Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lilongwe, Malawi

Oasis near the Herculaneum archeological site

Posted Jul 25, 2015
The hotel is a true oasis on an otherwise unappealling high-density, low income neighborhood. Yet, walking around the vicinity of the hotel did not feel threatening or dangerous. The property is situated at Corso Resina, a long street lined with once sumptuous mansions that either have been turned into apartment complexes and commercial buildings, or remain neglected and uncared for, engulfed by the surrounding urban sprawl. Of these, Miglio D'Oro is one of a few to retain some of their former glory, thanks to its use as a hotel. Rooms are spacious and the pool area is pleasant. Wifi signal was poor and limited to the reception area. Staff is welcoming and ready to assist. Food at the restaurant was uninspired, but there are options on the vicinity. If you are staying in the area because of the Herculaneum archeological site, the proximity of the hotel is hard to beat. It can make for an equally convenient base for Pompeii and Naples, and the Circunvesuviana train station is not too far. Complimentary parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Friendly and pleasant hotel, but rather worn out

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: The staff were extremely friendly
Cons: The general decor was old, and worn looking. Some fresh paint would help this.
Location: The location is in a very run down area and not a place I would recommend for a holiday. Its fine for a one night stopover.
This is a grand old hotel that has seen better days. It is clean and comfortable with nice furnishings but the floors are old and worn and the walls had many scratches and scrapes across them. The gardens are worth a walk round, with many interesting features and the pool area is modern and clean. The outdoor restaurant is very nice and the food was delicious. The main waiter in the restaurant was extremely pleasant and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sartouville

Excellent choix pour visiter la Campanie

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: Très belle chambre, le parc qui entoure l'hôtel, le parking
Cons: Petit déjeuner correct mais le café et le thé étaient tièdes et même salés un matin!
Location: A part le site d'Herculanum, la ville d'Ercolano ne présente aucun intérêt et il difficile de trouver un restaurant correct.
Très bel hôtel avec un grand parc et un parking gratuit très pratique. Excellent point de départ pour visiter la Campanie autour de Naples. L'autoroute est très facilement accessible pour atteindre les principaux sites touristiques (Pompei,Vésuve,Sorrento, la côte amalfitaine, pasteum...). Ensuite pour visiter Naples il est préférable de prendre un autre hôtel au centre ville.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire, UK

Great hotel in a poor location

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: The gardens, the room, the staff, the jacuzzi in our bathroom
Cons: More variety at breakfast, water in the pool
Location: Excellent for the Herculaneum and a short walk to a train. Limited choice for dinner within walking distance
The hotel was excellent and we only had 2 complaints, firstly the pool, which was listed as seasonal, we not filled for our visit in the first week of May. I'm not sure when they do fill it. The other was breakfast, it was very heavy on pastries. You can only have dessert for breakfast so many times... The location of the hotel was a little awkward for getting about, it is great for visiting the Herculaneum and is about 10 minutes walk from a train station on the Circumvesuviana line from Naples to Sorrento. It takes about 20 minutes to get to Naples or Pompeii but nearly an hour to get to Sorrento. The trains aren't the most comfortable, often crowded and very hot with limited seating. We did find a brochure in the hotel for excursions and used it for visiting Amalfi Coast and Capri. The hotel staff booked these for us and were very helpful. They included a taxi to and from the hotel and when a taxi for one didn't turn up, the staff were very helpful in chasing it up for us, turns out it was a misunderstanding over the pickup time. The excursions themselves were excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 7, 2015
Einzigartiger Hotelpark. Super freundliches Hotelpersonal. Sicherer Parkplatz für Auto. Sehr nahe an den Ausgrabungen gelegen. Nur kleine Abstriche. Empfehlenswert.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

best hotel for Herculaneum site and Vesuvius

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: Beautiful historical building, very convenient for site visit to Herculaneum.
Cons: Wifi connections.
Location: Don't miss the Pugliano market, for food and clothes!
Amazing experience to stay in 18th century luxury villa for rock bottom price!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from The Midlands

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Our first room we had to vacate due to the smell of drains but staff were apologetic and courteous. However next room was stuffy and hot, despite the fact it was only about 12-15 degrees outside (not as you'd expect when not the height of summer!) and we were told that there was nothing they could do about it. We had to sleep with the window open, which overlooked a busy road. The bath was fine but the shower ran only cold... The breakfast was nicely laid out and though very much reliant on pastries- they were freshly made and tasty. However other facilities were distinctly lacking. We went to look at the pool, which was a green soup and covered in sea gulls and nothing like the picture on the website. Equally the grounds were tatty and garden furniture, which may well be dusted off and cleaned like the pool for summer guests (?) were mil-dewed and mossy. We like to be able to come back and relax at our hotel (room, grounds etc.) after a busy day and we felt very disappointed that the images and impression of the website did not live up to expectation and that we made more of an effort to stay out for as long as possible to avoid having to spend longer there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Only chose this area to visit Pompei and Vesuvius

Posted Apr 13, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel could be lovely but I assume it was still gearing up for the season and some areas were being refurbished. The staff were the best part they were all lovely and helpful but the hotel lacked any atmosphere. It is a haven in a really awful area. There also was very little hot water in the mornings. I would recommend the hotel but unless you really have to I wouldn't stay in this area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Family holiday

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: The hotel retains the historic features and the gardens are a great place to relax. The restaurant was a pleasant surprise. The food was excellent.
Location: Naples and the surrounding area are in need of improvement but if you like history there are a lot of amazing sights to see.
The hotel is an excellent base for a tour as it is next to Herculaneum and Vesuvius and a short trip by train or taxi to Pompeii and Naples. The staff were very helpful and we enjoyed our time at the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by giovanni from roma

Stile e relax

Posted Apr 8, 2015 on Hotels
poco da aggiungere a chi mi ha preceduto. dalla cortesia alla meraviglia della location. si è signori in questo luogo ad un prezzo davvero ottimo. Non posso che consigliarlo sia che vogliate godervi Ercolano in solitudine che in dolce compagnia