Ratings based on 248 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.1 out of 5
48% of guests recommend
2.4 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
1.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Wayne, IN

Room price way too high for its condition

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Cons: Everything in my comments above should be improved.
Disappointed in the quality and condition of the motel overall. Towels thin and scratchy from overwashing, no tissues in holder, water never got hot, too few choices at the Continental breakfast, WiFi connection not good. I feel I was way overcharged for the age, condition and location of the motel. I would never stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Didn't like the safety feature.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Doors being accessed after dark with room key only.
Didn't like the feature of the doors being accessed after dark. The doors could be accessed even if you didn't swipe your room key.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Checked in then left.

Posted Aug 12, 2014
We had a room on the third floor opposite the poolside. It was creepy. The phone didn't work. The little shampoo and lotion bottle in the bathroom were already open. I grabbed a tissue out of the box by the sink and it was stiff. The room key came in a crumbled used envelope. We didn't stay the night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not recommended at all.

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Nothing. I would not stay there again.
Cons: A thorough cleaning!!!!
Location: Presque isle.
Our room was not cleaned after the first night. We came back to unmade bed and dirty towels. Even the "clean" towels were stained. The tub grout was mildew and unclean.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Akron, OH

These guys don't have a clue

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: When the Internet did work, it worked well.
Cons: New shower controls, with posted instructions ICE BUCKETS
Location: Their section of downtown Erie is somewhat run-down. And it's not going to come back to life - EVER - if that's the kind of hotel you have there.
The shower in my room didn't work. Their response: "you are not doing it right." I said, "perhaps you should send someone to show me how it is done." Nothing. They have an ice machine. No buckets. I went to the desk to ask for a bucket. No buckets. "We do not carry buckets." I said, "you do realize that without buckets your ice machine is worthless, right?" Nothing. The air conditioning did not have a working setting for "just leave the fan on." So bring your own shower; bring your own bucket for ice (or maybe just bring your own ice; it's easier); bring your own nighttime noise generator. And oh yeah, the Internet was out the first night I was there. A storm caused that problem, they said, but it's much easier to give them a pass for the Internet if they are at least trying on the other points. They have an attached restaurant. That's currently vacant. They have a pool, which did me no good as I was out during the heat of the day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: clean it up and fix stuff.
Old and beat up. I hear it's not a safe place to stay and won't again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel in a pinch

Posted Aug 6, 2014
The hotel needs refurbished. The hair dryer & coffee maker didn't work. The place was noisy and rundown. We showered, slept & got out of there. The breakfast was good - they had waffles. The wifi did not work on our room
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Our stay was horrible.

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Our experience was the worst we have ever had - considering the cost. Even if it was a $40.00 evening - I would NOT have stayed. We had NO choice. It was not a good feeling.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Downtown Erie

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Location, swimming pool
Cons: Just about everything.
Location: Downtown area is pretty quiet with most of the action moving to the suburbs.
2 out of 5 is about right for this former Holiday Inn. It was state of the art when opened in 1965, but it is long on tooth now. But it was packed all weekend when we were there. There are certainly better places, but it is centrally located downtown and has a nice pool. If all you want to do is sleep there, it's a qualified OK.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the best of places

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Location: Nice location
Refer to comments of other reviewers. Smells, uncomfortable beds, keys malfunction, no water pressure and not much hot water, house keeping pounding on door at 8am.