Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very welcoming place to stay

Posted May 16, 2014
Parking excellent and transport to airport good and price wise good too. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely countryside house, clean cosy rooms, free parking, moderate breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by olcr2 from Essex

Sweet little place

Posted Dec 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lovely little English guesthouse! Very peaceful location but only a stones throw from Stansted airport. We arrived on a cold night and the room was lovely & warm with a portable heater to adjust to our liking. Very helpful owners and good selection at the self service breakfast. Many thanks, very nice stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Sam from Nottingham

Perfect location for Stansted airport

Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
I stayed here before taking an early flight from Stansted and it was perfectly situated. It is in a small village just 15 min drive away anf was an absolute bargain and definitely better than staying at any of the bigger chain hotels. The owners were very welcoming and explained everything. Rooms were very comfortable (especially the bed!) so I had everything I needed. Would go back on a leisure trip again and will recommend to my colleagues.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by ray from newcastle upon tyne

Nice people

Posted Sep 27, 2013
Pros: The people.
Cons: The door that sticks and triple glazing to reduce the noise.
Location: Close to Bishop Stortford and Stansted.
The owners are nice, friendly and helpful. The rooms are pleasant and with ample space. The breakfast room is open overnight to allow guests to eat at a time that suits their travel plans. A good selection of items some of which can be toasted. No bacon, eggs ect. There were a few downsides. The hotel is on the flight path out of Stansted - and planes fly all through the night. It was hard to get to sleep before the next plane. The door on our room stuck a bit and had been planed down at the top. There was a visible gap which was not a problem when we stayed but would be in colder months. We were recommended the George pub for food and it is just 20-30 yards away. However it is probably the most customer unfriendly pub I have been in for decades. Needless to say they didn't want our business and we had to go elsewhere. Apparently they had no tables that weren't reserved even though we were sat at one that wasn't. We then witnessed a local being told they could not be accommodated in a most unpleasant manner. Not the hotel's fault - but they did recommend it!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad customer service.

Posted Aug 23, 2013
Appalling customer service. It is a shame because it looks like a nice place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming Accommodation

Posted Aug 18, 2013
We arrived very late - no problem there was a note on the front door. Breakfast adequate. Quaint boutique accom close to Stanstead with great personal service from the family owners. Highly Recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Suzanne from Scotland, UK

Totally chilled

Posted Aug 4, 2013
We were looking for an overnight stay to break up a long journey to the south of France; we couldn't have been more delighted by our experience at Bonnington's - in fact, we booked for the return journey too! The rooms are lovely, dog friendly too. There are lovely walks nearby. Breakfast is great as you help yourself to a wide array of breads, cakes, croissants etc and it is all very relaxed indeed. We wouldn't hesitate to go back each and every time we drive to France.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by fratersmer from n ireland

beautiful area

Posted Jul 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
gorgeous house and surroundings. Good local pub with great food.the only bad point - the room was very small and hot and clammy - a fan might be a good idea