Ratings based on 605 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, OR

It was alright for one night stay.

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: Noise level of rooms. (train, customers next door etc), loud bathroom fan, toilet kept running and needed to be taken care. Some wall art.
Location: It is in a great location because you can walk to restaurants, you are fairly close to the U of O.
The staff was very friendly and efficient. The room was adequate but nothing special about it. It was a little loud being next to a train track and we could hear noises from the room next to ours which was annoying.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

People nice/Renovations not so nice

Posted Apr 11, 2015
The employees were great, the fresh baked cookies in the afternoon were a great touch. The breakfast was decent. The hotel is going through a major renovation. It was a little loud and a little chaotic. It wasn't terrible and I think it will be great when they are done, but I wouldn't stay there during the renovation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indianapolis

Central location to campus

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Hotel was undergoing renovations and wasn't done by 4/1/15 as advertised.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2015 by Courtny Osuna, Hotel Management
Hi Jamie- I am so sorry that you received incorrect information about our renovations. Unfortunately, like most construction projects our start/end dates have varied on a daily basis. With that being said, it is concerning that there are others advertising us to be completed by 4/1/15. I will do my best to find out and change that information to reflect correctly.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Rancho Santa Margarita, CA

Train

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: The staff are amazing.
Cons: Meet with the train companies to coordinate less activity in the wee hours of the night.
Location: Very close to the U of O and restaurants are within walking distance.
I have stayed at the Phoenix Inn numerous times in the past with no issues. This time was disappointing in that the trains went by all night long, every night and the conductor blew the whistle every time he went by. Needless to say, I had almost no sleep for two nights. Love the hotel staff and the location is great, but I could not take another night of the trains.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2015 by Courtny, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am so sorry to hear about the noisy trains. While booking your next stay, we can accommodate a more quiet location which sounds like you have had before. Please never hesitate to contact the front desk so we resolve any problems!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent customer service

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Free airport shuttle. We asked for a later checkout time and were accomodated witout any extra charges. When our flight ended up having a 4 hour delay, Liz offered a later shuttle and let us store our bags even though we had already checked out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2015 by Courtny, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind words! Liz is one of our gems at the front desk and so glad you got to experience such a hospitable stay. This is our exact goal here! Thank you again and see you soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vidalia, GA

Great hotel for visiting.

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: The beds were comfortable. The people were nice. The breakfast was adequate.
Cons: Construction was going on and I realize it couldn't be helped.
Location: It is very near the U of O. It is several blocks from downtown, but access is very easy to get most anywhere.
Our room had a small sitting area which was nice since we were visiting relatives. The room was comfortable and the hotel was convenient to the places we wanted to go.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2015 by Courtny, Hotel Management
Hi Patti- So glad our hotel fit your needs. We hope we can gain your loyalty for your future visits!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom boston

Weekend at the Phoenix

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Pros: Free pakinfg ,free internet, free breakfast.
Cons: Everything was great.
Location: There is great shopping and restaurants around.
The place is being renovated. The rooms are comfortable and the staff is very nice. I enjoyed breakfast every morning . The place is quiet and nice. Great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maryland

Close for why I was there

Posted Feb 27, 2015
I wanted to be able to walk to where I had meetings and this hotel provided that. My philosophy for all hotels is that it was a comfortable, clean place for me to be able to sleep, shower and take care of business. I was not there to take up residence, and this hotel provided me with all I needed,and I would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 26, 2015
The check in and out process was friendly, fast, and efficient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

clean, nice staff, close to food and shopping

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: clean, quiet, helpful staff.
Cons: there was a table in our room and it would have been nice to have two chairs so we could sit there and eat.
Location: close to campus and close to great eating.
stayed for a basketball game. Quiet room and comfortable. I always look for cleanliness in a room and I was not disappointed. Staff was extremely helpful with places to eat and directions for where we wanted to go. Really good breakfast.