Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brasil

Internet and Restaurant.

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Not internet in the room. The main dish was served cool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Chase Wellesfrom NY"C

so much fun

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
we loved it - you can explore the whole castle
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Two thumbs up

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Great place and sweet little old town. Was a bit quiet but we enjoyed this..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

kim

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Gorgeous castle on a hill. Getting through the gates was a wakeup adventure. Lovely strcturr. Lovely food and people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Annefrom Perth, Australia

Restored medieval castle

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: Beautiful, & comfortable historical castle. The buffet breakfast - fantastic. Restaurant - a superb setting.
Cons: I requested a double bed for husband & myself, but were given singles permanently separate. Didn't worry as had colds.
Location: It is the highest point in the walled town. It is a popular wine growing region & known for its sheep cheese & smoked sausage.
We stayed 2 nights. Beds and room were very comfortable and quiet. We ate at the restaurant both nights, wanting to make the most of our beautiful surroundings. Service the first night was exceptional. The soups were perfect ( as we both had colds) couldn't get through second course. We really felt at home. We had also previously stayed at Pousada de Obidos, from same chain, which was also a wonderful castle experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by picky travellerfrom USA

Posted Apr 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
A lovely hotel in a palace, filled with amazing antiques. Very pleasant and helpful staff, overall a wonderful place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by robnat

Historic Stay

Posted Feb 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was a great stay , worth every penny to spend a night in such a magnificent building and with such lovely furnishings. Everything was great the setting the kind staff and the wonderful breakfast. Easy and free to park too !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jefffrom UK

Great Location for tour the area

Posted Jan 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very historic hotel and we really enjoyed it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
hotel was beautiful , service friendly and professional. absolutely loved the experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Richardfrom USA

A magnificent palace

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hilltop location, the quality of restoration, the large rooms overlooking the town and surrounding countryside, and the thoughtful and impressive room furnishings of this magnificent palace hotel are reason enough to travel out of one's way to visit Estremoz. Although the hotel is somewhat removed from the center of town, it is really self-contained and both dinner and breakfast at its restaurant was excellent (as was the restaurant service). The pool, too, is pleasantly located and just large enough for lap swimming. Our only complaint was that the bed was a bit too firm. It would be nice to have a few rooms available with slightly softer mattresses and twin beds.