Ratings based on 325 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, MA

Quaint town and quiet surroundings.

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Quiet, peaceful
Cons: Resort fee options
Location: Only stayed overnight, didn't have much opportunity to check out the area
We only stayed for one night (we were touring a nearby college with our daughter). The Essex was very peaceful, friendly staff, and although we didn't bring our dog...we couldn't help but notice how pet-friendly the hotel and surrounding towns are! Wish we could have taken advantage of the pool, spa, and other amenities. The resort fee was only $20, but not having the time to utilize the offerings due to our schedule, short visit, and check in - check out times. Perhaps they could modify this fee based on amount of time at the hotel, just a thought.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Fantastic food; gorgeous location; nice rooms. A lovely place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Travel for business. Good food at average price in tavern. Nice poll and spa. Room outlets and desk a bit impractical.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VERMONT

NOT WHAT IT ONCE WAS

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: LOCATION WAS IDEAL FOR OUR STAY AS WE WERE ATTENDING AN EVENT AT THE CHAMPLAIN EXPO 2 MILES AWAY FROM THE INN. GARDENS WERE LOVELY.
Cons: ADDRESS THE ISSUES ABOVE.
Location: DID NOT HAVE TIME TO TAKE ADVANTAGE OF ALL THE RESORT HAD TO OFFER.
FIRST THING I NOTICED WHEN I ENTERED THE LOBBY WAS A REFRIGERATED PASTRY CASE WITH DRIED OUT QUICHE AND PASTRIES THAT LOOKED LIKE THEY HAD BEEN IN THERE A FEW DAYS. THEY WERE STILL IN THE CASE THE NEXT MORNING WHEN WE LEFT. OUR ROOM WAS ABOVE THE RESTAURANT. THE NOISE, COMING FROM, AIR CONDIDIONER UNITS AND REFRIGERATOR UNITS/GENERATORS WAS SO LOUD THAT FIXTURES IN OUR BATHROOM WERE RATTLING. WE ASK TO BE MOVED BUT WERE TOLD THAT THE INN WAS COMPLETELY SOLD OUT. I ASK THE MANAGER IF ANYONE ELSE HAD EVER COMPLAINED ABOUT THE NOISE IN THIS PARTICULAR ROOM SHE SAID NO ONE HAD EVER COMPLAINED. SHE DID OFFER TO REMOVE THE $25 RESORT FEE AND GAVE US FREE BREAKFAST COUPONS. INN WAS NOT SPOTLESS. UPON INSPECTION, THE MIRROR IN OUR BATHROOM ABOVE THE SINK & THE GLASS SHELF ABOVE THE SINK STILL HAD WATER MARKS AND SMUDGES FROM PREVIOUS GUESTS. AND THERE WRE STAINS ON THE LINES AND ONE CHAIR. WHILE THE FOOD WAS GOOD, BOTH AT DINNER AND BREAKFAST, SERVICE WAS VERY SLOW.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2015
great place. bed in room too soft; bathroom sink counter needs enlarging.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from aa

Poor service

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Awful service but they offered a free breakfast! Bla bla Bla
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Quiet location Easily accessible Nicely decorated / comfortable room Helpful staff Adequate amenities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingston NH

Great food

Posted Jun 29, 2015
The only complaint is the mattress was not comfortable
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Above my needs.

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Spacious and clean.
Cons: Experienced staff.
Location: Quiet location and close to amenities although not within walking distance.
I did not book for the resort experience so I did not appreciate the additional fees for services I did not use or require. The room I booked was not as requested. Staff is young and inexperienced. This is a family resort so I do not recommend it for "passer bys".
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Wonderful

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: Location was great, it is well maintained, and is very charming
Cons: The weather could have been nicer.
Location: Plenty to do in nearby Burlington. Far enough outside of town to be quiet.
Our stay at the Essex was peaceful and relaxing. The staff was courteous, the room was impeccable, and the location was perfect as we were visiting St. Michael's. The indoor pool was warm and inviting. We plan to return some time to take advantage of the spa and the cooking expos.