Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chelmsford

Nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Great very friendly staff.Nice hotel,would recommend to anyone.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west midlands

Nice hotel, very friendly owners, good breakfast

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Easy check in. Very friendly. Very convenient for beach and town. Really good breakfast. Our only moan was the room a bit dark and chilly and the ensuite very small
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

rude owners

Posted Jun 8, 2015
I have never in my life been asked for an arrival time when staying in any accommodation ever. On the day of my arrival I was texted and asked for my ETA, I replied - around 7pm? - I was then asked to inform them if I will be late at they have "a meeting" so already, My journey starts and I'm very conscious that I can't just turn up at my leisure, it's already about them. after a 3 hour drive and inhaling my roadside dinner, in order to not be late for my ETA that is now, apparently set in stone, I arrive. I ring the bell, wait... I ring again and again and I keep waiting then eventually I call the number on the door at which time a grumpy man answered the door and asked "was that you ringing?" Yes, I was ringing the bell and the phone I said. The guy then went on to argue that he only heard the bell ring once, he simply would not accept that I had been waiting more than a few minutes and he was very enthusiastic to argue the point. It was quickly distinguished that I had booked a single room instead of a double for me and my daughter, as I mentally absorbing my reception and the fact that I have booked the wrong room the owner then turns and says (as I am walking through the threshold, in a sarcastic tone "what, you having a bad or something??" I was so taken aback... Unbelievable, if I had not already paid I woild have cancelled
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by margaret from enfield

margaret & keith

Posted May 6, 2015 on Hotels
Very pleasant weekend good service will definitely do it again good location for beach and town centre
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

not the warmest of welcomes

Posted Mar 4, 2015 on Hotels
Main issue is with the less than welcoming staff who took a while to win over (should I have to do that?) To the extent that when I told them I had no hot water in the morning I was basically put on trial until proved right. At which point there was acknowledgment I was right but no apology or discount offered.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Shame the B&B could not accomodate the family

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Despite giving the details of the children at the time of booking the sleeping arranmgents provided by the B&B was not suitable for the age of the children. Not sure if fault lay with Expedia or B&B.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Mark from Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

A Nice Suprise !!

Posted Nov 9, 2014 on Hotels
Barry and Liz are wonderful hosts and the location is nice and central. Ensure you have the awesome breakfast, its a great place to meet other traveller. Will be back. Mark Blaney
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Chris from Holyhead

Good decor!

Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels
High quality decor, including lots of interesting paintings and prints on the walls; and good breakfast. Otherwise, fairly standard B&B. Single rooms are fairly basic. Note: anybody thinking of stating more than a couple of days should note that there is no daily housekeeping and there is no residents lounge. In summary, good for a short stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hove UK

Wedding stay

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Good location for reception and free parking available
Cons: Room was a little cold, en-suite a little cramped
Location: It's in Clacton! Wedding was at the Martello Tower, Jaywick...reception at The Ocean, seafront
Good value for money, nice breakfast. What's not to like?