Ratings based on 152 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Very relaxing

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: #1 was the BED!!!! The architecture was beautiful and I was so glad they preserved it. And...THE BED!!!!!!
Cons: Night staff and spa staff were not very professional or very nice. We only saw them one time-thankfully.
Location: We were there for a wedding, but we enjoyed the town, the weather, and the beginning of the fall colors.
We had a wonderful time at The Elms. It is absolutely beautiful on the outside and so cozy and comfortable on the inside. I loved the fireplaces, tile floors, antiques, and friendly staff. Dinner at 88 was great! The mattress and pillows were heavenly!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Nice hotel, but beyond its prime.

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Friendly experience with majority of staff. Dinner waitress was awesome but lunch staff didn't even know what salad dressings they offered. She also kept referring to the restaurant as "they", rather than "we". Just felt odd from a management perspective. Lunch was nothing special, but dinner was fantastic. Highly recommend anything they list as the special for the night. Cheesecake fur dessert also very good. Spa was nice but too small for number of patrons. The grotto didn't have sufficient seating for everyone, though the morning was slower and thus much better. Massage was good, but we never discussed level of pressure desired so it wasn't deep enough for me. Ensure you ask for a masseuse that can fit the requirement. My wife had a facial, massage and pedicure and absolutely loved it all. Ensure you try dinner at Vetana Coffee House if you stay in the area. Was also very good food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2014
I recommend taking the ghost tour by jay it was very informative.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Great facility in an isolated area... Hidden gem...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Experience was ok. I would go to spa again ................................ ...... .....
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Bars and restaurants are nice for sure and the indoor lap pool is as nice as any I've encountered.
Cons: Outdoor pool area could be remodeled and better maintained. The rooms themselves show their age.
Location: Delightful tourist town ... only 30 minutes from KC, too.
Its an older property with some wonderful history and character ... but it could use about $2 million in room and property improvements.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Stealing

Posted Sep 5, 2014
First I want ti start off by saying that my visit here was really great, as far as tge hotel and room beauty and cleanliness. The thing that made this such a horrible experience is that items, including my prescribed medication was stolen. That itself ruined my experience. To have something like this done to me, left me at a venerable state of mind. I stayed for a whole week, everyday I kept the do not disturb sign on the door. Our last day/night we had to switch rooms due to deciding to stay an extra night. That was the one day I did not use the disturb sign, due to no one should have been im my room in the first place. That night i left and went to a wedding amd the next morning as i packed my items back up i noticed things were missing. I notified the front desk where they tool my information down and statef that they would call if anything came up. After my long drive back to Michigan i contacted management. After going back and fourth with them for a couple of weeks they told me a staff member was in my room the last night for turn down service. I told them that my bed was never turned down, so that does not explain what they were doing in my room. Management finally agreed to give me a full refund. Needless to say it has been several months and I have still not recieved my refund. If you choose to stay here please be aware of your items, use the safe, and do not leave anything lying around. If stealing my medication wasnt bad enough they stole a bottle of pefume.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jim from Kansas City, Mo.

A great get away

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a great place to get out of Kansas City and relax. Out door pool, great spa, Up scale dinning and excellent service. Come to the Elms to pamper yourself. Big comfortable king size beds. The best spa in the whole Midwest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Amy from Kansas City

Love this place!

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a classy place. My boys enjoy the pools & hot tubs. We only live 30 mins away, so it's a great place just to come & get away for the night. The employees & management are awesome. I just love staying here! The grounds are also beautiful. I just can't say enough about how amazing this place really is!