Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Austin, TX

Terrible hotel on a great beach

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: On a truly fantastic beach which was very quite and private. The beach is long and wide and generally quite clean. Kids loved the beach.
Cons: The rooms need major renovations. The restaurant should use higher quality ingredients and offer more breakfast choices.
We stayed at Monterey del Mar for 4 nights. The hotel room was in very poor condition; it seems the place is coming apart. There was a leak through the bathroom wall into the main room closet. All of the furniture appeared to be old and of poor quality; the dresser drawers would not open/close easily. The porch light did not work. There were not enough blankets for the family and the hotel staff did not bring any despite requests to do so. The breakfast was the worst of the 4 hotels we stayed in - in Costa Rica and by a large margin. The breakfast selection was very small; it seemed they went out of their way to seek out the poorest and cheapest quality ingredients. Other than the one staff member at the front desk and an occasional cleaner, we never saw any staff on the premises; the place appeared to be operating on a bare minimum of staff members.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Great beach and friendly staff

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Pros: The location and the staff. It was great for families, even those with small children.
Cons: The beach was also short on seating and needed umbrellas to protect you from the sun. No shade for most of the day.
Location: Close to a couple National Parks and crocodile watching.
This resort is not perfect, but it had a lot of charm and the current owners seem dedicated to transforming it into something more special. The staff were, by far, the friendliest people we encountered in Costa Rica and the beach was fabulous. The location suited us because it was close enough to amenities but had a feeling of being much more remote than in actuality.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2014
the worst hotels we stayed at on our trip. Not only was the front desk lady unwelcoming and unfriendly, she tried to give us a down graded room. When I showed her the reservation indicating we had paid for a bungalow and not a standard room she tried to say that they were the same thing. After consenting to give us the room we paid for, we found the room had no electricity to it, no phones to call the front desk, no water glasses, bleach stained towels and dead bugs on the floor. We walked back to the front desk, told the lady we had no electricity and she somewhat rolled her eyes and called the maintenance guy to come fix it. We booked two nights at this hotel and barely stayed the first night and left first thing in the morning. Do not stay at this hotel!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Needs improvement

Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great beach, great staff and service - hotel badly in need of maintenance, location needs a car as is it is in far from any major town. Can me a beautiful property of management decides to make it so.,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Nice and quiet close to the beach. Will tell others about it and will be coming back. .........................................................
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lynnfrom Santa Ana

Beautiful Beach Getaway away from the Crowds

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice accommodations. The hotel is about 15 minutes south of Playa Hermosa and 25 minutes south of Jaco. Nothing around but the this hotel and the beach and few neighbors. Great beaches all to yourself.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Stefanfrom Deutschland

ausgezeichnetes Hotel abseits vom Touri Hochburgen

Posted Mar 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Ein ausgezeichnetes Hotel abseits von den Touristenhochburgen Jacob / Quepos, perfect zum Ausspannen. Freundliches Personal, die Bungalows sind zweckmäßig ausgestattet mit viel Platz. Die Bungalows mit Meerblick sind unbedingt wegen der Anordnung der Klimaanlagen vorzuziehen, ansonsten kann es auf der Terrasse unangenehm laut werden. Der kilometerlanger schwarze Strand ist sehr lehr. Ein Auto ist ein Muss, da sich Restaurants der Umgebung zum Essengehen anbieten. Anderseits ist man ohne Auto sehr aufgeschmissen, da das Hotel sehr abgelegen ist. Eine Vielfahl von Aktivitäten ist alles innerhalb von 30-60 Minuten Autofahrt zu erreichen. Kein Kühlschrank im Bungalow! Aber die Bar serviert einer der besten Planter's Punch welche ich je getrunken habe.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Daniela

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jamesfrom Orlando

Great Beach

Posted Feb 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very friendly people made you feel at home. The best thing is the beach, all sand and no stones and secluded. The ocean was clear, clean and just the right temperature. If you surf the ocean there has some nice waves and you can rent a board right there at the hotel. The only thing I didn't like was that it in the middle of no where, which may be a plus for others.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by guslemmefrom argentina

Lejano a manuel Antonio

Posted Feb 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
desayuno deficiente