Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

See Trip Advisor

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Please see Trip Advisor review posted recently - See Room 101
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Helen

Nearly Perfect

Posted Jul 2, 2014
We stayed over for 1 night. The staff were very helpful and friendly and our room was a great size. The only thing that let it down a little was the cleanliness. There was a lot of hair and dust under the sink in the bathroom. We would stay here again though!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

in the middle of nowhere

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: It's just a business hotel
Cons: Since nothing is close by, the restaurant that's connected to the hotel could be more affordable and better quality of food.
Location: Not much is there
Hotel is fine. Location is undesirable. For business meetings it may be a good choice. For a tourist, it was not my cup of tea.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maria from Glasgow

Hotel close to Colchester Zoo

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness of the room and bathroom.
Cons: Air conditioning. The room was very hot during the night.
Location: We came specifically to visit Colchester Zoo. A great choice.
Hotel was comfortable and clean. I chose it for its proximity to Colchester Zoo as we'd flown from Glasgow to spend the day there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sc from worcs

Good position, adjacent main road, nice gardens

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Nice quiet surroundings and great pool
Cons: Prices of some drinks was a bit high!
Location: Near to main road but enough distance not to hear noise
Several rooms booked. All checked in, trouble free. Good reception staff, very informative and helpful. Facilities good, two young children in our group, well looked after (cots, etc)
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stuart from London

Holiday Inn Colchester

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: Clean and comfortable. Ideal for an overnight or short stay.
Location: Colchester and Chelmsford nearby. Numerous special gardens to visit.
Conveniently located for A12 and M25. Very useful for an overnight stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tristan

Very friendly staff, clean room, lovely breakfast!

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Had a lovely time, couple of nights for a wedding, particularly enjoyed the breakfast and cleanliness of the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob

Friendly, clean and comfortable hotel.

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: The service. The Pool. The restaurant.
Cons: Much more reasonable wi-fi access (Many hotels provide it free, e.g. Marks Tey). Beds was just OK, not particularly comfortable.
Location: Colchester, Colchester Zoo.
Stayed here for 3 nights. Myself and partner in one room, my 25yr old daughter in another. Unfortunately we were here for a local funeral. The hotel staff were without exception friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and it was possible to buy reasonably priced food in the restaurant. The standard room was fairly standard but well equiped with an trouser press, iron and ironing board, tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel seemed to be mainly business users in the week but still catered well for families Wi-fi was available but at something like £10/day much too expensive so we didn't use it. Maybe OK for the business users on expenses but not us. In fact the 3G coverage was very good and we used our ipad by setting internet sharing on our phone to get internet access.