Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Conveniently placed hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: The staff were very friendly - the bar man on Saturday evening was brilliant and couldn't do enough for us.
Cons: Air conditioning in the rooms and some soft drinks in the room.
We stayed here for one night on route to Colchester - we knew about the location having plane noise but having arrived at 19:00 on a Saturday evening it really wasn't as bad as I was expecting !! Rooms were clean - we had a small room but it had everything we needed. We had a great stay here
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Janey from Gosport

beautiful setting

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
only stayed one night on route to somewhere else the reception staff werre very helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mark from Bury st Edmunds

GREAT PLACE TO STAY IF FLYING FROM STANSTEAD

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Brilliant hotel, great rooms and really good service. Nice place to stay before you fly out from Stanstead
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lack lustre

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Not too from Stansted Aiport, so convenient if you can find it. But in direct flight path so jet noise is very loud. Wifi not working in rooms as with nearly every hotel. Come on, wise up hotels. Travelers need wifi. Breakfast was trad English so nostaglic but heart attack fodder. Rooms and bathrooms looking a little dated and 80's.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Peter from Hove

If only..

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
If only the hotel wasn't under a flightpath...the stay was great, the superior room in the stable block fantastic, the meal and especially the service superb..the only problem it has is it is directly under the runway flightpath. For our stay the aircraft were taking off above us so at full power and pretty noisy all evening at 2-3 min intervals. I expect when the wind changes and they land on the same runway it's fine as they would be at idle. There were quiet periods and even after one night you kind of get used to it - but it wasn't the best night's sleep we have ever had.. apart from that a very nice place
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Convenient location

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Everything except the aircraft noise.
Location: We stayed at the hotel to visit Duxford airshow and the hotel was well situated.
Because the hotel is on the flight path and very close to Stanstead airport there was a lot of noise from low flying aircraft. Take ear plugs if you want a lie in. This was the only drawback as everything else was ok. Rooms were well furnished, clean, and modern.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Simon S from Redhill

Lovely hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful hotel and gardens, only spoilt by aircraft noise
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by evertonderek from Cannock

Great hotel, shame about the planes

Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is the best hotel i have stayed in in essex. The rooms, staff and location to the M11 are all fantastic. Only negative is plane noise but for the rate totally bearable.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Honest Reviewer from Lichfield

Didn't get to stay in the main house,

Posted Jun 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was really disappointed with this hotel, when I booked with hotel.com it said the regular rate was very high (into the hundreds with NO facilities), I paid a considerable lower rate, but I would not have paid anymore per night, especially as I was situated in a building in a car park, (a very dangerous road) the room and bathroom was very small, the water and front door slamming was nosey on top of the flight path for stanstead airport.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels.com