Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom England

A Great Place To Stay!

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: everything,
Cons: cant fault anything
Location: Good shopping at Colchester & Ipswich, Colchester Zoo, Colchester Football Stadium,
Ive used this hotel few times now and every time is as good as last, the food is great,and if you want room service they are so helpful. We've sat and ate in the bar also and its very relaxed with nice comfort. Rooms are well equipped with comfortable beds and plenty tea,coffee etc provided, Recommended if you're looking for a great hotel near Colchester with easy access to all roads
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom braintree

Not to bad - old but ok

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Good service , need for sure refurbrished - but worth it for the price
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to Colchester zoo.

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Good location for the zoo. We stayed only one night. The double bed was quite small for both of us. There was a stain on the dressing table chair which was very off putting. The bathroom had fixed shower which was very inconvenient. After one shower there was water everywhere which we had to maneuver very carefully. For one night I guess it was bearable.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Guildford

low quality hotel close to busy dual carriageway

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: Only the swimming pool and steam bath
Cons: Most things
Location: The only good thing about its location is that it was in easy reach of the american diner down the road.
I have stayed in better truck stops, room was tatty, bathroom smelly, and overpriced. If the hotel had been better described by this web site I would not have booked it . They certainly didnt mention about its close proximity to a busy dual carriageway.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Staffordshire

Well used hotel, car park full.

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: It was reasonably priced and well situated.
Cons: Updating the overall décor of the bedrooms.
Location: Colchester is less than 10 minutes away and is a very busy, growing town with lots of attractions. Well worth a visit.
Used purely as an overnight stay, so didn't use the bar or dining room areas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel shame about the room service

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Really nice hotel very clean and good little gym with pool. Very comfortable bed and very clean room. Only bad side called for service got told there was 5 people waiting so would call back. But never called back so went without dinner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by fayssalfrom Birmingham

Hotel correct mais vieillissant

Posted Aug 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Service bon, chambre vêtuste mais propre, literie de bonne qualité, peu de pression dans la douche et changement de température constante.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by BwBfrom Suffolk

Tired Looking Hotel Rooms

Posted Aug 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
We've known this hotel for over 30 years and things ain't what they were. It was good to have tea and coffee in the room but one of the mugs had a dirty great lipstick mark on which was a bit off putting. When we were out one day they came and removed one of the two smoke detectors from the ceiling, which would have been ok but it was over the bed and they left all the dust and crud from that removal on the bed. However, the staff I spoke to were great, the hotel location was exactly where we needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by djw1477from lancaster

Bad reviews not justified

Posted Aug 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was a bit nervous of the hotel due to reviews on various sites but was reassured by the Bentley/Ferrari dealership there it was very good so put trust in them! The arrival was smooth and quick and whilst i did note a few of the other customers in the walk to my room were a bit lively i had a peaceful night. The breakfast was £8 so not too bad and was nice enough quality and good service. I asked for an ironing board and it was at my room door within 5 mins. All in all id say it was good value and must of had a bit of a make over as i cant agree with other reviews that say its shabby. Its nearer a 3 star than a 4 but dont be put off , its nice !