Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Andrewfrom Manchester

Great Food

Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fantastic Food and staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Pamelafrom London

Tasty, tidy, quaint... but HOT!

Posted Oct 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great stay - lovely old inn. Only issue is that an old building is pretty toasty warm. A fan in the room would be the simple fix aand then it is perfect. Lovely place, awesome food, lovely room, clean, nice staff, top brekkie, just hot... If you like it warm it's perfect for you and if they add a fan to the room it's perfect for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Disley,Cheshire

Wonderful country hotel.

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Every aspect had been well thought out...
Very tasteful room,superbly set out with well coordinated bedding and fittings..My wife thought that the fish and chips were the most tasty she had ever had! I have to agree.. Breakfast was a delight really tasty coffee and a great selection of pastries, fruit and cooked items.. Staff really friendly and helpful at all times.A hotel that we can thoroughly recommend.in a picturesque village......
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Katefrom Scotland

Very friendly and helpful staff.

Posted Mar 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Small and quirky hotel, full of character with very friendly and helpful staff. Especially Jo who printed off driving instructions for us and was always smiling and efficient. Special mention should be made of the breakfasts where it was so nice to have great bread used for toast, there was no soggy horrible pre-sliced bread. Only down side would be if you were tall (low door ways) or a very light sleeper as old buildings don't have the same sound proofing as modern.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by bobfrom halesworth

Posted Dec 11, 2013
excellent nothing was to much trouble
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Sandra Bfrom Cheshire

Not as expected.

Posted Jun 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nowhere near as good as previous reviewers have claimed. The staff are friendly and helpful but this was the only plus point. Our room was at the front and even though this is a small village it has a high volume of noisy passing traffic. The room furnishings were all 'antique' and mostly rather peculiar. The jute carpet was so worn as to be literally a death trap, with large areas of exposed, loose, thick fibre loops. We had to use the bathmat to cover the very worst parts at the side of the bed. Dinner was ok, but at breakfast I had the worst Eggs Benedict I have ever experienced - half a stale muffin with a cold rock hard poached egg and a piece of tough ham covered in a truly revolting sauce purporting to be hollandaise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Juliefrom West Yorkshire, UK

Good hotel for couples

Posted Jun 12, 2013
Pros: Staff were really friendly and helpful
Cons: Some cliental in the bar using bad language
Location: Lovely village location, very near to Colchester. We were visiting Beth Chatto's garden in Essex it about 30 mins drive.
Staff very friendly. Hotel clean and welcoming. Room comfortable needed a bit of dusting. Food very good. Courtyard garden lovely for before dinner drinks. Really enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by idefournyfrom belgium

Very nice!

Posted Apr 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was looking forward to this overnight, as I had seen great reviews. They don't offer rewards for the stay here (hotels.com) which did not stop me from booking, but would have been a nice perk. Very nice staff, who accommodated my early check-in request. This is probably the reason why the room was not 100% perfect, but that's okay, cause I needed it. Excellent food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Howden

Posted Jul 9, 2012 on Hotels.com
Quality hotel. Road noise a bit of a problem.