Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Gem of Eureka

Posted Nov 11, 2014
We had a suite on the third floor and it was lovely. The staff was gracious, and the hot breakfast of savory pancakes and a poached egg was outstanding. We would stay here again, as it was the best thing that Eureka had to offer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Columbus, OH

Carter House Inn

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: Very lovely room. The staff were wonderful! Cleanliness was appreciated, too.
Cons: Provide enough "snacks" with the wine gathering from 4-5.
Location: Location was wonderful and centrally located so that we could walk easily to all the shops & restaurants.
Very enjoyable to be at this inn. Hotel Staff were excellent & helpful. Breakfast was wonderful. We were a little disappointed with the wine and "food items" from 4-5 pm. When we arrived around 5:20 or so most all the food was eaten by a group of people sitting on the comfy couches. We were provided delicious wine at the bar but no food items to snack on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Very nice hotel near to downtown

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: Small and personal with nice decor and friendly staff
Cons: Nothing obvious
Location: About quarter mile from old town and harbor
I suspect that Carter House is the best hotel in Eureka - a town that has seen better days. Very nice decor, friendly and helpful staff and very well appointed rooms. The restaurant in the hotel was also excellent with nice food and a good selection of wines.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Davefrom San Jose

Eureka - we found it

Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Carter house inn/ eureka was perfect in every way. Have already recommended to our friends. Staff gets special kudos for friendliness, service and local knowledge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom D. C. area

Wonderful helpful staff. Room was pleasant.

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Loved being pampered with breakfast, happy hour, and evening tea and cookies.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kathrynfrom San Francisco

Helpful staff and delicious breakfast

Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Highly recommend this hotel as the most elegant and sophisticated in the area. The staff were especially gracious and helpful. We enjoyed their afternoon appetizers and tasty breakfast. The room was comfortable and well appointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Service and friendliness of staff, lovely bar and hotel layout. Lovely little touches e.g. coffee and biscuits and a glass of wine on arrival.
Cons: Nothing really. Bathroom was a bit small and not that practical but only a minor thing really when compared to the rest of the hotel. all very lovely.
Location: In old town Eureka but Eureka not really a destination. More of a convenient place to stop to access other attractions.
Beautiful hotel. Excellent service, staff and food. Some lovely extras too. Bathroom small but apart from that, really very lovely indeed. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robertfrom Naples FL

30th Anniversary

Posted Aug 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were greeted with a glass of wine since we arrive after the afternoon wine and cheese get together. The room was great...I was concern since it was behind the bar area but there was no real noise to speak of. I was a disappointing that nothing special was done since they did ask if we were celebrating any events..which as our 30th anniversary. The place we stayed in the next night had a little bottle of wine waiting for us to celebrate our anniversary.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Russfrom CT

You won't sleep

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Inn was OK. When we arrived we were told there was a "special event" in the dinning room. We went out to eat and could not get back to our room through the lobby. We went through the back door. Since we are from the East coast we were tired and tried to go to sleep at 10:00pm. The room had no air conditioning so the windows were wide open. The Inn is right next to Route 101 and for an hour I listened to trucks and cars go by, I then closed the window and could not sleep because of the heat. I then opened the window and listened to people at the gas station that my room overlooked swear for 15 minutes. About 11pm a group came upstairs and started singing . I called the front desk after putting up with the noise for 45 minutes. Front desk did nothing. About 12:30 pm I heard someone yell at group "What the heck are you guys doing". About 1pm I got to sleep. Will not go back.