Ratings based on 188 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Marshfield, MO

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: It was old, beautiful, and comfortable
Cons: It's hard to top perfection.
Location: We went to museums in Kansas City, the National World War I Museum and the Steamboat Arabia Museum.
The building and the grounds were gorgeous. The meals we ate in the restaurant were delicious. The staff were friendly and helpful. the room was very comfortable. I usually have difficulty sleeping in a strange bed the first night, but that wasn't the case here. We'll definitely be back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom McPherson, KS

Sensually Intoxicating Retreat

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: Absolutely EVERYTHING.
Cons: Our room had a shower only. I checked to see if we could be moved to a room with a tub, but was informed that only a few of the King rooms had a tub.
Location: Evening meals at Ventana Cafe and Wabash BBQ - both were outstanding! Lunch at Willow Creek Mercantile was superb, as well.
I arranged for my adult daughter and I to spend two nights and one full spa day at The Elms, a little R&R treat for us both. From the moment we arrived, Matt at check-in was so very helpful and friendly. Ditto Maurte, who we visited with later for restaurant recommendations in the area. We spent an entire day enjoying the spa services, starting with a couples relaxation massage (Sherri and Amber were awesome). After, we relaxed in the wonderful Grotto - and I enjoyed a serious nap in the Quiet Room while my daughter was having a hair treatment done. During our spa day, Jody at the front desk and Cooper, our Consierge, were so very helpful. They even arranged for a private lunch be delivered to the 5th floor executive dining area, so that we could eat in private and not have to go to the restaurant in our robes and no makeup. I can't forget to mention JAY - he gave us the most interesting Ghost Tour the night of our arrival. As was the entire staff, he was also very helpful and was sincere when he said to let him know if there was anything that he could do to make our stay better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom topeka ks

1st Room has feces and diaper in it frm prior stay

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Otherwise wonderful, pool and hot tbs were breath taking.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Blue Springs

terrible stay

Posted Feb 16, 2015
They didn't have our breakfast order picked up. We had to take it to them. Then they never got our breakfast to us. Talked to 2 people a week before our stay about the Valentine's Day dinner buffet and were supposed to have reservations. Asked the front desk what time our reservations were and they said they didn't have us on there so they set us up for 7:30 pm and we went down there at that time and they STILL didn't have us on the list!! Overall bad experience! We won't be back or recommend anyone to go there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Raymore, MO

Forgot my luggage!

Posted Jan 16, 2015
The Check-in staff was very accomadating of my needs by providing me with toiletry items. The Spa Staff also allows us to take robes and sandles up to our room since I didn't have mine. They also allowed me to use the samples of make-up and hair products in the store each day. I was so blessed and relieved to not have to purchase all of those items for our three day visit. Thank you. We thoroughly enjoyed the Beer Tasting Dinner! The food was fantastic and the Beer Expert was enthusiastic and quite knowledgable!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, Texas

Completely Satisfied - Utterly pampered

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: Everything from the wonderful and warm dining room, to the inviting lobby, and The Grotto Spa ...
Cons: Perhaps an expanded menu at the restaurant?
Location: We were too busy enjoying the hotel to notice .. lol
I just wanted to say my experience here was without precedence in my travels. The Elms great and helpful smiling staff, who all went out of their way to make our experience wonderful at a very special time of the year will be one my Fiance' and I will cherish, and will entice us to return again and again I'm sure ...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 23, 2014
The Elms was an outstanding choice for our weekend getaway. Very relaxing with historic appeal and nice amenities. We will return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Excellent service. Samantha at the front desk is the best!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Marjorie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Seeing Missouri

Posted Nov 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
lovely older hotel. Dinner at 88 was great. Would be even better in summer for the pool. The spa is outstanding. The town has nothing to offer as far as dining or shops.