Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel just outside of Evansville.

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: The rooms were clean and enjoyable.
Cons: ~
Location: This is on U.S/ 41 in Southern Indiana just before going into Kentucky. It is an easy location for those on a trip north or south on that route.
We were pleased with our room, the service and an easy location to find. It is close to Evansville. The pool is very unusual and nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Louisville, Ky

Class Re-union

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Restaurant and bar was great and the staff was friendly and helpful.
Cons: Security. In our wing ( Rm 124), there was 2 or 3 rooms with at least 3 or 4 occupants mostly teenagers or in early 20's, partying
Stayed two nights. Staff was great. Facility needs updating. Room was very nice but exterior is shabby. Needs some maintenance on exterior walls and walkways. Second night was a nightmare. Young adults running in hall, slamming doors, yelling and cussing. We called the desk and they finally sent someone up. When he left it resumed and we called desk again This time two guys came up. There were 6-8 young adults in the hall arguing with the two employees. I opened the door and one of the male young adults told me to go away it was none of my business. I told him I would call the police if they didn't clear the hall. I went back into the room and a young girl followed me into our room and we had to run her out. I called front desk again and ask them to call the police. She refused. I called the police but they never came. After about 30 minutes the clamor stopped. It was about midnight. We felt unsafe and will not stay there again and cannot recommend it to others. Our class re-union will not be there next year or any other year. What a shame for a facility that has such possibilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom central indiana.

5 Star Hotel Experience

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Located right off highway yet quiet. Rooms clean and up to date linens. Soft bed and Lots of pillows!! Pool are is huge with hot tub and a frosted dome overhead allowing natural light in. Check in / out was quick. Breakfast was buffet with eggs, bacon, biscuits and gravy and more. Not the usual continental. Within 10 minutes of casino. Go a few times a year. Now we won't look for a hotel-just going to book The Clarion.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Nicolefrom Chicago

You get what you pay for

Posted Sep 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff were very friendly, but its hard to make up for the rooms. The first one I was assigned to smelled like smoke and the second one smelled like it hadn't been freshened up in a year. Opening windows (no screens though) helped a bit with the smell. The bed cover had stains and the pillows were just ok. The chair in the room had weird stains too. I guess its petty cheap, but I felt gross staying there. Breakfast was slim pickings. My colleague used the hot tub and said it was fine..
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom ON

Made no sense

Posted Aug 22, 2014
OUR whole family is unable to withstand the smell of cigarettes-worst of all, my son has asthma and so I have always been very careful with him. I chose the Clarion Hotel because the advertisement stated that it was non-smoking...our room was non smoking but...the neighbour's down the hall, in the non smoking section of the hotel, smoked like a chimney all night long...I felt ill...finally fell asleep early morning only to be brutally woken from my sleep at eight am when the housekeeping staff knocked on the door to see if we were still there??? what is that?? I have worked in hotels before and know that a list is generated when people check out. We had not checked out so...why we're we being woken up at eight am after a night from hell?? Why did housekeeping not check to see if we had checked out at front desk?? Why eight am? Crazy....
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Billfrom ATLANTA

Stay overnight in Evansville, Indiana

Posted Aug 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Selected this hotel because it was on pathway to Madison, Wisconsin. Reviewed other hotels in the area and for the price and the money this was the best choice.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Needs maintenance

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
While the rooms appear to have been recently updated, there is still a lot of maintenance the hotel could use. Almost all the room doors are either out of square or too large for the frame because they have to be pulled/pushed hard to close. The pool area was very dark after sundown with no pool lights on which to me would be asking for trouble if a kid started to drown as you could not see them. Also, the pool needs a good cleaning as there was what felt like sand on the bottom. The staff was very friendly and helped us whenever asked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom st. louis

very, very, small room

Posted Aug 14, 2014
upon my arrival, and my departure front desk staff very unfriendly...........I actually asked the morning guy if he had taken a vow of silence until 7am. I had walked past him to/from the restaurant at about 6:15.......checked out at about 7am. my room 165 is probably the smallest room that I have ever had
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Q

Skip this Hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2014
An Awful experience from start to finish at this particular location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Johnfrom Holtz

Ask for an updated room

Posted Jul 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
The first time I stayed here I had an old tube tv in the room. This time I called and asked if they had any updated rooms. They said yes, three of their four wings have been renovated. I booked on hotels.com and then when I checked in they had put me in the old wing again. They switched me to a nicer room when I asked about it at check in. Pretty nice room; still a little musty. There is a great brewery about a mile away. Carson's Brewery.