Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In the right location for onward travel

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Overall I was very pleased with our stay and the facilities - my only comment was when we were directed to our room from reception the instruction used was just out of the door, there was no comment of the quite long walk through the carpark, and no mention of where the lift was for going to the 2nd floor. I had a problem with my breakfast but the staff there were excellent and offered to sort it out for me straight away.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Markfrom Felixstowe

Poor nights sleep!

Posted Jan 19, 2015 on Hotels.com
Having stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions, this was by far the worst. The room had paper thin walls, and a very noisy neighbour who kept me awake half the night. I'll be looking to book elsewhere next time.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Switzerland

One of the worst hotel experiences

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: It's location.
Cons: Most things.
Location: It was convenient during our journey.
We only stayed one night thankfully. When we arrived at approx six in the evening we were informed that the restaurant was closed due to "it being very quiet and not worth opening". When we eventually found our room in another building the temperature was very low inside and the window was streaming with condensation so we turned on the air heating and walked up the road to the nearest pub for a meal. We both felt quite cold after our walk back in very cold weather so decided it would be nice to warm up in the shower (no bath) but this was not possible as the water was only lukewarm. In the morning the water was still only lukewarm and when we complained to the girl at reception she said she was aware of this and was sorry. The breakfast was fine but the three staff spent most of the time sitting down and talking instead of clearing tables etc.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Adamfrom worcester

Not the best by far

Posted Nov 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel from the front is nice along with reception and bar, however room was poor and bathroom shower and fan did not work, did report to reception but they didn't seem to care much
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jacqueline

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by daviesfrom carmarthenshire

only ok

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
poor breakfast, first room allocated was smelly, but moved with no problems, restaurant was closed waited by bar for 10 min and left before someone came. walked into the village and had an ok meal there. not worth the money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by David, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your review of the hotel - I was sorry to read that you had some issues duiring your stay. I have forward your feedback to the relevant head of department to ensure that the team take on board your feedback. Best regards David
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Swansea.

Not getting what you expect.

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: The entire experience was a let down right from the start. Some of the staff were really helpful.
Cons: Décor requires major upgrade, cleanliness in the kitchen area & pricing structure.
Location: Location is ideal & plenty to do in Lakeside & Bluewater Shopping Centres.
After viewing the rooms on your website & expecting to get these rooms, we were most disappointed when we saw what was allocated to us. We had 3 rooms booked for 2 nights & when we first opened our room doors we were met with a damp / musty smell. The rooms were not the rooms which was advertised on your website. Out of the 3 rooms each room had their own faults: ie lights not working, stains all over the carpets, curtains & chairs but to name a few. When we ordered our food in the so called sports bar ( because the restaurant had a wedding function going on ) our food was of poor quality. Once reported to the duty manager he did try to resolve the issues but by that time we had lost our appetites. My wife & I attended breakfast the following morning which in itself was reasonably ok until our daughter joined us, which at that point found a cockroach type of beetle in her napkin which had her knife & fork in. When this again was shown to the duty manager my daughter asked him what he was going to do with this bug to which he replied " I`m not touching that " & walked off. It was at this point we approached the reception & informed the receptionist of our issues. This receptionist did take note & agreed to reimburse us for the breakfast & also agreed to move our rooms. When we returned from our days outing we did find that we had been allocated different rooms which were the rooms advertised on the website.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Markfrom Saint Paul

Good Value Hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
I enjoyed my stay at this hotel that was reasonably priced. Rooms are very nice and the service is pretty good. This hotel sits on a very nice piece of property. The hotel restaurant is decent but you need a 10 pound cab ride to go to another choice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by David, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your review of the hotel - I was pleased to read you had enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope you come back to stay wit h us when you are next in the area. Best regards David
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Carl_Sfrom Germany

Suited my needs

Posted Sep 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Having stayed at this hotel a number of times over the years, I still like to use it and can see the improvements they've made. I've always found that hotel rooms are generally to hot so having an AC unit always makes the stay better. I didn't eat at the hotel as I know the area and where to go but what they charge for breakfast makes me cringe.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by David, Hotel Management
Many thanks for reviewing the hotel- I am grateful that you choose to stay with us when you are in the area. Best regards David
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Markfrom Saint Paul

Posted Sep 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice Hotel. Decent location. Great value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by David, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your review