Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bridget Jones from Nottinghamshire

Great Location to explore Essen!

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely hotel and situated in the heart of Essen. Staff friendly and would recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by GUILLEN

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

pretty good

Posted Apr 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
i'd heard all sorts of stories about the hotels in Essen, but the Welcome hotel was actually pretty good - efficient, good bar downstairs - didnt have breakfast so cant comment on that .Seems like a good bet for a night in Essen.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by eric from northampton

Limited parking

Posted Dec 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Despite stating up front that I had a 2m high van with a disabled badge nothing was arranged and I was told on arrival the hotel had nowhere for me to park as their car park is only 1.9m high. I had to leave my wife in reception then drive around the locality looking for street parking and ended up half a mile away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by businesstraveller from new york

Hotel with great staff..excellent service

Posted Nov 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Used as an alternative for attending Message in Düsseldorf... good choice. Cab fare from DUS and to Messa about sixty euros. Dining was surprisingly good. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Graham Templeton from Stamford

Posted Nov 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very clean and efficient staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sean from London

Lovely hotel in maybe not the most lovely area.

Posted Nov 1, 2013
Pros: Staff (mainly), rooms and breakfast buffet.
Cons: Manners course for one bar staff member. Better pillows. :)
Location: Good transport links but the area isn't the most tourist friendly.
I used the Wecome Hotel as a base while visiting the Essen spiel (Board gaming trade fair) and although it was somewhat off the beaten trail, it suited my needs very well. The staff were almost all very helpful and friendly apart from one barman who displayed some of the worst customer service I have ever witnessed (ignoring customers to chat to a young lady, which would be annoying in a backstreet bar but was unacceptable in a 4 star hotel). My only slight quibble with the rooms was the one, extremely soft pillow that gave my head no support at all. Other than that, the rooms were very nice indeed. As I said, the area isn't the nicest part of Essen by a long stretch but the transport links were excellent with the Tram station just a few yards away. The food was excellent with the breakfast being particularly good. All in all, I'm very happy with my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to amenities and town centre.

Posted Jul 30, 2013
Pros: Room had air conditioning.
Cons: Price of the meals were expensive.
All I was looking for was a nice place to sleep at a reasonable price. That's exactly what I got and more. Staff are welcoming and polite. The room is very clean and comfy with great aircon. I was a little disappointed that breakfast was extra at €17. Overall a nice stay at essen.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mike from Burgundy

Posted Mar 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Disappointing. Although I booked well in advance and requested a non-smoking room, I was assigned a smoking room, and there was no other available. My two colleagues had booked after me, but were assigned non-smoking rooms. The wi-fi was absolutely hopeless and it was impossible to make any internet connection. The staff were very helpful at breakfast (plenty of them) but checkout was a nightmare with two poor overworked girls and a man hanging about doing nothing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by BizTravelGirl from Seattle

Centrally located business hotel

Posted Mar 18, 2013
Pros: Good location, consistent service.
Cons: No coffee or tea maker in the room.
Location: Easy 5-10 minute walk to the central shopping area
This is a basic business traveler hotel and is well situated in central Essen. Breakfast is expensive (as it is in most European hotels). The hotel is more geared to the male business traveler, than female business traveler. There is a grocery store about 2 blocks away and it is an easy 5-10 minute walk to the central shopping area.