Ratings based on 170 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom PC

Room rather small.

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Small room. Very hot, even with heating off. Not sure if bed was as requested on booking with Expedia (queen booked) but felt like we were given a double ! Room On second floor, but no lift to this part of hotel. Breakfast rather disapointing, why can't English hotels serve good coffee like their European counterparts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom A

Good place

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Very good hotel but we were offered a room below what we paid for but after that was sorted out everything went well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Durham

Mixed bag really

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Pros: Staff
Cons: Decor and bedrooms
Location: Coutry house location
Room was in need of refurb and a bad view of a pitched extension roof only, when I knew great views existed beyond so this was a let down. Staff however were very good in all departments and service in the restaurant / bar areas was exceptional
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by paulfrom Wallington

One night getaway

Posted Feb 28, 2015 on Hotels
Very relaxing stay in beautiful grounds, a perfect gateway
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 25, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Richardfrom Leeds

very nice

Posted Feb 25, 2015 on Hotels
Nice hotel, clean and spacious. Nice grounds and local village.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Quick weekend getaway, lovely room and location, super restaurant and staff. Sauna & steam room nice but only one shower and limited changing facilities (better to use your room). Spa was also good. Coffee at breakfast was not nice, shame they don't have a coffee machine for you to use like most other hotels. Overall would definitely recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jowenafrom Blackburn

Your very own Downton Abbey experience

Posted Feb 11, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel was a gem of a find, beautiful location and idyllic to stay overnight. I was with 2 business colleague one of which stayed in one of the newly refurbished rooms - she gushed about this!!! I however was in a room that has yet to be refurbished, the room was warm, lovely and clean and very stylish, the grout was clean and the bath did have silicone areas that had obviously recently been refreshed. The downside, I struggled to get a shower the next morning albeit the bath was lovely and warm and the shower screen did have a little bit of mildew/limescale on the bottom. The restaurant served food that was simply delicious and the wine was lovely if slightly pricey ( buy a bottle to share rather than the glass) Overall, I would definitely return for a 'Downton Abbey' Experience