Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.4 out of 5
46% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cincinnati oh

Frog Follies stay

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Just run down, hotel needs updating. It is an older hotel. For $6.00 more a night my friend stayed in a hotel that was three times nicer.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty Room- Poor service

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Close to the event we were attending.
Cons: Clean up the rooms and have better service.
Room was dirty. Shower curtain had mold, and tub needed to be cleaned. Floor needed to be vacuumed. It was a two night stay so staff does not clean room or leave clean towels. If you need clean towels or soap you have to go to the main desk to pick them up. Breakfast was a bust. No coffee in breakfast room on day, had to go to main desk for coffee. Waffle maker timer did not work, so you had to time you waffle or guess when to take it up. Food not much.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again. Bath terrible.

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Location: Major highway. Dead end. Nada.
Check in ok. Room not acceptable. TV nor functioning. Had to teach front desk how to correct. Bathtub absolutely deplorable. Never again to this chain. Remove from your list or I will find other acceptable ways to find a "Nice" hotel/motel.
2 out of 5
by Irina M from New Haven, CT

Good that only 2 nights

Posted Jun 23, 2014
AC was so loud, that it was not possible to sleep at night with it turned on. The closest environment to the hotel is not very safe. The hotel is far from restaurants, shops etc., so each time I needed to take a taxi. Taxi usually is hard to get, because you have to wait for a long. Tip: better pay more and stay at a normal hotel in the downtown.
2 out of 5
by Kathy from High Point, NC

Shabby, in need of attention to basics

Posted May 7, 2014
Pros: Location, price, helpful staff.
Cons: The devil's in the details! Make sure basics in a room work, and pay attention to amenities like wifi speed and coffee at breakfast.
Location: Southern Indiana University is located in Evansville.
It's a cheap motel, admittedly. But I've stayed in similarly priced Econolodges all over the eastern part of the US that were perfectly fine places to rest one's head. This was not entirely the case here. The first room we were given had a phone that did not work and a toilet that did not flush. The manager on duty cheerfully, apologetically, and efficiently moved us to another room. There the phone worked and the toilet flushed. However, the bed was hard as a board (not firm; hard) and the light beside the bed had a broken switch so it had to be unplugged to turn off. The wifi internet speed was about like the old days of dial-up modem and the service was intermittent; an upgrade would be a good idea. The cable/satellite television service was also intermittent, and there was no TV channel guide in the room...so when it was working, locating a particular station or the programming schedule was all but impossible. There was no guide to the motel's services in the room. Continental breakfast was on a par with other Econolodges of my experience except that the coffee had been sitting in the pump thermoses in the breakfast room since at least the night before - it was barely tepid. There was fresh coffee in the lobby down a hall and through a door from the breakfast room, so I was able to take care of that issue myself. In short, despite a friendly and helpful staff, there was a lack of attention to basics and details. Econolodge can and should do better.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor condition, needs remodel

Posted Mar 13, 2014
Pros: location was good
Cons: see above: REMODEL
Location: There were not full service or even casual dining nearby; at least not where we were able to find them. Some fast food and one Denny's was nearby.
The staff was courteous and helpful whereas the room and parking area were not in good condition. The parking lot was full of holes and covered in ice when we arrived. The bed was okay, seating area okay, bathroom was worn and stained (tub/shower). Neither of us was willing to take a shower in the tub. Overall i was tempted to relocate but since we were only staying for 2 days we toughed it out. The door lock was almost falling off and i had to push with my foot as i inserted the card then pull the handle rapidly or i could not get in. After being shown how it took 5 minutes the first time to get in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mitch from Newport, Ky

GREAT VALUE, NO major issues to complain about...

Posted Feb 4, 2014
Pros: the comfort, price and location were GOOD for the money
Cons: the breakfast effort was not very impressive, but I never stay at an economy hotel for such things....there was a McDonalds up the road for breakfast
Location: well located to the downtown area I was there for
a good experience overall, but the room heater was WAY TOO HOT, even with it near 0 degrees outside! Nice room fridge, flat screen tv, and close to town....was a bit confusing trying to get into the hotel from the road, but once there it was a good place
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
this hotel made the worst hotel i have stayed in look like a holiday inn. the heater was to small for the room. the manager said the heat was working fine that it was the operator that was the problem. the room was not clean. the sink had no hot water. had to dip hot water from the tub to the sink to shave the next morning. the breakfast was not fit to eat. the bread was hard as a rock before it hit the toaster. i went to a diner and had breakfast. i will stay in a different hotel before i stay there again or i will stay in my car, but i have stayed there my one and only time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2014