Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicestershire

Convenient Hotel for Southend Airport

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Convenient, easy to find
Location: Just off the M25 - convenient for Southend Airport
We stayed at this hotel for a night before flying from Southend Airport (about 30 mins away). It was good, clean with plenty of parking and easy to find. No particular positive nor negative points - it did what it said on the can. The M25 was a nightmare (we were only on it for about 15 miles but it took an hour) - but that is not the fault of the Hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Nice grounds.

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: The grounds
Cons: Room decor, customer service.
Location: Close to Lakeside shopping centre.
Stayed here for 1 night to attend family wedding. Check in very efficient, room was rather shabby, lots of black scuff marks all over the walls, in need of a lick of paint. Lovely view from the window, quiet room and undisturbed sleep even though there was a wedding taking place. Requested extra tea bags from reception, and was told they did not have any behind the desk but that somebody would bring them to our room. 1 hour later and still no tea bags, phoned reception and was told by a member of staff that they were "very busy". Went back down to reception and spoke to the same member of reception staff, asked to speak to the manager regarding our simple request of a teabag or two, she apologized profusely and immediately went to get us some. Could have done this earlier surely without having to ask for the manager.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cumbria

hotel close to family

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: size of room, cleanliness, size of bed, toiletries, hairdryer and especially the tea and coffee facilities after a long journey...
Cons: separating wedding guests from main stream guests. clarify breakfast details, as i thought i had booked for breakfast, only to find i hadnt.
Location: very near to the motorway, essex town, lakeside, speedway etc. also a lovely village just a short walk down the road.
my gripe is not with the hotel, it is with expedia, who i had personally requested a twin room from. i outlined in detail why; sharing with mother-in-law who is recovering from a back op. i felt it imperative to have two single beds for this reason. on arrival, we were booked in a double, unfortunately they had no rooms left on the friday, but gladly upgraded us to compensate, with the aim of putting us in a twin room the following night, if we still wished. the room was clean, tidy to a high standard. the bed was comfortable and spacious. the sheets cleaned daily, the towels changed and there were toiletries in the bathroom. the view was nothing to write home about; such a shame the garden on that side was not utilised, it would have been bliss. the staff were pleasant, barr one night staff member, who was unhelpful when the alram went off. having said that, when i spoke to the day staff, they could not be more helpful to compensate for this matter; a fault i believe. i would certainly come again, but would suggest that guests who are not part of wedding parties are kept in a separate part of the hotel, thus reduce the noise of them coming and going.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northampton

Hotel in Good location

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: It's convenience to the motorway
Cons: maybe the beds could do with being not so soft!
Would recommend this hotel. The room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was good too, had everything that you would expect of a buffet breakfast and the staff were very accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Simple but nice and a good for transport inks

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Spacious rooms, free wifi, good bathrooms, clean, friendly staff, peaceful.
Cons: Water pressure for the showers
Location: In a nice part of Stifford with nice grounds. Its close to Lakeside shopping centre, London, M25, A13 & good rail links at Grays, Chafford & Ockendon.
Had 2 stays in consecutive weekends and encountered pleasant staff, spacious rooms, nice bathrooms and a big comfortable bed. The facilities are good and it is an ideal base with good transport links for the whole of the south-east. It was also nice and quiet and sleep quality was good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from surrey

Very cross

Posted Jul 14, 2014
I will start with the only positive of my whole stay was someone named jack who worked there who was very freindly and helpful. The room was dirty and had cracks and numerous marks to the paint work for a so called superior room I was very dissapointed . I spoke to a lady on reception foreign I think African about three different issues 1) to ask house keeping to clean my room 2) to move rooms 3) to request a late checkout On every occasion she did absolutely nothing and told me she would ring back. In summary it's not the worst but it's far from the best ... Buisness use only.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Disappointing

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Not much.
Cons: Needs a gym. Needs a separate function room so that residents can use the restaurant.
Arrived and tried to book a table in the restaurant only to be told that there was a private function to I would need to eat in the bar. Not exactly great to be told that when travelled all day. The hotel webpage also advertises FREE HIGH SPEED WIFI... but then the free wifi is very slow and did not work well. If you want 'HIGH SPEED' then you have to pay for it. If you need a disabled parking space then you have one at the front and one at the rear. Very poor and anyone parks there with no blue badge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Melanie from Jersey C.I

Lovely Location

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Hotel set in lovely grounds, beautifully kept. Security good. Clean comfortable rooms
Cons: Better sign post on roundabout to say where hotel is...entrance easily missed.
Location: Unfortunately this was just a quick stopover but the drive in and out was pleasant.
Polite friendly helpful staff. Good internet reception. All usual facilities in room. We did not make use of the bar or restaurant so are unable to comment.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by 123ABC from London

Do yourself a favour and book another hotel.

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
1st impressions were good, until I actually went to sleep! The hotel beds were too soft with no support, I ended up with a backache and had to spend money on a massage after!. The noise in the hotel was minimal, but every 20mins the air conditioning unit would make a loud noise... even though it was off! Lastly to top it all off the receptionist was very rude and did nothing about my lack of sleep and comfort, ended my trip being told "sorry about about" with no explanation or genuine apology. worst hotel I have stayed at. good price though!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2014 by David, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your review