Ratings based on 282 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Boston MA

Posted Dec 24, 2014
This place is so sweet, great food, indoor pool, Stuff is so polite. Great place to rest in peace.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal Quebec CANADA

Very nice place.

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: The staff was very friendly but then again so is everyone in Vermont :) Conveniently located and the room had Keuring machine which was very nice.
Cons: Although you can purchase their pastries in the lobby (over-priced) why not give each guest a free croissant. Surely they can do that.
Location: If you appreciate the country side this is your place....and shopping isn't far either. The stores weren't too packed so it was nice.
Vermont is so picturesque and quite lovely to drive through. We were there to shop and the Essex Hotel is very conveniently located for outlet shopping, University Mall, Church St Marketplace. Nothing is too far away and within a 10 min drive. Our room was located in the Manor building which was very nice. I didn't see the interior of the other buildings so can't really comment beyond the Manor and the Lobby. Although we never ate at the Essex I did notice their menus were a little too pricey (especially in USD funds); this was no problem as we were always elsewhere shopping and our room had Keurig machines with a nice assortment of coffee/tea. If there was anything negative it was being charged the resort fee (and what they call final charges ???) at time of check out...I wasn't expecting an additional fee of $23 USD so I feel I didn't really save much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This hotel goes the extra mile.

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Pool and hot tub.
Cons: Be clear upon check in that the spa fee is charged regardless of whether you use those facilities or not. Several annoying little fees on the bill.
Location: Easy trip in to Burlington to see the sights.
One young man went out of his way to find an HDMI cable that I needed (after having been told by other staff that none was available). Another cheerful young man was available to shuttle me 10 miles so I didn't have to drive to an unfamiliar place at night. Tasty meal at the Tavern. Good experience all around. The mattress in my room was squishy and uncomfortably soft, but other than that, all was fine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Facilities

Posted Nov 13, 2014
I enjoyed the spa facilities and the pool. I was disappointed that the tennis courts weren't available. Prior to visiting I had called and had asked about the courts. When I spoke to the hotel staff about a week before my trip they did not inform me that the nets had been taken down and the courts were not well kept.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tambor Costa Rica

Beautiful Location

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Just spend one night on my way to the airport. Pleasantly surprised because I felt the price was very reasonable. Had dinner in the foundry, very good and super atmosphere.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

What a disappointment

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Food, and house cleaning
Location: Did not stay long enough to comment.
I was under the impression the hotel was renowned for it s mastery in the culinary arts? Being not only a hotel but a culinary school, for lack of a better word the kitchen will leave you with a bad taste in your mouth. Very poor preparation and presentation of the pitiful menu. The rooms were quaint to say the least and quite pleased till I pulled back the duvet and found an enormous unsanitary stain on the bed sheet? Fortunately the room came with two queen size beds so not to cause a fuss we slept in the alternate bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fort Lee

What a nice treat.

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: The room we stayed!
Cons: We didnt find any ice machine or bending machines.
We booked through Expedia and I didnt know how to inform of our dog we at the time. They probably have a separate building or area for guest with pets, so they had to change my room when I told them at the check in. They gave us a very nice room with big jet tub for no extra charge. I never stayed bigger room than the one we stayed this time. Now that we know they are pet friendly, we are going to come back for more memorable time very soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom MA

Orange is the new Black

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: THE JUNCTION that's about it!
Cons: Furniture in the room was falling apart, Fireplace needs to blow heat, bathroom fan, skilled staff that know how to be kind to guests.
Location: Great antique shops! Fabulous fall scenes! NIce pool and hot tub.
We were greeted by a young man who was so sick and coughing all over us! That was pleasant. I'm not sure how I booked into a bright orange room..I would never even book a bright orange room! The pics on the reservation site are very deceiving. The furniture was falling apart. The fireplace was a dud, the bathroom fan didn't work, it took a long time to figure out the heat and even a longer time for it to decide to turn on. It was expensive. The office staff was rude. When I asked where the ice maching is, they looked at me and asked if I was even staying in this section of the hotel. The only saving grace on this trip, was the phenomenal meal that we had at THE JUNCTION restaurant. I would say, one of the best meals I have had in my life. I hope the Junction moves out of the Essex and becomes it's own entity!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Close to the Expo center and very nice!

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Good layout, nice property.
Cons: First night the restaurant got busy and they were not able to handle it. Second night they were fine. That was the only wrinkle.
Location: 18 hole executive golf across the street with full practice area. Didn't get to play, but it's gorgeous.
Very comfortable. Fitness center and pool open 5 am to 10 pm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels.com