Ratings based on 302 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Hampshire

Very nice, very comfortable - just perfect for me.

Posted Apr 8, 2015
The room was just perfect - everything was very clean and nice. Great dinner and breakfast downstairs in the Tavern.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Beautiful place.

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: It was clean and people were very nice.
Nothing to complain. We had a luxurious room because it was a special occasion and we paid for it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Great place great staff can't wait to go back my wife and I had a great time in Vermont
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place beautiful area

Posted Mar 15, 2015
I would go back again. The bed was comfortable the room was nice. The pool was huge and nice outdoor jacuzzi.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Although we had a nice time the room sure could use some updating. The furniture was literally thread bare and the mattress sagged. The spa is nice but not sure why you have to pay $20 a day if you are already paying for the room and a treatment
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pierrefrom Repentigny QC

Great food and peaceful & relaxing

Posted Jan 14, 2015 on Hotels.com
Very quiet room Will be back shorthly!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom NY,NY

Wonderful Experence

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: The food, Dog friendly, Child friendly
Cons: The walk to the spa/pool- should be heated
Location: There is so much to see and do, but you do need a car to do everything,
My family and I made a last minute decision to go away for couple of days during the New Years break. We needed a dog and child friendly place, and wanted to be close to the major ski areas, shopping, entertainment, and good restaurants. The Essex meet these criteria's and so much more. Through out the hotel the staff is so helpful and friendly. The resort is VERY DOG friendly, but you wouldn't even know there were dogs staying there because they pride themselves on cleanliness. Our room was very nice. We would have been slightly more happy with bigger beds, but they were comfortable. The spa was relaxing and super clean. The services were a 5 star quality. We used the indoor pool since it is winter, the chlorine was not overwhelming, and the pool was spotless. The meal that we ate at their signature restaurant Junction, was the highlight of the hotel. OMG!!!! Some of the best eats by far. My only real gripe was the walk from the main hotel to the Spa/Pool, its really cold in VT during the winter, and regardless how short of a walk you need to take outside, its outside and its cold. Overall, I would definitely recommend this resort as well as visit it again myself.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Holidays

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: All
Cons: Add breakfast to room service
Location: :)
Great experience with the spa(hot top and swimming pool) and comfortable room
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Antonio

Stay over the Christmas 2014 holiday

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: The design and the Junction Room.
Location: Location was fine. Near many services and easy access to the local towns and city.
The hotel is very nice although hot water took no less than five minutes to reach my shower upon each use. When I called the front desk the staff told me that "it's just that way here". The food and service in the Junction Room was superb. The food in the Tavern was OK. The service in the Tavern was amateurish. The breakfast Hollandaise sauce was terrible, and when I told the wait staff she said others had rejected it this morning too. A problem that was not addressed on the first few complaints. I asked for no potatoes yet it was delivered not once but twice. When I reminded the waitress that I did not want potatoes she said in a very loud voice "What, are you allergic to potatoes?" When I said yes, she continued to talk about my allergies so all could hear. Rather embarrassing. Upon checkout I was asked about my stay. I said it was OK. Then a young man took out a piece of paper and with a sigh said "So what was wrong?". I informed him I would write a proper critique. The hotel charges a resort fee of twenty dollars per day. Understandable when the amenities can be used. But in the winter, especially when it rained the entire stay, it should have been waived. I would recommend a stay here if the items mentioned here are addressed.