Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nick and Angela from KCMO

Well worth it! We'll be back!

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Spectacular views, architecture, ambience...this place is property with personality! Charming is an understatement! And yes... Its haunted. I was a complete skeptic for my 42 years until the other night. Amazing. The Elms is luxury and charm that you probably only thought existed in books, movies or other eras... Nope. Its all there. We can't wait to see it again and stay in different seasons.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sean from kansas city, mo

It was amazing!

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Perfect quant little getaway. Good food either in the hotel or nearby. (Wabash BBQ!!!) Very relaxing in the hot tubS and lap pool. Recently renovated rooms were nicely decorated with a touch of modern amenities. Could do without them trying to trick me into drinking the $5 bottle of Fiji water is only complaint!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by S from MN

Beautiful location and grounds.

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Historical character and indoor lap pool.
Cons: Better access to the grotto. So expensive to get a service just to be able to experience it.
Location: Not much. If you come to the hotel, you pretty much entertain yourself and your group at the hotel.
The hotel is a beautiful place. We didn't enjoy the maintenance man walking around talking about all the hauntings there. The bathroom in our room could have been cleaned better. And the café had NO breakfast selection. The tavern was a nice place to eat with good food and the history was fun to learn about.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mary from mpls, mn

Awesome hotel experience

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Love the lap pool and hot tub. Loved the ghost story tour with Jay. Will be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kim from Overland Park, KS

Nice hotel for a spa retreat

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: Pleasant rooms & common areas, allows pets.
Cons: More dining options.
Location: In center of town, but found nothing else at all to do outside the hotel. Was hoping to visit a nearby winery but not open until later in the evening.
Went with my husband and dog for an overnight stay just to go somewhere new. Very friendly staff, nice grounds with some extra things to do during summer season (volleyball, horseshoes). Unfortunately there wasn't really anything to do on a cold day if you weren't using the spa facilities and nothing to do in town.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Valentines Day

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Restaurant service was horrible. They recognized it and payed for it. The elevator was broken. The room had an ajoining room that was not sound proof. Other then that, not bad for the age of the hotel and overall condition.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sanjay from Boston, MA

Loved the stay

Posted Feb 14, 2014
Cons: It would be best to replace all memory foam mattresses with regular ones with good back support.
This hotel has been beautifully renovated and the suite that I stayed in was extra clean. The gym & the pool are good. The restaurant and café in the building serve really good food. The only thing that I did not like is the memory foam bed which does not give a good back support, but that is just a matter of personal preference.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by danish from Overland Park

Girls Day at the Spa

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Location: Try the BBQ at Wabash BBQ :)
My daughter and I enjoyed a lovely overnight stay at the Elms, where we indulged in the Spa services. The staff created a wonderful experience for us. All of our services were amazing.The rooms were comfortable and provided a relaxing experience. I hadn't been to the Elms since their recent renovation and I must say, the upgrades are awesome. We at at 88 for lunch and were very pleased with our food and the service. I can't wait to return again for another relaxing weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent weekend getaway!!

Posted Jan 20, 2014
Pros: Everything! What a great place!!!
Cons: Nothing.
Location: .
Arrived on a friday evening. While checking in the hotel staff were excellent about explaining the history behind the hotel. They made us feel very welcome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Summer from Kansas City

Hidden gem - does not disappoint

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff is not professionally trained for a hotel of this quality, but they are friendly and helpful. The hotel is beautiful, the food in the restaurant excellent, and the spa/pools were wonderful and definitely worth the money. My boyfriend and I both really enjoyed the spa.