Ratings based on 128 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: Friendlly staff, clean nice room and hot breakfast
Location: North of town, within walking distance of Target
We were pleasantly surprised at how nice this hotel was. Great room and a good hot breakfast. Soup and salad were available in the afternoon when we arrived which was a great treat after traveling.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento,CA

Don`t stay at the Clarion. Find a room in Arcata.

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Cons: Security guards and security cameras to prevent theft on the premises.
Check-in was a little long. The hotel looks nice. The room was as described and clean. The bed was well worn and not very comfortable. Our car was broken into in their parking lot the first night that we stayed. Needless to say, I won`t be staying there ever again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice place to stay

Posted Sep 15, 2014
We were plesently suprisied by the free breakfast that they offered. They offered a lot of choices. They also had a free soup and salad bar for dinner. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Eureka hotel needs help.

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: The location was good.
Cons: The cleaning crew needs to do a better job.
The location for this hotel was good because of it's closeness for visiting family. We were instantly aware of areas that were not clean. I had to clean different items in the room with disinfecting wipes. We could hear people talking outside of our room at midnight. We were located on the outside rooms that faced the main street, which contributed to the noise. Inside rooms may have been nicer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno, CA

Lesser of the Evils ( HA)!

Posted Sep 1, 2014
We stayed here after a long day's drive, on a Labor Day weekend, when even getting a room was a challenge. After reading many reviews of places that sounded terrible, I took a chance on this Clarion hotel. The staff was kind and capable. The room was very adequate for our needs. It looked clean, and had a small microwave and refrig which I considered a plus! There was ample parking, a convenient entry near the elevators from the parking lot, a luggage wheel cart too! Our high speed internet wasn't working well. Fine as Wi-Fi on our phones, but never could get our laptop to work with it. Oh well, we rested, watched a little TV, and had a warm shower in the AM. All-in-all a positive experience. We didn't go to the breakfast, but was given a recommendation to the local CO-OP grocery, (like a Whole Foods) , where we purchased quality coffee, a healthy smoothie and muffin. Much better!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy, and needs updating

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: Not much
Cons: Replace the carpet, odors in the rooms, invest in duvets that actually get washed, remove the stains on the countertops
While this hotel does have a convenient location right off of 101, that also means that this hotel is extremely noisy. I stayed in the front of the hotel, and the noise from trucks coming off of 101 kept me up at night. The pictures here on Expedia are a bit misleading, and I was very disappointed. Options in Eureka are pretty limited, however, I absolutely would not stay here again. The carpet was scary dirty, and ripped in the front entry. The room had a horrible musty smell, and there were mysterious stains on the bathroom countertops. The bedspreads are white, and they look like duvets, but upon closer inspection, they are just white bedspreads, which means they are not getting routinely washed. EWWWWW Spend your money elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Antioch, CA

Nice place to stay as a HSU parent.

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Morning Breakfast and Dinner for guests.
I enjoyed the location close to everything, Target, Shell station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A bit dated, but overall very comfortable.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Room comfort
Cons: Redo the hall carpeting the exterior was a bit dated.
The hotel is dated, but comfortable. The staff was egar to help.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California.

Thin walls, pretty decor, comfortable enough.

Posted Aug 5, 2014
We stayed at 3 hotels in 5 days. This room was small, needed another table. Clean, comfortable enough for the night. Very thin walls. We heard everyone walking down halls . Front desk had a wine opener, thankfully, and we ran out of toothpaste so they gave us 3 complementary packs. We missed the continental breakfast.... It was over by 10.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Claire

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 24, 2014 on Hotels.com