Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value for a one-night stay

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: It is situated in an ideal location and has a feel of family run.
A very comfortable night. An even more comfortable night
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Orsett Hall is great but food is disappointing

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: The room was beautiful and the hotel was very clean.
Cons: The menu is very limited and some of the dishes were very poor.
Location: There is really nothing of any interest close by. We drove up to a kids' adventure playground in Grays but the setting was not great.
Orsett Hall is a lovely hotel, really clean and well maintained. The room we stayed in was beautiful and the bathroom was massive and so clean. The setting is lovely, although there isn't much around the hotel itself. The only gripe I have is the food which was really disappointing. Avoid the goat's cheese and beetroot tart - it was so grim that I only ate one small mouthful and that was enough. The haddock and chips was absolutely beautiful though.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

A wedding venue rather than a short stay hotel

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Pros: The staff and breakfast
Cons: Either get rid of the car park rooms or move cars and delivery vehicles away from tehm
The staff and the welcome were lovely. The hotels is, however, very much geared to weddings and was practically empty on a Monday night. The bar food was adequate, although breakfast was very good. The rooms in the car park annexe are acceptable but noisy. I can't understand why they would put anyone there (even on a cheap rate) when rooms in the main building were empty. The hotel feels quite isolated, so you are a bit trapped.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not 4 star

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Booked online and got a room in a gatehouse in the car park. Eventually moved to a better room but if they think anyone would stay in that room is beyond me
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Warren

Posted Feb 3, 2015 on Hotels.com
Really nice warm room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Nicolasfrom CHÂTEAUROUX

Correct

Posted Jan 20, 2015 on Hotels.com
Logé dans une petite chambre à l'extérieur. Assez bruyant avec la proximité du parking voiture. Chambre confortable et bien conçue pour un court séjour. Bon restaurant. Petit dej à l'anglaise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Laurentfrom Chateauroux

Hôtel agréable mais éviter les logements extérieur

Posted Jan 19, 2015 on Hotels.com
Hôtel agréable, typiquement Anglais. Personnel accueillant et serviable. Par contre ma chambre était situé à l'extérieur du bâtiment principal dans un petit "cabanon" proche du parking. Si comme moi il y a une conférence avec repas (et boissons...) à suivre dans l'hôtel attendez vous à être réveillé en pleine nuit par les gens retournant chercher leur voiture et pensant qu'une petite discussion à voix haute (voire très haute) pendant 1/4 d'heure est tout à fait normal... Même en coupant le chauffage au thermostat de la chambre le radiateur a surchauffé la chambre toute la nuit. Restaurant à la décoration sympa mais menu assez basique.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Johnfrom Hampton

The Warren? Rabbit hutch in the car park more like

Posted Jan 2, 2015 on Hotels.com
Stayed in The Warren, which is not far removed from a rabbit hutch in the car park, on a Friday night before Christmas due to a work Christmas party in The Pavilion, one of the Orsett Halls function rooms. Laying in bed about 15 feet away from the front of the taxi queue, sleep was impossible due to the noise until 1.45am, when everyone had gone. The function ended soon after midnight. While the room was nicely decorated and clean, it was about 7 feet by 15, excluding the toilet/ shower room. There is no bath and as The Warren is in the car park, it's too far from the main building for the wifi to work. You do get your own parking space marked out outside which didn't deter a white van from parking in it. The Christmas function was excellent though and the food was good, just don't stay in The Warren if you want a decent nights sleep. A total rip-off at £105 for a night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mr Pfrom oxford

Very Poor

Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very Poor, £105 for a tiny room in what looked like a garage in the car park converted into two single rooms. I stay in hotels a couple of nights most weeks. All I could find in the area were pubs with rooms or small BB. So I decided to treat myself and pay £105 to stay at what like and is a very grand impressive country house. unfortunately when checking in I was led out to the car park and into a tiny room with a tiny desk, a tiny wardrobe as if it was for a caravan, a tiny bed and a tiny bathroom that was only as wide as the shower, never seen a sink so small. The room was only as wide a the door and 2'6" bed, in fact the head of the bed was so close to the door that I could feel a draft on my face. Not the country house bed rooms in the pictures. If I opened the blinds I was looking at a fence in the car park. So why didn't I ask to change rooms, just driven 200 miles, visited customers and just wanted to eat and go to bed. In the morning woken by a truck beep beeping through the car park to make a delivery to the back of the house. Will never use this hotel again.