Ratings based on 698 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Never again

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Rude staff. Charged my credit card 57 additional dollars for an authorization fee. Couldn't explain it to me. Run down elevators, hallways, rooms.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2014
During our stay, there was a wedding at the hotel, and even being on the 4th floor, the music was very loud...the bed was not very comfortable and we were surprised to only have 2 standard size pillows for our king size bed...even with the renovations, the hotel is still very dated...certainly not worth the price
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Steve

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Waterloo, ON

Functional, close to the Arena

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Great location.
Cons: It just needs a spruce - the televisions, the linens, the washrooms, all old and dated.
Location: If you're going to an event at the Erie Insurance Arena, you couldn't ask for a better location. And check out Jekyll and Hyde pub across the street!
It's a perfectly serviceable hotel, older and in dire need of some renovations, but comfortable enough. I was in town for an event at the Erie Insurance Arena, and the location couldn't be beat. The woman at the front was pleasant, but tired - when I asked for dinner advice, she recommended a nearby Subway. That said, there were a couple of neat local places in a one block radius, which was nice. There were a few complaints - the doors didn't close completely without tugging on it, which doesn't make a solo female traveler feel all that safe, and my phone rang at 4:48 am, which was an annoyance (to say the least!). But that's nitpicking. This joint isn't my first choice, but you could certainly do worse!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Jeanfrom Warren, Pa

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
After reading the terrible reviews I was terrified to stay, but I was shocked. For the price, the hotel was not bad. Yes the room was old & worn, but it is under renovation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
OK Internet slow
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Keep your expectations relatively low...

Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
My mom and I booked a room at the Avalon because we wanted a hotel close to the Erie Insurance Arena (where we had concert tickets). The hotel was good enough to crash for the night but it's certainly not amazing. There were multiple large stains in the carpet, the bath tub drain was plugged, the room had a musty smell, and the front desk staff were miserable. Check-out is at 11:00 but good luck finding someone at the front desk around that time to help you - we waited a long time for the front desk staff to finish their "be back in 5 minutes" smoke break. I will say that the woman who ran the continental breakfast was very friendly and she helped us track down someone who could check us out at the front desk. The city itself lives up to its name - erie was all I felt when I walked around. It was like someone had come and sucked the life out of everyone who lived there. Overall I'd say the Avalon has a great location but needs a MAJOR facelift.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Melissafrom Buffalo, NY

Very Disappointed

Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
When I booked the room in the description it listed having a small refigerator which my room did not have. The hotel did not have a pool. The fitted sheet did not fit on the bed. Every morning when I woke up the sheet would be off. Nobody CLEANED the room. Didnt have enough pillows. I will never go back nor recommend this hotel to ANYONE.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Downtown
House keeping stole a personal pillow from my room and couldn't find it after asked.