Ratings based on 256 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Worth it!!

Posted Jul 26, 2015
lovely hotel and great property! Love it! Love it love it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Get Away Close to Home

Posted Jul 26, 2015
My husband and I decided to do a last minute short get away close to home. We checked in and went straight to the pool. Great service by the pool and nice restaurant in the hotel. We didn't have time for the spa, but I've been there before and it is wonderful. Highly recommend for a weekend get away! By the way, the deal we got through Expedia saved us at least $50. The lady at the front desk even commented on the great deal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Most Beautiful Historical Hotel and Spa

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: The history of this Hotel and the history of this town! You could almost see people walking the halls and staying in the charms room a 100 years ago.
Cons: More information from the staff when checking in about the hotel and the grounds!
Location: We did not venture away for them hotel once we checked in.
My husband and I were lucky enough to find this place while searching for a really nice place to get away for a few days while our boys went to church camp. It's more beautiful than I had imagined, I felt like we had been transported back in time when we walked in! The room was gorgeous the bed was so amazingly comfortable and the bathroom was a tad small but so beautiful and met our needs perfectly! Everything was very clean! the food was delicious the grounds pool and spa far exceeded our expectations! It would be hands down 5 stars if when checking in we would have had someone show us around or tell us how to get to the pool, which restaurants were open and what doors to use to go out back to the garden walk way. Just someone giving us the basic details of the hotel instead of letting us wonder around, we ended up walking into 2 business meetings that had been going on trying to find our way to have dinner. We were also disappointed that the Lap Pool was closed due to flooding and wished the front desk would have let us know upon checking in, it was one of the things that sold us on the hotel. That being said I cannot wait to go back, the next time I plan on taking my sisters and having a small family reunion they are going to love it as much as we did!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, MO

Great Hotel looking- did not handle weddings well.

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: Great historical hotel with a new beautiful renovation, staff during the week were very nice and attentive Saturday and Sunday.
Cons: The indoor lap pool not available, spa staff appeared unconcerned that we were there, the hotel needs more staff on weekends and a bug problem.
Location: A few wineries nearby, as well as a quaint downtown area that is in the middle of a renovation. There is a golf course nearby. Also a few museums.
When we arrived, there were 2 to 3 weddings on site. The hotel staff seemed ill equipped to handle the extra people and ignored us. The hostess was nice when we arrived at the counter and checked us in quickly but seemed overwhelmed. Our room was great when we arrived, it was on the 4th floor and had a view of the pool. The room appeared clean, but we were visited by a roach during the first evening, which I disposed of in the trash. As this was our anniversary, we ordered room service. The bill was almost 1 hundred dollars, but the food did not merit this price. The food lacked flavor compared to their description. The outdoor pool was great during our stay, but the indoor lap pool was not available. Spa services were not available during our stay and staff appeared rude when we asked about what was available. They did have the grotto open for everyone, but this did make it overly full. Spa items for sale are available at any drug or beauty store. After our first night stay, we went out for most of our meals, but due to the area was mainly fast food. The Cafe had a great selection pastries and the Roasterie Coffee was done well. A companion roach made a visit during the third night of our stay. All in all, the stay was great and the staff was attentive when their attention was not directed elsewhere. I would recommend visiting during the week.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saint Joseph, Missouri

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: Bed was very comfortable.
Cons: Loud air conditioner
Room was suppose to be a smoke free room, but had an oder. Air conditioner was loud when it turn on and off. Bed were very comfortable. They advertise premium TV channels I thought that would be an HBO or something but I guess they call cable premium TV. Grounds are very beautiful. Hot tub felt wonderful after a long day with the grandkids. The steps going into the hot tub are hard to see at night, but I guess some people want it dark and romantic. I am old and don't want to fall. Over all nice stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kansas city

very comfortable for a romantic getaway

Posted Jul 3, 2015
I really thought the hotel was beautiful. I thought it was clean, the room was comfortable and the staff was friendly. The outdoor pool was very beautiful. The package prices for spa were high, the food prices for dinner were high and I was disappointed that renovations were being done on the indoor pool. I wish I would have know this before I booked, especially since it rained.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NWA

Love it!

Posted Jul 3, 2015
This place was totall worth the extra drive from KC. It is a beautiful historic hotel, and the grounds and pool are lovely. We stayed in a king parlor suite and it was roomy, beautiful and very comfy. It is the perfect place to relax and recharge. We will definitely be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nebraska

This was a great weekend away thanks to The Elms!!

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: We loved everything about this hotel!
Location: We strolled through the town. we found folk music, good popcorn and great restaurants!
This hotel was beautiful, historical and spacious! The pool and grotto were wonderful and very relaxing! The room was spacious, clean and comfortable! We enjoyed going into the town, taking in local festival and events!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Overland Park

Charming old, renovated hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2015
If it were not for poor experience in restaurant 2 meals in a row, and mostly acceptable staff, I would have rated 4-5 stars in all categories. Not all of the facilities were open (terrible flood in basement, indoor pool, grotto, some spa services) which I know is beyond hotel's control, so I did not downgrade ratings for this fact. Was hugely disappointed with restaurant. Although my friend's meal, sea bass, was excellent, my pork tenderloin was over cooked, dry and very tough to cut. It was served with over cooked brussel sprout with the texture of wood and about as much taste. The next morning at the breakfast buffet no server ever came to the table, no water, coffee, etc. After about 25 minutes or so manager brought water. When we finished no one brought a check so I tracked him down and gave him my room number for meals. At a captive restaurant with no real alternatives to dining, this needs attention and improvement .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Very comfortable.