Ratings based on 344 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Okay for the price

Posted Dec 30, 2014
The plus sides of the red roof inn are the TVs and the pet policy. The rooms have nice flat screen TVs which is great for relaxing. I also bring my dog with me and she stays for free which is great. Staff is so so....no complaints but nothing great either. I have stayed here 3 times and every time there is garbage underneath the bed!! The rest of the room seems clean enough but it is really gross to find cups, dirty socks, and food wrappers under the bed. If it was just once it wouldn't be a huge deal but all 3 times I have stayed there, there is A LOT of garbage under the bed. They obviously don't clean under there!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ventura, CA

Red Roof Inn Arcata

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Pros: The staff were friendly and check in was easy
Bathroom had mold and was outdated. It was very noisy at night and we heard a dog barking all night in the room next to us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom chico

Happy puppy. Got to sleep in my room!

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Pros: The staff and the room.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Good location. Food nearby. Stores and restaurants within walking distance. Arcata rocks!
Good breakfast. Nice room. My dog was allowed to stay which was great! Bed was comfy and it was quiet and restful. Also clean and had good bed. Slept good. Would stay there again. Thank you.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom riverside ca

Location is good

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Very noisy . People did not respect the policy of not smoking and no one enforces it is very old so we can hear every single noise
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom TX

Rude front desk (older woman)

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Fairly close location to the place I was visiting for three days.
Cons: Customer service skills and privacy.
Location: Near to the college, and some hiking.
I arrived early, before 3 o'clock check-in and asked front desk staff (older woman) if I could leave my small bag behind the desk for safe keeping while I explored the area on foot. Her response was "absolutely not." When I inquired as to why not, she said, "I do not need to explain." I further explained that I had no car to leave the bag in and merely wanted to explore the area for a few hours and would return at check-in time to put my bag in my room. Even though the front desk woman knew I had a reservation, that was prepaid, for the next three nights, she scowled at me and said, "I said no!" Luckily there was a shift change about and hour and a half later, and a lovely young woman, named Hannah, allowed me to leave my bag behind the desk. It doesn't end there. The male cleaning staff ignored the Do Not Disturb sign that I had on the door and entered my room, twice while I was dressing in the morning. I will never recommend or stay here again. Hannah needs to take her talents as a gracious host elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Natasha

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kevinfrom Pocatello

Will do...

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Accommodating,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap hotel in need of upkeep

Posted Oct 15, 2014
It wasn't a bad stay for the money. The photos I had seen online were probably ten years out of date compared to reality. The hot tub wasn't working and the swimming pool/workout area was in need of a major face lift: mold and discolouration on the ceiling, cheap pool towels and recliner chairs, the shower was broken and so was one toilet. The room seemed clean though, spacious with a big new TV.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Hotel clerks need training

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
the hotel check in clerk was so slow... and he didn't know how to make the key's work, we had to go back 2 times with the key to get one that would open the door. Then all night long some kept walking by our room and knocking on the door, randomly..it was weird and a little scary.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly hotel staff

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Not a bad experience had a friendly hotel staff help us in and was very polite