Ratings based on 648 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Dated, (seems stuck in the 80's), facility but clean, well kept and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom southern CA

Nice, quiet place to stay in Eureka.

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: nice room, comfortable beds
Cons: better coffee and add creamer to the packets. Actually reserve a room with 2 beds when someone asks for it. Don't pull we will upgrade you for free!
Location: good coffee at jitter bean, also try Babes pizza.
Booked thru Expedia, 2 queen bed 1 room. At check in they said it was only 1 queen bed. Not what you want on a daughter and dad trip. they "upgraded us to a 2 queen room for free". that is exactly what i asked for at booking. that being said, they gave us choice of 2nd or 3rd floor, either bay view or not. room was nice and big, flat scrren tv, limited cable channels, small fridge, microwave, coffee maker,( no creamer really?). Not everyonelikes watery black coffee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Windsor, Ca

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Nice, however, had two buses in and not enough staff, to handle.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst experience ever

Posted Sep 22, 2014
charged me double what I was suppose to be charged, house keepers so loud in the morning to the point they woke me up by yelling at joking with each other. Found a tampon applicator under my bed. Gross! House keeper was rude when I was for clean towels. Hotel smelled overwhelmingly like perfume and carpet powder
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2014
I always like it when the staff is personable. It gives me a clue about what will come next. The front desk staff was great. He welcomed me and was very helpful. I appreciate the people. Oh, and the room was clean and perfect for my stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Not up to Red Lion standards for the price.

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Besides the lack of decent food choices, the evening check-in person was on the rude side even though I am a member of the rewards plan. No directions given for where the amenities such as the pool and gym were located, and had to ask for my complimentary water bottles. Later, I offered to help an employee as she struggled to push a loaded cart into the elevator but was rudely declined.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom R

Overcharged

Posted Sep 9, 2014
I booked through Expedia and when I got to the hotel, the person at the front desk let me know I had mistakenly booked a handicap accessible room. I agreed to switch with no issues and waited for a while as they figured out another room. At this time, they charged me again for the room without my knowledge. A few days later I noticed this charge on my bank account and called Expedia. They readily fixed the issue for me, which I really appreciated, but Red Lion should have not charged me the second time. They should be able to see the list of charges on their screen, which would make it obvious that I paid twice. Also, the bathroom had white powder on the floor and the bathroom lock was reversed, so you couldn't lock the door when you were inside, but could be locked into the bathroom from the outside. The hotel window did not open and looked out onto a huge air conditioning unit and rooftop littered with debris.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom vista, ca

It was just OK.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: The staff at the front desk. Kayla esp. she drove my husbands phone to the airport, when he forgot it when we checked out!! Awesome hotel staff!
Cons: Their restaurant staff needs to be professional. The restaurant staff was loud, forgetful and just annoying. The breakfast staff wasn't engaging.
Location: Location convienent off 101, but that is it. Not a lot to do there. Old historic Eureka was just old, not enjoyable. Seeing the Redwoods was great.
We had a decent experience. We explored the coast, so we weren't in our room that much. The area was a bit shady, our view could have been nice, if it wasn't backed up against a run down neighborhood, which included a smelly car repair garage. We ate at the restaurant for dinner the first night, food was good, atomsosphere, well, let's say lighting would have probably showed us something we may not of wanted to see. Very dark like a seedy bar, not a nice restaurant. They had a simple morning breakfast available for a reasonable price. It was buffet style. Just ok. We could see that this hotel could use some TLC. But the city of Eureka as a whole needed TLC as well, it wasn't thriving, it was just hanging on.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Better than what we were expecting

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Clean, quiet (in the room) and efficient check-in and check-out.
Cons: Can't do anything about the location I guess. Stop pretending to be green and passing out plastic bottles. It doesn't mesh.
Location: Scary location. Spooky folks walking around at night. Highway 101 is right in front of hotel. Old Town has some nice restaurants. Must drive there.
I hadn't read reviews of the Red Lion prior to reservation and when I did I was scared. But although the area around the hotel is sketchy, the inside isn't bad. Clean and pretty quiet even with football teams and tour buses there. The room was clean and fairly updated. A view of the bay if you ignore the construction equipment behind the cyclone fence directly across the street. If you stay here, make sure you get a room on 3rd floor away from elevator and rear-facing away from 101 and toward the bay. These are the quiet rooms. The diner across 101 (Chalet, House of omelets) was really nice. The hotel is also trying to be green or at least appear ecologically friendly. But when they pass out PLASTIC water bottles at check-in and check -out, they lose the message. Overall, it wasn't bad and was better than I was expecting but I wouldn't stay here again. For the cost and the location, I would book something in the Old Town area. Downtown is too strange with people wandering the streets at all hours of the night for no obvious reasons. We even saw someone getting arrested a few blocks away at 10 Am on Saturday morning.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Greg

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com