Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Hampshire,England

Posted May 9, 2015
Pros: Excellent restaurant Champagne breakfast Strolls around the garden
Location: Champagne area Gastronomy and wine tasting
A great stay in this lovely historic chateau. Would recommend dining in the Orangery and the champagne breakfast. Excellent service and comfy beds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom chester

Gourmet stay

Posted May 7, 2015
Fabulous food in heart of France. The special food deal "EscApe" was a rare opportunity to sample the very best
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Great stop-over and more

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Lovely, tasteful and traditional hotel with a very good restaurant. Staff are extremely courteous. If you are a light sleeper or don't like water sounds while you sleep, ask to stay in the Orangery, above the restautant. We miss the cooked breakfast of many years ago!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado, USA

Charming chateau with moat (& swan!)

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Pretty much everything. The restaurant should not be missed.
Location: The village of Etoges itself is very small. There is one pub, on the main road, with an amazing old fireplace.
I chose the Chateau for the last day of my European trip based on its proximity to Epernay. Upon arrival I was immediately impressed by the charm and antiquity of this hotel. It is 800 or 900 years old! The gracious staff welcomed me in English and spent a few minutes explaining the amenities. I was shown to my upgraded room overlooking the gardens and fountains (with a stone sculpture of a bathing woman). I spent a few hours admiring the surrounding village, with ancient stone houses, narrow streets, naturally fed spring fountains, and lace curtained windows. I met some local chickens, and walked through the local vinyards. At dinnertime, I enjoyed literally one of the best meals of my life - a completely unexpected treat. I slept soundly to the sound of doves cooing. In the morning, the desk clerk helped me figure out how to work my car and gave me a stack of maps to help me see attractions on the way back to Paris. While the rooms and building are furnished in a historical style, the bathrooms are modern. Wifi is available everywhere on the grounds. If you are coming to Champagne, I highly recommend stopping here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Wales

One night stop over

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Pros: Convenient
Cons: update the rooms, add more channels on TV
Location: The hotel is located in a village with vineyards around it.
We stopped over just for one night. It was convenient stop over with free parking and wi-fi. The room was clean but very dated as and whole hotel. Food experience was interesting, I had special request and chef prepared the meal which wasn't on a menu. I wouldn't spend any more then one night because there are nothing around. Very quiet and peaceful area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

고성체험

Posted Mar 3, 2015
호텔이라기 보단 영주의 성(Castle)에서 자는 느낌이네요 전체적으로 클래식한 분위기의 침실 그리고 침실보단 역시 정원이 압권 직원도 품격있어 보이고
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Lincolnshire

Lovely location, settiing and relaxing ambience.

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Character, setting, ambience, location, friendly and accommodating.
Cons: Breakfast could be more varied. Not enough choice for children considering the cost. Wild ducks on moat - very noisy during night.
Location: Sits in the village of Etoges, within its own grounds. Has shop etc. In the middle of Champagne area for tour. Not far from Epernay and Reims.
Took family over for a few days to help with eldest childs French before the commencment of GCSE exams. Upon arrival, were shown around the hotel and given a brief history to the Chateau, then on to our rooms. Both rooms were comfortable and more than adequate for a few days stay. Breakfast was a typical French breakfast, with plenty of coffee, juices and champagne, (pricey so make sure you have plenty). We decided rather than stay in the Hotel, we would go and follow parts of the Champagne route (hotel explained that most places are closed until March, but some would have their gates open). We toured around following the route and stopped off in Epernay for lunch. (Be aware that the food is pricey for run of the mill receipes). Upon our return we visited a local vinyard (just around the corner from Chateau), and tasted various different champagnes. The owner and his father were very welcoming and even offered our son to go back during the grape harvest and work for a week to help with his french! We were shown around the distillery and the different processes required for the production of champagne from grape to bottle. (Very informative considering my limited knowledge of French). We stayed at the chateau for evening meal and dined in the Orangery. Lovely embience and very attentive waiters. Next day we departed for home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Martinefrom Sens

Belle surprise

Posted Feb 16, 2015 on Hotels.com
Accueil très sympathique avec visite des lieux. Chambre très confortable comprenant un petit salon, une salle de bain ainsi qu'un cabinet de toilette. Très bonne table également.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Eric

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 4, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by marc

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 25, 2014 on Hotels.com