Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Great Falls, MT

Dilapidated and outdated

Posted Dec 1, 2014
The Inn doubtless had some charm 20 or 30 years go but has since fallen to dilapidation and has bad service that fails to make up for it. We paid over $10 for a box of Kraft macaroni for dinner at the bar. The staff were indifferent at best. Although the restaurant had decent food, everything at the inn was overpriced and underserved. The temperature was about zero degrees but the hotel didn't have heat until 18 hours into the snow storm, and we lost power throughout the night. No internet despite advertised and badly functioning plumbing.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom LA

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Our room in the main lodge was small but adequate for the price. We were not bothered by the frequent trains, since we faced away from the tracks. The restaurant was disappointing and overpriced. The food was only fair for dinner, good for breakfast. Although the hotel borders Glacier National Park, it's quite isolated--the West entrance to the park is 26 miles away and the East entrance is even further.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom alberta

Old hotel with paper walls

Posted Aug 11, 2014
We were traveling with our daughter and wanted a place not too far from the west entrance of the glacier park! We got there at 8pm and there was missing lot of things on the restaurant's menu. Then we got in our room! We could hardly fall asleep as we could hear all the people talking and walking around. We also go awaken really early by people leaving for a morning hike! It s probably a good spot if you want to feel what it was like to rent a room in 1939.....but it is far from a modern luxury hotel! We really were not looking for this kind if experience, and not at that price!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location near Glacier Park

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: Beautiful setting, delicious dinner.
Cons: Room had no air confirming or fans and both nights it was too hot to sleep even though it was quite cool outside.
Location: White water rafting. Everything to do with Glacier National Park!!
Charming setting, hotel is on the National Registry. Found staff to have not had customer service training. I found myself holding the front door open for hotel staff, instead of the other way around. Staff felt free to air their dirty laundry, I.e., work related grudges, in front of guests. Wait staff from Romainia were delightful and grateful to,have their jobs. Location is convenient to West Glacier.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Train Lover's Dream Hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: I love the train theme. It is very clean and quiet. The grounds are outstandingly beautiful. Prices are very fair.
Cons: Internet. I realize it is a getaway place, but I can't get away if I can't get some work done while I'm away.
Location: Glacier park ....plenty to do.
I enjoyed my stay very much. Chad's hospitality and customer service was exceptional. Much of the rest of the staff seems to be overwhelmed by their responsibilities and I sometimes felt I was putting them out just by asking a question. I realize this is due to them being employed for only a summer and the front desk wears many hats, but it felt bad to feel like I was an inconvenience. I am very friendly, not very demanding and I tip well so I know it wasn't about me. If answering the same questions is a problem, posting FAQ in the lobby or on a card that is given with the key, is a good idea. Restaurant hours, a map showing where everything is, gift shop hours, and anything else that would be helpful would be appreciated. Everyone is friendly enough, I just thought that I saw more stress than hospitality. I am definitely coming back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NC

Essex, mt

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: Old Inn with ambience, trains, location, service of a bygone era. Ask for a trackside room!
Cons: Wifi strength.
Location: Close by active train yard and Glacier entrances.
The property and Inn are in pristine original condition with updates for safety and guest comfort. A train lovers paradise, trains quietly go about their business, no horns. The Inn meets Amtrak and has rental cars available. Beautiful setting and grounds. You can stay in nicely refurbished cabooses and an engine as well as cabins besides the inn. First class, subdued and affordable. Other guests told me that they return time after time. Close to Glacier Park, lots of hiking and other activities all year. Dining can be inside or outside on a nice big porch, nice menu, good food choices. Nice bar, swings on porches. Feels like another era.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Idaho

not as good as before

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: character of hotel
Cons: food needs to be better prepared and keep items available
Location: Glazier, local hikes , bike riding , rafting , local towns to visit
My wife and love this place as we have been there periodically over the past 19 years or so. It is very quaint The food was not as good and more expensive and they ran of items even though the menu is not extensive. But there are very good restaurants in the surrounding towns. Hopefully no one noisy is above you as was the case the first of our two nights. Very relaxing place overall and we will still go back periodically Take walks/hikes,go into the park,visit Whitefish
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Billfrom wichita KS

Historic Hotel

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Cons: Wi Fi in rooms would be helpful
Wonderful place to get away from the "real" world. Room and facilities were very comfortable. The food in the restaurant was excellent. As a rail fan, you can't beat this hotel for scenic rail photo's and two Amrtak trains a day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Weekend Getaway

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: I liked everything. The rooms were great! We stayed in a room in the hotel itself and the room was perfect size for the two of us.
Cons: I think that the bar closed early and the Jacuzzi closed a little too early for us to be able to do much in our one night.
Location: The hotel is secluded, but it's only like an hour from a city if you really wanted to go do that. Lots of places to walk and outdoor activities.
My boyfriend and I had an amazing time at the Izaak Walton Inn! We only stayed for one night, but in that one night we had amazing food both for dinner and a late breakfast/lunch (the buffalo burger and the Reuben were fantastic) and we had great interactions with the staff. It was secluded and beautiful out there. The trains going by were also really great and a very unique experience. I am hoping to go experience this hotel in the summer!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 26, 2013