Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

awful

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: nothing
i booked a room for an employee as he was working in colchester..he amailed me his comments...see below: Mark just to let you know the hotel in Colchester was not very nice the room was filthy the bedding was dirty and smelled damp and no towels supplied with the room the reception staff said the room cleaning was contracted out to cleaners. I would give this hotel 2 out of 10.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

nice room, shame about the food

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely staff, very clean, spacious room. Dire food that I feel agreeved to have paid for. I highly recommend staying her and eating somewhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Essex

Rather impressed

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
We wasn't expecting an amazing hotel for the amount we paid but we were relatively surprised. We obviously wasn't expecting the ritz but the staff were friendly, the food wasn't badly priced (it wasn't the most amazing meal but it was okay), the room was clean (although the toilet had a few issues with flushing) and a nice size. It was also just off the a12 which was ideal. All in all, I would recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good stay

Posted Jun 4, 2014
excellent accommodation, cannot believe it was so quiet, food good, staff helpful, room clean and tidy, as you would want. Bed really comfortable. A little hard to find in truth, but would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by lins from Gloucester

Good value and ideal for business travellers

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
I've now stayed at the hotel three times, always for business in Colchester. This is a cut above the likes of Travelodge and provides all you need for business travel, including free Wi-Fi. Meals are reasonably priced and staff very friendly. The interior could do with a lick of paint and the pothopotholes in the car park need to be filled, but no complaints otherwise.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by shane from dublin

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff were very friendly and helpful.. hotel was cheap and cheerful.. bit out of town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Clean, Comfy bed, wifi and a TV

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Not much else to say, breakfast is very expensive for what it is, the rooms are clean and wifi is fine. Pub down the road does great food. beds are comfy and it is quiet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by scott

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by chris from essex

nice hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice hotel nice location nice staff very pleasant stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Lin from Gloucestershire

Convenient, comfortable, but needs some TLC

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed three nights for business for the second time. Reception staff are friendly and efficient and the room was clean and comfy. My only negative comment would be that things seem slightly shabby, with marked doors and worn carpets. Good location, though, and useful location for travel, being just off A12.