Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Great get away!

Posted Jul 6, 2014
This was a great family getaway for us we spent 4 nights. Loved the pools and the grounds were beautiful. The kids also loved to inside lap pool. I would definitely stay here again either with the family or just my husband and I.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Sounds better than actually was

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: It was very nice walking through the grounds. The rooms were nice, very nice beds.
Cons: They could give more information on what there is to do. sports, where do you get the equipment? When are the outdoor movies? murder mystery
Location: We didn't do anything nearby,
We arrived on a Sunday, 4 pm, The Tavern was closed, the Cafe was closed, there was no poolside cocktail service at the outdoor pool. There was a sign that said: No beverages bought else ware allowed!! You will be asked to leave the Elms, no refund!! No drinks on our Anniversary?? Check in was basically, Here is your room key, here is the wifi code, enjoy your stay!! Massage? did you make an appointment??? Maybe I didn't do enough research or ask the right questions, but I have yet to stay anywhere that most all the amenities were CLOSED!!!! Make sure if you stay, make it a Friday or Saturday, and ask all questions prior to booking. Also, you get 2 k cups that make 2 6 oz cups of coffee, if you want more, bring a few extra from home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from KC, MO

You'll feel miles and miles away from the city....

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: History. Staff. Isolation from the city.
Cons: Restaurant is so-so.
Fantastic old property, with a great renovation in the not-too-distant past. Staff is very helpful. The Spa is OK, but requires reservations months in advance. My wife and I went for our anniversary, and wanted a couples spa treatment, but was told nothing was available. I booked for my wife solo, and there were plenty of tables available, just no staffers to service them. Disappointing. Also disappointing was the large stain on our sheets visible after turndown service. The laundry missed it, the staff making up the bed missed it, and the turndown service missed it. Replacement linens came quickly, however, and front desk gave us a certificate for the dining room for the inconvenience. I would have liked to see more signage around the property regarding its history, that's a missed opportunity for them. All in all-- go check it out, but don't pay rack rate. Look for a deal, and if you want access to the spa-- call weeks ahead of time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Overall a very pleasurable stay. Others slamming their room door can be heard and felt down the hallways.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dan from Kentucky

Family Friendly

Posted May 28, 2014
They brought breakfast and dinner hors d'oeuvres to the 5th floor where I stayed. That was an excellent perk! Free soda and water on that floor as well. The bed was great, the sitting areas were great. Maybe more cleaning in the outside pool and hot tub.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great relaxing retreat

Posted May 6, 2014
The Elms is a beautiful hotel. The grounds are gorgeous with plenty of relaxing activities, fire pits and a great pool. The inside lap lane is one of a kind and the workout center has plenty of gear to get in a great workout.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Skippy from Hannibal, MO

Weekend get away

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: The hotel is a great historic place that is in wonderful condition. The grounds were absolutely beautiful!
Cons: I would like to have more information about the history of the hotel.
Location: Excelsior Springs is a small town in rural Missouri. It is home to The Hall of Waters and many natural mineral springs.
A friend and I chose The Elms for a girl's weekend get-away. It was a perfectly relaxing location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nick and Angela from KCMO

Well worth it! We'll be back!

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Spectacular views, architecture, ambience...this place is property with personality! Charming is an understatement! And yes... Its haunted. I was a complete skeptic for my 42 years until the other night. Amazing. The Elms is luxury and charm that you probably only thought existed in books, movies or other eras... Nope. Its all there. We can't wait to see it again and stay in different seasons.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sean from kansas city, mo

It was amazing!

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Perfect quant little getaway. Good food either in the hotel or nearby. (Wabash BBQ!!!) Very relaxing in the hot tubS and lap pool. Recently renovated rooms were nicely decorated with a touch of modern amenities. Could do without them trying to trick me into drinking the $5 bottle of Fiji water is only complaint!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by S from MN

Beautiful location and grounds.

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Historical character and indoor lap pool.
Cons: Better access to the grotto. So expensive to get a service just to be able to experience it.
Location: Not much. If you come to the hotel, you pretty much entertain yourself and your group at the hotel.
The hotel is a beautiful place. We didn't enjoy the maintenance man walking around talking about all the hauntings there. The bathroom in our room could have been cleaned better. And the café had NO breakfast selection. The tavern was a nice place to eat with good food and the history was fun to learn about.