Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cambridge

An oasis for visitors to the Vesuvian sites

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Pros: Location: not just convenience of access to the Herculaneum site, but the sense of escape from the chaos around. Second, excellent facilities.
Cons: Prompter service at the bar: remember to let reception know you need service! The restaurant is good--but nearby Viva Lo Re is exceptional.
Location: The amazing site of Herculaneum; Vesuvius itself; the Pugliano market; and the other c.18th villas, including the royal palace at Portici.
As someone who works regularly at the site of Herculaneum, the Miglio d'Oro is very much my preferred place to stay, and indeed I have frequently recommended it to friends and visitors, ranging from others working on the site to VIPs, and they share my positive views. One of the cluster of magnificent eighteenth-century villas in the area, built for high-ranking members of the royal court at Naples, it fell into serious neglect in the last century, and in the early years of this century was rescued by the Ferlaina family, restored at vast expense and with great elegance, and transformed into a luxury hotel. Miraculously, amid the hectic growth of the area in the postwar period, it preserved its lovely gardens, full of scented orange trees and shady holm-oaks. Though there are apartment blocks around, privacy is preserved. There is now an excellent pool. The high-ceiling rooms have been restored with great elegance: some bathrooms have Jacuzzis, and you can lie in the hot tub looking at Vesuvius. Not everybody is impressed by the area: the Bay of Naples makes no secret of its poverty. But it is a vibrant community--just try the Pugliano market, famous for second-hand clothes for real local colour. There are plenty of hotels on the Sorrento peninsula which offer a better getaway from the real life of the Bay of Naples. But none provide better access to the archaeological sites. Pompeii and Sorrento are tourist traps: Ercolano is the real article.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Old-fashioned hotel – nicely updated

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Easy access to archaeological sites and to Napoli with train with short walk from hotel. Beautiful garden, would be lovely to relax in during summer. Staff was very helpful. Had one of the best local dinners on our whole trip on their partner restaurant next door. Great breakfast buffet
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sehr schönes Hotel mit tollem Garten.

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Die gesamte Anlage ist leider nicht sehr gepflegt und sollte zum Teil dringend renoviert werden.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice people and convenient for herculaneum.

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Hotel needed an update as was dated and falling apart. Breakfast was not good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Arras (France)

Très bel établissement mais...

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: la beauté de l'établissement
Cons: le petit déjeuner
Location: le quartier n'est vraiment pas joli Mais Ercolano est près des accès principaux pour visiter cette belle région
Très bel hôtel malheureusement pas très bien entretenu Cependant, très propre Le personnel est charmant Le seul point négatif de notre séjour est le petit déjeuner, il n'est vraiment pas de qualité La ville d'Ercolano n'est pas jolie, mais si vous souhaitez visiter les alentours (pompëi...) c'est le bon compromis.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Newcastle

Lovely Hotel close to Herculaneum

Posted Oct 14, 2014
The Miglio D'oro was a lovely, immaculately clean hotel and an excellent choice of location for closeness to the archaeological site of Herculaneum, which was literally a five minute walk away. The town of Ercolano where it is located is a little run down but a friendly area with great places to eat and drink; it is also only a short walk from the train station which takes you along to Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and other locations along the Amalfi Coast. The staff in the hotel were friendly and happy to help with all of our requests both before and during our stay. The breakfast was delicious well laid out and with plenty of choice for everyone. All in all if we return to Naples we would stay in the Miglio D'oro Park Hotel in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom kitchener ontario

Herculaneum

Posted Sep 30, 2014
5 minute walk to fabulous ruins of city preserved by ash of Vesuvious' eruption 79 AD.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Anders@Maudfrom Bromma, Sweden

Posted Sep 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
A four-star-rated hotel which tries to reach high-class quality, but they fail in trying. Had to change room because of a terrible odour of mould. Got a better one on 2nd floor, Nice view from balcony, secured parkingarea, but a terrible neighbourhood. If you are going to visit Herculaneum this is a good choise, If you are going to see Vesuvius or visit Naples, this is a bad choise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Perfect for visiting Herculaneum and Vesuvius

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: The high ceilings, the big bathrooms, the balcony over the busy street, the huge private gardens, the location, the attentive and helpful staff.
Cons: I have mentioned the sterile dining room, so perhaps when they redecorate they could make it a bit more welcoming, but overall I recommend the place.
Location: It is a 15 min walk from the Ercolano stop on the Circumvesuviano railway, and 5 from the Herculaneum ruins. There is a shuttle bus to go up Vesuvius
Some reviews have said the hotel is a bit tired, but we thought it was ideal. Lovely spacious room with a very high ceiling, and a big bathroom with twin hand basins, and the french windows of both bedroom and bathroom opened onto a long balcony. The staff were charming and very helpful. On the downside the hotel restaurant was characterless and I would recommend dining elsewhere (La Cantina di Dante was wonderful one evening), the "free wifi" was only available in one spot near the reception desk, there was a small sticky patch of something mysterious on the bathroom french window frame but otherwise the standard of cleaning was faultless, and our safe did not work. But I am being picky, and it was ideally located and good value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Versailles

Une très bonne surprise!

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Alors que beaucoup d'avis dénigraient cet hôtel et s'acharnait à dire qu'il était sale et vétuste, j'ai pour ma part passé un très agréable voyage au Miglio D'oro parkhotel. Certes la devanture peut faire légèrement peur (façade un peu décrépie) quand on arrive et surtout quand on ne connaît pas l'Italie du sud mais il suffit de pousser la porte pour être très vite rassuré. Cet hôtel est d'un charme incroyable et même ses quelques défaut contribuent au charme (jardin mal entretenu à certains endroits seulement mais dans l'ensemble très agréable). Notre chambre était au troisième étage et donnait sur la mer. Nous disposions d'un très grand lit, une belle sdb de marbre avec douche et baignoire/jacuzzi.. Le top quoi! Puis la hauteur sous plafond est très impressionnante. Le personnel est d'une gentillesse sans égal. Toujours agréable et prêt à aider. Je me suis rarement sentie aussi bien accueillie. Je pense que pour apprécier l'hôtel et la petite ville peu touristique dans laquelle il se trouve, il faut venir l'esprit débarrassé des préjugés en tout genre. Les villes de la région napolitaine sont souvent un peu vétustes mais ça n'enlève rien au charme de l'endroit et l'accueil que vous réserve les Italiens est tout simplement incroyable. Allez-y sans crainte!