Ratings based on 157 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Provo, Utah

Very old hotel. The place is falling apart!

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: The staff, and the breakfast. The beds were comfortable, too.
Cons: Fixing the window, so you could open them easier. Also put screens on them.
Location: Location was a little out of the way, but since Evanston is so small, that was not a problem for us. The fairgrounds had the rodeo. Fun.
The hotel staff made up for the condition of the building itself. The exercise machines were locked up, with a padlock. No sauna or hot tub. We couldn't find it. Our keys to our room worked only after trying them five or six times. The safe did not work well, meaning, I had to ask the manager about it, and he told me to hit it hard with my fist on top, after putting in my code. The hotel did offer a nice continental breakfast and in-room coffee.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Hotel Atmosphere

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: When I checked out.
Cons: Odor control.
The hotel smelled like curry And the room smelled musty, it needed to be aired out.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Evanston, Wy

Old

Posted Aug 9, 2014
The carpeting inside @ outside rooms were terrible & unkept. Near the public restrooms the wall paper was off & wall was crumbling. The sink in the room was stained due to the continual running water that we could not turn off @ the faucet. Breakfast@ 8:00 am. No milk for cereal, no jam for toast, the hotel does not supply jam, just butter, Is what front desk said. Some of the butter packets were open or empty & put back in the butter container. 2/3 of everything was not available . We were told that was just what they have & that's it. I'm not the only one complaining there was a line @ the front desk & they didn't care. The office smelled of curry.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from the dalles

Hotel in Evanston, wy

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Location, staff nice
The hotel was filthy, only 1 bath towel in our room, someone else's hair in our shower, bed collapsed in the second room, drunk man passed out in foyer side door wouldn't wake up
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Folsom, CA

Cheap, Clean, Good for 1 Night

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Pet friendly and clean
Cons: Exterior Condition and the A/C: controls didn't seem to have any effect on operation.
The exterior condition of the hotel is really bad, but the room interiors are good. Staff is very nice and helpful.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Rob from Folsom

Not worth the good beds.

Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
The only thing good was the beds. The A/C worked poorly, the breakfast eggs tasted like cardboard and were cold, the sausage links were ice cold and greasy
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

OK. Is Cheap, but it is a DUMP.

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: EVERYTHING
Location: What a dump. Junk all over the parking lot with nothing near by, well the Best Western
Not sure if these guys are suppose to use the HJ name or not. It is like it was left on the building, so they didn't take it down. NOTHING has been done to this place since these guys bought it I am sure, they are just trying to milk anything out of it before they condemn the place. It is absolutely filthy. One of the worst motels I have every been in. Whis I had ponied up the extra money for another place, problem is there is not much to choose from, The Best Western was great looking but I think they wanted $135. Bottomline: Keep Looking
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by hitchhiker

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bella Vista, AR

Howard Johnson Evasnton, Wy

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Price
Cons: Clean it up. Do something with the landscape and the courtyard was a total wreck.
Location: Location is fine. Lot of local activities during the year. Neat little mountain town.
It was less than basic but the employees were friendly. The place is a wreck. The price was way low and I know why. You get what you pay for in this world and I barely got $34 a night worth but for the price I guess one shouldn't complain much. Breakfast wasn't special for sure and the juice machine was broken and no juice was available. Dark maroon carpet in the room. It was vacuumed but all around the edges there is gray which is dirt that the sweeper couldn't reach. Too much work to use another means to suck up this dirt. Holes in the sheets due to age. Finish was gone from a part of the sink and it was rusty. Bath fixtures were clean. Want an inexpensive place to stay and aren't very picky this is your place. Book on the internet as it is $10 less expensive on Expedia than to contact them directly. This surprised me the most. Usually best not to use one of the services as the hotels have to pay them. Not this one!