Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Nice find in Eureka.

Posted Mar 2, 2015
We had a lovely large room and the breakfast was excellent. Would happily stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom penngrove

Very welcoming

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Wonderful staff, all kinds of extras, pet friendly, best time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Great place to relax. All the staff are very courteous - the first day we check-in, at the restaurant and when we check-out. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Gem of Eureka

Posted Nov 11, 2014
We had a suite on the third floor and it was lovely. The staff was gracious, and the hot breakfast of savory pancakes and a poached egg was outstanding. We would stay here again, as it was the best thing that Eureka had to offer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kortfrom Laguna Beach, CA.

A Gem in an evolving neighborhood

Posted Nov 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Carter House is an experience to stay in a resurrected property located in the Historic District of Eureka. The neighborhood appears to be in the process of much needed regentrification. Sitting across from the marina yet near dilapidated buildings and roaming homeless it is perhaps leading the area renovation. With multiple properties either restored or replicated the owners of the Carter House are clearly dedicated to preserving the area and its history. The staff are all exceptional and know customer service. We interacted with many, and everyone was warm and friendly, and wanted to know how our stay was going. The restaurant is top notch. We had a wonderful and perfectly prepared dinner and would eat there again without a second thought. I would expect it to be one of the goto places in town for special occasions. On our next trip through Eureka the Carter House will be our first choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Davefrom Eureka, CA

45th wedding anniversary

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Gracious, outstanding service in a perfectly maintained property. And a fine, fine restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Columbus, OH

Carter House Inn

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: Very lovely room. The staff were wonderful! Cleanliness was appreciated, too.
Cons: Provide enough "snacks" with the wine gathering from 4-5.
Location: Location was wonderful and centrally located so that we could walk easily to all the shops & restaurants.
Very enjoyable to be at this inn. Hotel Staff were excellent & helpful. Breakfast was wonderful. We were a little disappointed with the wine and "food items" from 4-5 pm. When we arrived around 5:20 or so most all the food was eaten by a group of people sitting on the comfy couches. We were provided delicious wine at the bar but no food items to snack on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by lorifrom ohio

Not really sure about this town???

Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
We loved the Carter House! the town seemed a little down in the dumps, but, when we found our Inn we were extremely happy! The area is historic and very small and cute. The harbor is picturesque. Loved everything about the inn! Bar was great, met a lot of nice locals. Food was fab in the restaurant. We would totally recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Markfrom Ipswich, England, UK

Great Hotel; excellent staff

Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Really enjoyed our stay with a considerate engaged staff. They were friendly and ready to offer advise. Callie booked us in and left a good impression of herself and your business. Friendly; professional and didn't feel like she was just discharging her responsibilities. Food in the restaurant was excellent and a highlight of our USA trip.