and the french windows of both bedroom and bathroom opened onto a long balcony. The staff were charming and very helpful. On the downside the hotel restaurant was characterless and I would recommend dining elsewhere (La Cantina di Dante was wonderful one evening), the "free wifi" was only available in one spot near the reception desk, there was a small sticky patch of something mysterious on the bathroom french window frame but otherwise the standard of cleaning was faultless, and our safe did not work. But I am being picky, and it was ideally located and good value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Place at one time was quite grand. It's a little tired but still nice enough. Breakfast was good but I wasn't impressed with the dinner considering what it costs. Staff answered questions if asked but never very outgoing during our stay except when we first checked in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dave from Gloucester

SCave Stay

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: pleasant and attentive Staff, airy and quiet bedroom
Cons: The garden could use some tender loving care
Location: Very close to Herculaneum and the Circumvesuviano Scavi train station. Also a good base for a trip up Vesuvius which we managed
We stayed for one night between visiting Pompeii and Herculaneum. The area is less than attractive but the hotel was excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was large, modern, clean and airy - we both slept very well. The gardens are a haven of peace, if a little run down. They have some interesting period grottos and make a pleasant and safe place to walk. The food wasn't the cheapest we've ever had but we didn't feel in any way ripped off. The service was attentive and friendly and we enjoyed the experience. I would recommend this as a haven of peace when busy enjoying the ruins
1 out of 5
by Peter

Old and tired

Posted Dec 18, 2013
Hotel run down and not kept as clean as expected from an Expedia 4 star facility. Bathroom has mold. Expedia site for this hotel advertised a restaurant/bar/lounge on site. Closed when we arrived. We should have been notified in advance as this is important to us. Staff directed us to 3 local near by establishments. One across the street did not open for lunch and did not open for dinner until 7:30 p.m. Too bad, because in its day this hotel would have been quite nice. Very disappointed in facility and Expedia. Expedia verified 4 star ranking completely unwarranted. NOTE TO READERS, IF YOU GO BACK IN THE REVIEWS YOU WILL FIND THAT MOST THOUGHT THIS PLACE QUITE NICE. MORE RECENT LESS SO. RECOMMEND YOU READ ALL THE REVIEWS AND JUDGE YOUR SELF.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ian from Ayrshire

Great Hotel

Posted Nov 18, 2013
Pros: Everything, the gardens the views from the room across the Bay of Naples
Location: The only drawback was the lack of restaurants in the area but that might have been due to the fact it was November.
A great hotel in the perfect location for visiting Herculanum and Mount Vesuvius The gardens are stunning and parking is in a secure area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by janet from usa

Please clean my bathroom floor

Posted Nov 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
I loved the place. Super location,excellent parking, gorgeous park
4 out of 5
Recommended
by robertday from glasgow

Good hotel, God food, not so good location

Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel was deceptively large with lovely gardens and helpful staff. Location was good in that it was 5 minutes walk from Herculaenium site but bad as its a run down area surrounding it. Check beofre you book if you want to use pool etc as small season so only open a few months a year despite the lovely weather even now
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely, large rooms

Posted Oct 11, 2013
We were amazed at the size of the rooms and the bathroom. While you walked through what might be considered an unsafe area, it was entirely safe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Figment The Cat from South West England

Lovely Hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is a very nice, glamorous hotel. The positives were the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff; the quality and size of the room; the jacuzzi bath; location for Herculaneum (100 metres away) and Pompeii (20 mins on the train, station nearby). Negatives were that the swimming pool needed a clean - it was covered in algae; breakfast was a bit limited and the water for tea & coffee was hot when breakfast started, but lukewarm if you went down later on; the shower went hot and cold at times. Overall, a very good stay and we would go back if we were to ever go to Naples again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stockholm

Fawlty Towers run by Manuel's Italian Cousin

Posted Sep 17, 2013
Pros: Nothing. No, actually, it was close to Herculaneum. That was the one and only plus. If taxidermy is your thing the street outside had a fresh dead cat
Cons: Remove all mould (this would take a long time), repaint, sound proof windows, more courteous staff, housekeeping that actually cleans rooms, and more
Location: Train to Naples. Drive to Vesuvius. Walk the delightful streets of Ercolano whilst you experience the fear of being mugged or worst at any moment
Advertised as a 4* hotel this place is living in the past. The grounds are nice when the fountains are switched on and the water is flowing (apparently only for weddings). It would seem the place had investment back in the 90s and the villa was refurbed. Now, the rooms have peeling paint everywhere whilst the bathrooms have an atmospheric coating of mould ringing the bathtub and many other areas. The place supposedly had wifi but it didn't work in the rooms. Temporarily broken from what I was told. The bar area was basically unstaffed as far as I could tell as I had to walk around for ages looking for someone. I got the vibe they didn't have many English speaking tourists because communicating with the staff was not that easy though many English reviews have been posted. The standard of cleanliness was quite low which was very disappointing and if you have a room facing the gardens during a wedding good luck getting to sleep early. Ultimately, if you want to stay a very short walk from Herculaneum's archaeological site this place is your only option. However, given there's nothing around here any visit to the site would be best from another location. Come in and stay somewhere else.